Grand Theft Auto Game Boy Advance

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattS.
    Nov 1, 2004
    8
    This a good GBA game, it lets you take the mayhem of GTA with you. It mocks the original GTA2fairly well, expect you cant go on roofs, the different gangs aren't marked clearly, and it seems as though it lost alot of passion, but it still has alittle bit of the magic, after all, they are having to cut stuff so it's on GBA. I would recommend getting it if you liked the original This a good GBA game, it lets you take the mayhem of GTA with you. It mocks the original GTA2fairly well, expect you cant go on roofs, the different gangs aren't marked clearly, and it seems as though it lost alot of passion, but it still has alittle bit of the magic, after all, they are having to cut stuff so it's on GBA. I would recommend getting it if you liked the original GTA2, but do not get it thinking it's a subsitute. Don't get me wrong, the City is huge, expecially for a GBA game, and there can be alot of action going on at once. I recommend this for GTA Vets. Expand
  2. BenS.
    Jun 13, 2006
    8
    Not on a great game, but you got to admit its fun to go on rampage. GBA was one of my first systems except for sega and nitendo, and it was fun. The driving and the Timed Missions got me mad but in all it was kind of fun.**Especially fun to Rampage with the Flamethrower while driving the tank, ohh ya, that was fun**
  3. DrewA.
    Feb 15, 2005
    8
    Wow, can't believe the harsh comments! Sure this game isn't GTAIII or Vice City, but it's on a systematic equilvalent to a Super Nintendo! Personally, i was quite impressed with how they managed to bring the world, colourful characters and story elements of GTA III to the GBA. It's rare for me to play thru a game all the way, but this one was quite enjoyable, once you Wow, can't believe the harsh comments! Sure this game isn't GTAIII or Vice City, but it's on a systematic equilvalent to a Super Nintendo! Personally, i was quite impressed with how they managed to bring the world, colourful characters and story elements of GTA III to the GBA. It's rare for me to play thru a game all the way, but this one was quite enjoyable, once you adjust to the driving (which does take a little bit to get used to). Solid 8/10. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    The game that started it all. GTA I, long story short GTA I is the first game in GTA series and its a classic but I have to review the game as a game, the graphics are the gameplay OK and the story is OK. But its the classic and the really good thing about the game is you get to pick the protagonist, but now we have to go with (NIKO BELLIC). This GTA is even better than GTA IV or TLADThe game that started it all. GTA I, long story short GTA I is the first game in GTA series and its a classic but I have to review the game as a game, the graphics are the gameplay OK and the story is OK. But its the classic and the really good thing about the game is you get to pick the protagonist, but now we have to go with (NIKO BELLIC). This GTA is even better than GTA IV or TLAD or even TBOGT. So is the good, yes really is, and probably the best Top-Bottom game ever made. I say GTA I is a great time. 7/10 Expand
  5. Wongit
    Jan 9, 2005
    4
    I love grand theft auto. all of them. except for the original 2, and the london add-on. This game is garbage. Let me say one thing. Rockstar must of changed from their crappy bird eye view 2d game structure for a reason...so if they go back to it, somethings kind of fishy right? Well i had high hopes for this game, i thought "gta on gba, thats got to rock." It rocked for about 2 weeks, I love grand theft auto. all of them. except for the original 2, and the london add-on. This game is garbage. Let me say one thing. Rockstar must of changed from their crappy bird eye view 2d game structure for a reason...so if they go back to it, somethings kind of fishy right? Well i had high hopes for this game, i thought "gta on gba, thats got to rock." It rocked for about 2 weeks, not even, after that i started seeing how crappy this game was. The story isnt that bad, but its no vice city or san andreas. My one complaint is the driving....ugh. first of all, theres bad music when you drive, and its difficult to manuver, and its extremely frusturating on timed missions, because you hit something, and you stall, or have cops on your ass. It is extremely annoying. It just becomes no fun at all. Avoid this game at all costs. I got so mad at it. its garbage. Expand
  6. Ender32
    Nov 21, 2004
    7
    It sucks more than a vacuum cleaner.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I can't recommend this Grand Theft Auto because there are a few problems. The area is crammed with so much that it is confusing. Second, when you drive a car, you cannot see much that is in front of you. Play the other Grand Theft Auto games like III and IV but not this one.
  8. May 11, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never played on game boy but I did not find it on pic version to rate it. i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#18 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
#4 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. It's just not the Grand Theft Auto experience most people will be gunning for, and certainly not for this price, not a chance in hell.
  2. The missions, characters, expansive city environment, sound and graphics all pull together to create an enjoyable experience. The game is, however, filled with minor flaws, and the camera causes frustration. With a weak story and minor technical faults Grand Theft Auto Advance was never going to be more than just a fun game.
  3. AceGamez
    60
    If the story had a bit more humour, if the gameplay wasn't so jerky and the action so hard to control, if the graphics had a little extra polish on them and if the sound wasn't so bad, it may have been a great port.