Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. With fantastic level designs, great enemies and power-ups, as well as the addition of some fun and entertaining multiplayer modes, Kirby is a must have.
  2. A touch on the short and easy side, but other than that you're looking at a remake of a wonderful classic made far better by incredible graphics and presentation, as well as numerous extras and multiplayer features.
  3. 90
    The saccharine score is standard Nintendo fare; it will creep into your psyche and have you humming at random intervals throughout the day.
  4. Game Informer
    88
    My point is this: Kirby good. Me like. You buy. All happy. [Jan 2003, p.122]
  5. The graphics are astounding, the levels are very clever.
  6. 85
    But keep in mind that there's a lot of discovery and, yes, a little strategy in order to complete the game 100%, and you'll want to do that to get the "extra" something.
  7. The extreme fun will end with a short trek but you'll get true gaming bliss during the process.
  8. Nintendo Power
    84
    Lots of cool villain-mimicking moves and a collection of beautiful backgrounds make the game fun to play and great to watch. [Dec 2002, p.220]
  9. GameNow
    83
    The three hours or so it took me to finish were incredibly fun, with not one ounce of tedium or monotony anywhere to be found - a rarity these days. [Jan 2003, p.64]
  10. GMR Magazine
    80
    A remake of the NES classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    Finishing the game takes just a few hours, and after you're done, there's little incentive to play again... Still great fun and better than most platformers out there. [Jan 2003, p.210]
  12. A really great Kirby game that looks great, plays well and sounds nice, but is far too short for its own good.
  13. Pocket Games
    80
    Better than most platformers out there...The only beef we have with this title is that it's too dang short. [Spring 2003, p.35]
  14. Cheat Code Central
    80
    I will warn you that you can beat this in an afternoon. Take your time and go for the prizes.
  15. Makes up for its simplistic gameplay and brief quest with a great deal of variety.
  16. The execution of NID is spot on – you can't fault it for any control issues or presentation – and it's totally inoffensive and suitable for kids.
  17. netjak
    75
    Far from perfect, but features some of the best elements in a game that I've seen in a long time.
  18. The graphics are one of the best parts about the game. The backgrounds are absolutely gorgeous, and the animations have all been re-worked.
  19. 72
    Unless you want a mega-dose of pink cotton candy, you'll likely be bored stiff.
  20. Unfortunately though we can't really see Kirby's latest adventure lasting anybody for particularly long, multiplayer games and secret hunting notwithstanding.
  21. While it's admittedly too easy and a little simplistic in structure (albeit with plenty of extras to unlock), it's nevertheless ideal for young ones or anyone looking for an easy-going few hours.
  22. Kirby is over far too quick, but it's a decent romp while it lasts, and one that I wouldn't mind playing through again.
  23. A short-lived romp through vibrant, sugary sweet worlds that will leave players -- much like its pink protagonist -- with an insatiable hunger for more.
  24. 60
    It's a short run-through -- especially if you don't seek out the secrets -- and probably won't test the skills of experienced gamers.

Awards & Rankings

19
3
#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
16
#16 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    this game is good except for the really really short lasting appeal....as a new be to this game it took me 8 hours to beat extra mod andthis game is good except for the really really short lasting appeal....as a new be to this game it took me 8 hours to beat extra mod and regular and get a 100%completion for both extra and normal......also when you beat a boss except king dede you can longer fight them again unless its in the mini game you unlock where you fight all the bosses in a row.....you can also play as meta knight in a mini game as well....the mini games balnce out the short appeal because there that good Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2017
    10
    This game made my sweet ass vegan body sweat because of its beauty. The design of levels and bosses is beyond amazing and made me drop tearsThis game made my sweet ass vegan body sweat because of its beauty. The design of levels and bosses is beyond amazing and made me drop tears when Kirby finally stuck the star rod into the fountain of dreams to bring back the dreams to dreamland. Even the mini games made my pubescent little dick rise higher than Bill Gates pile of money when Kirby drifted to victory on his pimp ass star cart. Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    9.6 - My favorite Kirby game by far, with incredible soundtrack, bosses, creative abilities, and levels. The final boss could have been a bit9.6 - My favorite Kirby game by far, with incredible soundtrack, bosses, creative abilities, and levels. The final boss could have been a bit harder, but the music during the fight was great. Full Review »