Golden Sun Game Boy Advance
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a dark time, an epic adventure begins as evil slowly envelops the world! The forces of darkness are pursuing the lost art of Alchemy, and as they draw ever closer to their foul purpose, mankind's future hangs in the balance. You and your companions are the last hope: armed with noble weapons, mysterious Psynergy and a host of elemental creatures, you must find a way to stem the evil tide. Your ordinary life is over, as a Golden Sun rises above you and forever broadens your horizon!

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The beautiful quest is probably the richest, most intricate RPG ever to have hit a handheld. [Nov 2001, p.144]
  2. 100
    It's the best original (nonport) GBA RPG to date, sporting stellar graphics, above-average sound, and a worthwhile experience (at least 20 hours of gameplay) that should make that next family roadtrip that much more tolerable.
  3. 'brilliant', 'fantastic' and 'a breathtaking work of genius.'
  4. If you're one of those many people who continue to pine for a Square RPG on your favourite Nintendo handheld, then rejoice because your prayers have damn near been answered with this game.
  5. Gorgeous graphics, dazzling audio, a charming storyline and overall appealing game play -- and it all fits neatly inside your pocket!
  6. The crowning glory of Golden Sun lies in its stunning graphics. Great environments, characters, and especially fight scenes.
  7. Gameplay seldom strays from long-established RPG convention, but Golden Sun incorporates some of the best elements of classics such as the Final Fantasy, Phantasy Star, and even Legend of Zelda series, in its own distinct and unified style.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Greatest series ever created! So much fun playing and replaying this game, from the story to the music, it is magical. This game is completely flawless. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Simply put... this game is amazing. The story, the characters, the emotion involved all stand out in this RPG. I first played this game as a child many years ago. I'm now a college graduate and I still enjoy the game to this day. The thing that I love the most about the Golden Sun series is the story involved. As you play the game, the lives of these characters unravel before your eyes. Emotion can also be involved while playing. Heartbreak from a character's loss of family to determination in hopes of a better future of the world; it's all woven within this game. Aside from the story, the gameplay is actually great! As usual with any RPG, you get random battles in dungeons and on the world maps and you progress more and more in levels and skills until you are strong enough to take on your foes without fail. There are a large amount of items and gear in the game to keep players occupied with upgrading.

    There is a collection aspect to the game involving these creatures called Djinns. These creatures boost the abilities and power of the characters in which they are attached to. They can be swapped between characters to allow for further combinations of abilities. As characters use the Djinns in battle, powerful summons can be used to take out foes once a certain number of Djinns have been used in combat. These summons are learned or found throughout the game.

    The graphics in this game are fantastic for a gameboy advance title. Everything from the environments to the battles to the summoning cutscenes are all great to look at while playing. I remember when this game was first released. I was in awe at some of the graphical effects in this game. The music in the game is some of the best I have ever heard in a portable title. I find myself just sitting in a particular battle or environment just to listen to the music and themes that play. There is a special mode that allows you to listen to all of the music in the game when you enter the arena mode at the title screen (look it up to find out how to find it). The point is that you may love the music so much that you will want to just listen to it at times.

    Overall, this game is a classic in my opinion. The quality of this game is obvious. I can only hope for a remake of this title one day with modern-style graphics. It could possibly become more appealing to those who don't like Golden Sun in its current state...
    Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    One of greates RPG's ever made. Misterious, Alternative and just great. I can't describe this game in words... It's just a MUST PLAY Game! Everyone should have played this game. Great Graphics too. They only **** up Golden Sun DS . Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    One of best RPG i´ve ever played, great story, graphic, soundtrack and combat system. I would like to see this game so much as manga adaptation. 10/10 Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    As a handheld RPG, it works fairly well. The story is interesting, memorable characters and great fight mechanics. I would say it's one of the top ten GBA games. If you are a fan of RPGs, definitely try this out. 10/10 Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This was the first Japanese RPG to really catch my interest. I got it on the recommendation from a friend. I almost wish I had kept it. When I returned it to him, he had told me he sold it. I was devastated.

    This game really shines in it's well-written story, interesting psynergy system, djinn system, and great music. I can never forget the opening scene to the game, and I loved the expansiveness of the world. In fact, 9 times out of 10, I was completely lost. I just jumped from location to location, doing each little side quest until I happened upon the main quest. There are a lot of side quests, so I was lost for a long time.

    That might be my only issue with the game. I'm all for a great big open world, but I also prefer to have a better bearing of what I'm doing.

    Nevertheless, it's an excellent game and one that is very memorable.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    If there was ever a game more bland and lifeless than Golden Sun...

    Let's go back to the beginning. I saw some GS ads in a magazine or
    something, and thought it looked great. Mainly, I was impressed with the graphics, but I just assumed the rest of the game would have the same quality.

    Then I got the game. Now, it starts off with some cliche garbage I can't even remember because it was so uninspired. I went on for a while, going through some generic dungeons with generic "puzzles", oh and I did all this while fighting random, generic enemies.

    Now the battle? This is the worst part. It's much like Dragon Quest, without any of those "features" or "abilities". All you do is pick a spell out of maybe 5 that are practically identical anyway, repeat 5-20 times and you win. I've played a few mindless RPGs before, but this one just pushes the limits of boredom to their maximum. If you absolutely hate having fun with a burning passion, get this game.
    Expand

See all 78 User Reviews