Lunar Legend Game Boy Advance

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Dec 8, 2002
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Buy On
  1. GameNow
    91
    One of the finest games in the genre. [Jan 2003, p.65]
  2. With the minor technical gripes aside, this is a perfect RPG to play for anyone. Don't be silly like me and get rid of your PlayStation version and purchase the GBA version instead.
  3. The game is easy to pick up with its user-friendly interface. As a matter of fact, I was more than surprised with the amount of offensive and defensive capabilities the game contains.
  4. Pocket Games
    90
    An engaging story, epic battles, and superb graphics. [Spring 2003, p.36]
  5. Lunar Legend rocks – a godsend for RPG fans, and especially Lunar fans. It’s a completely new story, and you can play it while your taking care of bid-ness, what more could you ask for?
  6. While it may be on the shorter side of RPGs (say around 20 hours), it is certainly time well spent.
  7. Overall the combat system works quite well on the GBA version, however, old veterans of the Lunar RPGs of past will by turned off by the GBA version’s less strategic, more simplistic system.
  8. Nintendo Power
    82
    The cut scenes look like stills from an anime film, and the story offers lots of twists and turns. [Mar 2003, p.138]
  9. GMR Magazine
    80
    The great gameplay and story of Lunar remain intact. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    One of the prettiest, most involving RPGs to hit the GBA. [Dec 2002, p.272]
  11. 80
    A game best enjoyed by those who've never come to it before.
  12. 80
    An interesting “abridged retelling” of Lunar: The Silver Star that’s missing a couple of the original’s most charming aspects...but it’s still a darn good RPG.
  13. Partly due to its low level of difficulty, Lunar Legend won't take you too long to finish--it's about 15 hours long.
  14. Game Informer
    75
    Ubi obviously had to remove the voices and animated segments, but in doing so, it also sacrificed the story. [Feb 2003, p.108]
  15. Despite the prosaic setup and run of the mill RPG methodology, Lunar makes up for it in charm.
  16. The modifications to the gameplay system take it down a notch from the Sega CD original and the PSX/Saturn remakes and the translation is a little sloppy in places, but the experience is still mostly a positive one.
  17. 70
    The difficulty level seems to have been cranked so far down that it's near impossible to lose a fight...and even if you're low on health, all it takes is to save the game and restore it for a refreshed party.
  18. Saving and reloading the game will give your party full health and magic, and since you can save anywhere, this bug removes almost all of the challenge from the game.
  19. Cheat Code Central
    70
    One of the best examples of a RPG that is suitable for players of all levels and ages.
  20. netjak
    45
    The true tell-tale sign of a great RPG compared to a good RPG is how you feel after completion. With other great RPG's over the years, I had a true connection with the characters and was always a bit saddened once my adventure came to a halt. In this case I felt nothing.

Awards & Rankings

#34 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#14 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. AdamT.
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    I would Say Its A pretty Good Game For My Kind Of Taste.
  2. TreavorP.
    Jun 3, 2003
    10
    Fun but kind of easy.
  3. B.P.
    Dec 12, 2002
    9
    I recently bought this game and i have to say i am very impressed w/ this game. I thought it was gonna be another one of those games that sitsI recently bought this game and i have to say i am very impressed w/ this game. I thought it was gonna be another one of those games that sits in the shadows and no-one ever plays it buy i think it will be a big hit. Full Review »