Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  2. One of the most imaginative, compelling, and outright fun RPGs to grace any system in years. [Spring 2004, p.30]
  3. 100
    This is as light and unpretentious as RPGs get. If the typical melodramatic RPGs make you laugh more than cry and you've grown tired of casting dragon destroyer +7, Mario & Luigi is just what the plumber ordered.
  4. 100
    Best GBA game I've ever played. A must-have. [Jan 2003, p.46]
  5. Whether in battle or just the game world itself this is my favourite game of the year on any system.
  6. What will keep you playing through all that time is not just all the neat moves or the excellent graphics but the well-crafted and humorous story.
  7. The game might be something you can fly through quickly, but you'll enjoy every second of the journey.
  8. The strange humor is a big part of this title's appeal, as are the atypical style of play and the charming story. If you're a Mario fan, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. [Jan 2004, p.158]
  9. It's chock-a-block full of action, strategy, humor, mini-games, it'll take many hours to finish, and Luigi finally gets some props.
  10. Possibly the best GBA title yet... Many fans yearn for handheld titles to compare with the polished, deep, lengthy experiences of console games; Mario & Luigi is one of the few to attain this ideal.
  11. A rarity in the gaming world; a game that brings a smile to your face by not taking itself seriously, and at the same time keep you on your toes gameplay-wise.
  12. 95
    The presentation is charming, the writing is witty, the control is well implemented, and the game is simply a lot of fun.
  13. It's not just an RPG with the cast of "Super Mario Bros." The story is laugh-out-loud hilarious.
  14. Impressive graphics, innovative gameplay and a lengthy quest, but what makes it really special is its snese of humor. The game is genuinely funny. It made me laugh out loud. [Jan 2004, p.156]
  15. It's a fresh take on the old turn-based RPG formula and the hilarious, but sometimes slightly plodding story will keep you glued to your Game Boy Advance for hours and hours.
  16. Superstar graphics, stellar sound, outrageous gameplay and a hilarious story.
  17. 9 / 10 / 9 / 9 - 37 platinum [Vol 780]
  18. 93
    A must have for any RPG or Mario fan out there. It has great style, an enjoyable adventure, and is very funny at some points.
  19. A fun and engaging spin on the traditional action RPG experience that blends equal doses of impressive technology, innovation, and humor.
  20. The bold visuals, mechanics, story, and characters are brought together with a seemingly effortless charm. [Dec 2003, p.94]
  21. 90
    Things never slack off either due to the brilliant storyline and characters, whilst the tricky combat and devious puzzles keep attention fixated.
  22. One of those games you cherish playing - and avoid completing because you just don't want it to end. [Jan 2003, p.93]
  23. One Of The Best GBA games of the year, Nintendo games on the GBA, and RPGs in existence. Simple, fun and rewarding, this is for everyone who ever ogled but never played the original Mario RPG, and everyone else besides.
  24. It may not lean enough in either direction for hardcore platform or RPG fanatics to find everything they're looking for, but as far as genre-crossing titles go, they don't come much more enjoyable or extensive than this. [Jan 2004, p.104]
  25. The mix between overly complex elements and overly simple ones brings this title down somewhat, however it does not completely hide a truly fantastic game.
  26. 90
    It's an incredibly weird and original gaming experience that never takes itself seriously, and it something that definitely shouldn't be missed on the handheld.
  27. A real surprise - if you liked "Paper Mario" on N64 you'll love this. It's funny, enjoyable and capable of eating up hours on end. [GamesMaster]
  28. A classic in a long line of Mario classics. Excellent gameplay, vibrant graphics, beautiful sound, and an intriguing story make this one of the best GBA titles.
  29. Despite being a completely different genre, Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga manages to do that one thing that not many others have managed: it transcends the barrier set between genres, and the result is nothing short of brilliant. Bouncy, platformy fun.
  30. If there's a better Mario game for the GBA, you haven't played it yet. Word.
  31. The story, filled to the brim with elegantly executed wit, is engrossing to the point where it seems industrial strength adhesive is connecting you to it.
  32. Everything your typical RPG is not - fast-paced, action-oriented, colorful and lighthearted - yet it's the best game the genre has seen on the GBA. [Jan 2004, p.162]
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible. Full Review »
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot of items to collect and places to explore. This is an easy 10. Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platforming areas that you have to master, and it gives off a good feeling conquering these sections. The game gives you a lot to do, and many places to explore when you don't feel like completing the objectives. The visuals match the feel and atmosphere of the game, which is perfect. It adds to the goofiness and humor in the game. To this day, I replay the game and relive the story. Full Review »