Kirby: Nightmare in Dream Land Game Boy Advance

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. With fantastic level designs, great enemies and power-ups, as well as the addition of some fun and entertaining multiplayer modes, Kirby is a must have.
  2. A touch on the short and easy side, but other than that you're looking at a remake of a wonderful classic made far better by incredible graphics and presentation, as well as numerous extras and multiplayer features.
  3. 90
    The saccharine score is standard Nintendo fare; it will creep into your psyche and have you humming at random intervals throughout the day.
  4. Game Informer
    88
    My point is this: Kirby good. Me like. You buy. All happy. [Jan 2003, p.122]
  5. The graphics are astounding, the levels are very clever.
  6. 85
    But keep in mind that there's a lot of discovery and, yes, a little strategy in order to complete the game 100%, and you'll want to do that to get the "extra" something.
  7. The extreme fun will end with a short trek but you'll get true gaming bliss during the process.
  8. Nintendo Power
    84
    Lots of cool villain-mimicking moves and a collection of beautiful backgrounds make the game fun to play and great to watch. [Dec 2002, p.220]
  9. GameNow
    83
    The three hours or so it took me to finish were incredibly fun, with not one ounce of tedium or monotony anywhere to be found - a rarity these days. [Jan 2003, p.64]
  10. GMR Magazine
    80
    A remake of the NES classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    Finishing the game takes just a few hours, and after you're done, there's little incentive to play again... Still great fun and better than most platformers out there. [Jan 2003, p.210]
  12. A really great Kirby game that looks great, plays well and sounds nice, but is far too short for its own good.
  13. Pocket Games
    80
    Better than most platformers out there...The only beef we have with this title is that it's too dang short. [Spring 2003, p.35]
  14. Cheat Code Central
    80
    I will warn you that you can beat this in an afternoon. Take your time and go for the prizes.
  15. Makes up for its simplistic gameplay and brief quest with a great deal of variety.
  16. The execution of NID is spot on – you can't fault it for any control issues or presentation – and it's totally inoffensive and suitable for kids.
  17. netjak
    75
    Far from perfect, but features some of the best elements in a game that I've seen in a long time.
  18. The graphics are one of the best parts about the game. The backgrounds are absolutely gorgeous, and the animations have all been re-worked.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    this game is good except for the really really short lasting appeal....as a new be to this game it took me 8 hours to beat extra mod andthis game is good except for the really really short lasting appeal....as a new be to this game it took me 8 hours to beat extra mod and regular and get a 100%completion for both extra and normal......also when you beat a boss except king dede you can longer fight them again unless its in the mini game you unlock where you fight all the bosses in a row.....you can also play as meta knight in a mini game as well....the mini games balnce out the short appeal because there that good Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2016
    10
    This is a perfect remake of one of my favorite games on the NES: Kirby's Adventure. This is one of the few GBA remakes where the music wasn'tThis is a perfect remake of one of my favorite games on the NES: Kirby's Adventure. This is one of the few GBA remakes where the music wasn't totally ruined. In fact, I actually like the remastered soundtrack! The graphics are great and the animations are incredible for a GBA game. The gameplay is great, the controls are perfect, and there are lots of copy abilities to experiment with. This game isn't as easy as people say, but it won't pull your hair out. There are lots of boss battles and really tough levels. Overall this is one of my favorite games of all time and it's just as good, if not better than the NES version. Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2016
    9
    This is my 5th favorite Game Boy Advance game and this game has it all I wanted well not 100% I wanted like 98% I wanted but still close. ThisThis is my 5th favorite Game Boy Advance game and this game has it all I wanted well not 100% I wanted like 98% I wanted but still close. This game is so underrated and I don't know why! Full Review »