User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 97
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 97
  3. Negative: 2 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    A lengthy Mario themed RPG experience, A load of In-game minigames, hilarious,deep and shocking storyline, fun soundtrack, good voice acting, unique battle system, a load of sidequests, a cameo from the most overrated Square Enix owned Mario character Geno (sorry, I couldn't resist. :P), all of this and STILL enough room on the GBA cartridge for the arcade Super Mario Bros. game with multiplayer support (if you don't happen to have it on any of the Super Mario Advance remakes already). Such a great package is far worth its price and I would very much recommend a buy. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot of items to collect and places to explore. This is an easy 10. Expand
  3. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing. One of nintendos best. Super cute and ridiculous in a good way.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible.
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    This is easily my favorite game of all time! This is probably the only 10 I'll ever give. The most acceptable RPG because you can dodge, rather than just stand there looking dopey while the enemy hits you. This game only has 2 flaws, but everything else is perfect. It is relatively easy, and there aren't enough side missions, but there are collectables everywhere so there is a good enough reason to explore Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Nintneod have truly outdone themselves int he RPG world. Not only are they able to diversify Mario into the realm of turn based gameplay, they manage to make them stand among the best RPG's of this generation. Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga is one of those unforgettable experiences. The game is easy to play, but difficult to complete 100%. The game still provides a decent challenge to newcomers though and you can still find yourself in a tight snitch here and there. The story is definitely something to behold and will keep you smiling the whole way through. Mario and Luigi's gameplay system is also pitch perfect. Each with there own unique abilities, the two brothers only way to stay alive is to not get seperated and work together. This craetes some very interesting sections and situations in the game and the brothers can only use their full power when performing team attacks and using these moves successfully will be the deciding factor a fight. The characters are new and fresh, with some returning roles, and the game is just simply memorable as heck. Truly a worthy gem on the game boy advance adn one of my favorite games ever! Check this game out and you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Mario RPG game is perfect. With good control, great bosses, good concept, amazing plot, cool mini-games, outstanding graphics, and addicting music, this Mario game is one of the very best there is! This game definitely deserved three sequels!
  8. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    After playing partners in time and its sequels i craved more. When i started this game i expected everything to be much worse than the more advanced bowsers inside story and dream team, i was so wrong. I would argue that this game does many things better than its sequels, all of the bro attacks are awesome and advancing them makes your feel accomplished. The use of the thunderhand and the firebrand was well implemented. The writing is very funny at times and for me was never a chore to read, same goes for the characters. My single complaint is that the bosses are either way to easy or too frustrating. But this is a great rpg that is still fun to this day and if you have a wii u or gameboy i really recommend picking it up. Expand
  9. May 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Mario RPG plunges you into the realm of the Beanbean Kingdom that is chock full of hilarious characters, great turn-based battles, enticing story, and a shocking final boss. Be prepared for Mario goodness. Expand
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platforming areas that you have to master, and it gives off a good feeling conquering these sections. The game gives you a lot to do, and many places to explore when you don't feel like completing the objectives. The visuals match the feel and atmosphere of the game, which is perfect. It adds to the goofiness and humor in the game. To this day, I replay the game and relive the story. Expand
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Very clever, fun, and addictive gameplay. An absolute gem of a game that represents the best the GBA has to offer. Some environments can be a bit dull at times, especially as you near the end of an area. The slight monotony does almost nothing to negatively impact the extremely fun gameplay, as well as the rock solid story that keeps you on your toes throughout the entirety, and one of the most fun and intense endings that I've personally ever seen in gaming. It's mid 2013, and this game is still solid as a rock and most certainly worth picking up used or finding online. I assure you you won't regret it. Expand
  12. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    M&L Superstar Saga is what made me love Mario games. There is nearly no end to the charm and fun that this game brings. The combat system is incredibly intuitive, with its action-based gameplay bringing turn-based RPGs to a whole new level. It's a comfortable and enjoyable set-up, as your actions mean more than your stats. Alongside, there is a unique world to explore with much to find.

    The game's plot is nothing special, but it is filled with clever writing and characters that will put a smile to your face. There is even a few twists involved. Mario and Luigi are enjoyable characters and its great to see such chemistry between them.

    The game also looks awesome on the GBA, with lush colors, nice animation, and great art direction. And I love, love, love the soundtrack. All the music is catchy and memorable, albeit a tad repetitive.

    If you want a game that features everything to love about the Mario Bros. in a near perfect RPG style, do not pass this game.
    Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2014
    8
    I've only played this game for just over and hour but so far it doesn't seem so bad. A good start to a good rpg series that's easy to pick up and play for a while.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 9 / 10 / 9 / 9 - 37 platinum [Vol 780]
  2. 100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  3. 90
    Things never slack off either due to the brilliant storyline and characters, whilst the tricky combat and devious puzzles keep attention fixated.