Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories Game Boy Advance

Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KINGDOM HEARTS® CHAIN OF MEMORIES delivers an entirely new adventure and sets the stage for KINGDOM HEARTS II. Sora, Donald and Goofy travel through many vast and colorful worlds in search of their missing companions.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Without a doubt one of the best games available for the GBA and one of the best reasons for owning the system. The characters, locales, and enemies from the original are all here, creating a compelling game and story on par in many ways with the original.
  2. AceGamez
    90
    The story is deep and intriguing, with very enjoyable and addictive gameplay.
  3. Yes, you're essentially playing through the events of Kingdom Hearts in portable form, but there's enough content here to make the experience seem new and fresh again.
  4. 80
    Combines two much-maligned RPG staples, random dungeons and card battles, and somehow pulls it off with aplomb.
  5. Nintendo Power
    78
    The story is superb, the graphics and music are among the best on the GBA, and the concept is unique and interesting. [Feb 2005, p.112]
  6. Although billed as the bridge between the first and second PS2 "Kingdom Hearts" adventures, Memories feels more like a "Golden Girls" clips episode - lots of reminiscing and recapping in lieu of new hijinks. [Jan 2005, p.143]
  7. 45
    Save for a tedious gimmick level in the Hundred-Acre Wood, each stage follows the same basic structure: work towards the first cutscene, which provides the key to the second cutscene, which provides the key to the boss. There are no puzzles or complex paths to work through -- once you've solved one, you've solved them all.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This game... it's pretty much the Kingdom Hearts equivalent of Final Fantasy IX to me. Everything about this game, in my eyes, is straight upThis game... it's pretty much the Kingdom Hearts equivalent of Final Fantasy IX to me. Everything about this game, in my eyes, is straight up perfect. The pacing of the story is perfect. The characters are perfect. The worlds are perfect. And yes, even the battle system, in my eyes, is straight up perfect. The card system was something fresh and new and it never deteriorated from the balls-to-the-walls-battles for me. The addition of the Nobodies as the primary antagonists was also perfect, because it gave some very complex baddies to actually be scared of. And the story is still from the brilliant minds of Square, being able to capture the themes of rememberance, what we need vs. what we want, and deception in one glorious package.

    This game garners a perfect ten out of me, and keep in mind that this is my opinion.
    Expand
  2. Bsilver87
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    One of the games that actually uses the gba to its full capacity. trust me on this, I have the Japanese version, and I am very amazed. Get itOne of the games that actually uses the gba to its full capacity. trust me on this, I have the Japanese version, and I am very amazed. Get it once you see it!!! Expand
  3. SaraL.
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    It was so great! i luv sora too!
  4. SalviniaA.
    Jan 17, 2005
    8
    This was a very good game, but not quite what i expected. the trailors made it look so fun, butThe first one was a little better than this This was a very good game, but not quite what i expected. the trailors made it look so fun, butThe first one was a little better than this one. It was fun, but on every worlds its the same, no difference. The graphics were unbelievable. I had no idea they could make graphics so well on a gameboy sp. The story goes on very slowly which i like because i luv getting curious. Overal, it was a great game. Expand
  5. Mr.Anonymous
    Sep 18, 2007
    8
    I'm not going to do a long thing this time... Without owning this, KH2 would be like Star Wars 4. WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON?! Although I'm not going to do a long thing this time... Without owning this, KH2 would be like Star Wars 4. WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON?! Although there are no costume changes, and getting cards is very tedious, it still is pretty darn fun. Expand
  6. May 27, 2012
    7
    This game was fun.
  7. Aug 13, 2016
    0
    Avoid this game at all costs. The trailer looked great, I enjoyed the PS2 game from what I played, but this is unfogivable. There is noAvoid this game at all costs. The trailer looked great, I enjoyed the PS2 game from what I played, but this is unfogivable. There is no tutorial. The game took me 4 or 5 worlds to understand what the hell everything was, and I still don't know what every card means. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

24
3
#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
9
#9 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004