Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Game Boy Advance

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 173
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible.
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platformingThis is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platforming areas that you have to master, and it gives off a good feeling conquering these sections. The game gives you a lot to do, and many places to explore when you don't feel like completing the objectives. The visuals match the feel and atmosphere of the game, which is perfect. It adds to the goofiness and humor in the game. To this day, I replay the game and relive the story. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot ofThis is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot of items to collect and places to explore. This is an easy 10. Expand
  4. JeffF.
    Jan 26, 2004
    2
    This game is dull, boring, and nowhere near as good as everone claims. I had it for a week then sold it on e-bay.
  5. BillyC.
    Jan 12, 2004
    9
    I have beat the game and i like it but there was one flaw... its to short.. it only took me a few hours to beat it.
  6. Marc
    Mar 21, 2004
    9
    The Mario Bros. have never been this fun...or deep. An amazing accomplishment, on ANY platform.
  7. NicolaDelM.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    It's wonderful. Only Super Mario RPG was so nice, and well-made... Congratulations, developers!
  8. Paimoe
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    It is fun with lots to explore.
  9. DiehardCritic
    Jan 5, 2004
    8
    Ahh yes... the Adventures of Mario and Luigi... Indeed a great game. Although a bit on the short side for Rpg purists M&L is definetly a most enjoyable Rp. From beginning to end this game has a sort of way of hooking you up... be it to get one more Advance or beat the next boss with your newfound Bros moves... or learn the next skill and see what new places open for you... it is a must Ahh yes... the Adventures of Mario and Luigi... Indeed a great game. Although a bit on the short side for Rpg purists M&L is definetly a most enjoyable Rp. From beginning to end this game has a sort of way of hooking you up... be it to get one more Advance or beat the next boss with your newfound Bros moves... or learn the next skill and see what new places open for you... it is a must have. Diehard RP players might find it a bit lacking in some areas but I found it being a rather solid game... just wished the last boss would have last longer. One hit to Bowletta and it was over and three to Cackletta's heart and it was the end... Guess that would be my only gripes... Expand
  10. PombartheLuigifan
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Best Mario game since Super Mario RPG on SNES!
  11. Whatever
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    Jeff F. how could you give the game this rating!? This is a VERY FUN RPG game.
  12. JacobR.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    I LOVE IT!!!!THE BEST GAME!!!!
  13. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The best game on the gameboy advance! I don't even like RPG's, I haven't had this much fun since Paper Mario and Super Mario RPG. It had the same awesome humour as other Mario RPG's. Even if you hate RPG's you'll love this game the controls are easy and simple.
  14. BillyF.
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    This game is unbelevable! This is the best mairo game so far hands-down!
  15. RobertF.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    If you dont like this game you are completely bonkers!
  16. EddieC.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    The game is an instant classic! If you grew up playing Super Mario Bros. this game brings back memories. However, it is very easily playable by anyone regardless. It has one of the funniest, most well written scripts ever, and the graphics will just put you in awe. It combines elements of adventure and puzzle solving, throw this in with a brilliant rpg battle engine that never gets boring The game is an instant classic! If you grew up playing Super Mario Bros. this game brings back memories. However, it is very easily playable by anyone regardless. It has one of the funniest, most well written scripts ever, and the graphics will just put you in awe. It combines elements of adventure and puzzle solving, throw this in with a brilliant rpg battle engine that never gets boring because you are constantly involved in performing actions that will get you more damage (Remember Super Mario RPG for the SNES) This game is like that in many ways, which was a fun game, but this one is unlike anything you have ever seen. Trust me this one is a instant addictive classic! You don't want to put it down until you beat the game. Expand
  17. Lam
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of the game boy advance taking advantage of its graphic. Leave it to Nintendo to deliver this year's most fun-fill pack of advanture. Go out and buy this one, you'll be sure to love it.
  18. JeffreyA.
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    This is the funniest,coolest,awesomest(not a word its ok) game ever ! it has a wacky ,wierd humor that is always funny! this game is sooooooooo much fun! if u thought Paper Mario was good you will think again! buy this game it rulzzzzzzz!!!!! !
  19. ThomasM.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Talk about Fun! If your looking for a good mario and luigi combo system then nothing beats mario and luigi superstar saga!
  20. DanK.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    Way too much fun, can't put it down.
  21. DavidS.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    If you liked "paper mario" you will love this game because this is a sequal to paper mario, this is a must have game.
  22. HoldenB.
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    This was a really great game. Hard is some spots and easy in some spots. The final battle was stupid though , how you always start with 1 HP.
  23. RojineA.
    Apr 4, 2004
    9
    Please e-mail me at rojineariani@aol.com and tell me somebody please how you beat the wiggler in chucklehuck woods. i have 2 chuckola beans, and i just need the red one to get the chuckola reserve so please help!
  24. NathanM.
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Awesome couldn't put it down!!!!!! and I havent beat it yet.
  25. ThomasW.
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    Amazing...60 hours of gameing bliss. Allthough thats probably 30-40hours because i played the minigames a lot ;)
  26. BobF.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Exellent! I like the way mario turns small and luigi turns into a mole!!! VERY TRICKY!
  27. JordanM.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Best game i have ever played. once you start you cant stop. a must have for anyone.
  28. AlexG
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Real Score: 9.6 This being the first video game I ever owned, I must say that even four & a half years later the RPG elements of this game manage to hold up nicely against almost all other RPGs. Story: Complex in its twists and turns however it does not try to be serious, instead it provides a quirky and zany adventure full of originality and innovation. The characters are all likable and Real Score: 9.6 This being the first video game I ever owned, I must say that even four & a half years later the RPG elements of this game manage to hold up nicely against almost all other RPGs. Story: Complex in its twists and turns however it does not try to be serious, instead it provides a quirky and zany adventure full of originality and innovation. The characters are all likable and captivating in a story that builds itself on excellent humour. Graphics: What you would expect from a GBA game. Nice cartoony graphics that display interesting art choices. Sound: upbeat, cheerful music and sounds. Gameplay: world exploration is never boring, unlike in some FF games, and the turn based combat system combines with quick-time challenges to produce something exceptional. This game is truly one of the best the GBA has to offer. In my opinion this is the best mario RPG since Paper Mario. Go ahead and buy this if you still haven't it is a unique form of an RPG that provides app. 30 hours of gameplay. Plus you can spend more time doing collection side-quests or minigames. All in all, a masterpiece from Alphadream and Nintendo. Well done! Expand
  29. ArmadilloBuddha
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting myself out here... oh well. =) Even if you hate RPG's, buy this game anyways. I can't say enough good things about it. I'll be pissed if this gets anything under a 95, because it's better than THPS2 and maybe even Zelda. (mainly because Zelda was just a SNES port with a multiplayer game I had no use for, and this is an entirely new game...) I never played Paper Mario, but I'd like to hear from the people who did, and how this compares to it. Expand
  30. Maarten(i'mdutch)R.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    Great graphics! great gameplay!

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
#5 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    93
    9 / 10 / 9 / 9 - 37 platinum [Vol 780]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  3. 90
    Things never slack off either due to the brilliant storyline and characters, whilst the tricky combat and devious puzzles keep attention fixated.