Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Game Boy Advance

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 146
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible.
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platformingThis is one of the first games I have ever had as a kid. I loved it to death. The game is very humorous, and I love how Luigi played the goofy, second hand hero. The turn-base combat is very fun, although I would love enemies being a bit smarter with attacks. The story itself lasted me many, many days to complete but it all paid off in the end. There are many tricky puzzles and platforming areas that you have to master, and it gives off a good feeling conquering these sections. The game gives you a lot to do, and many places to explore when you don't feel like completing the objectives. The visuals match the feel and atmosphere of the game, which is perfect. It adds to the goofiness and humor in the game. To this day, I replay the game and relive the story. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot ofThis is probably my favorite game of all time. All aspects of it are phenomenal. The combat is challenging but never so challenging that it would make you want to quit. The story and the characters are charming and hilarious.. I've never actually laughed out loud at a video game as much as I did whilst playing Superstar Saga. And there is genuinely a lot to do in this game, and a lot of items to collect and places to explore. This is an easy 10. Expand
  4. JeffF.
    Jan 26, 2004
    2
    This game is dull, boring, and nowhere near as good as everone claims. I had it for a week then sold it on e-bay.
  5. DavidP.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    I say it is very cool.
  6. Maarten(i'mdutch)R.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    Great graphics! great gameplay!
  7. NicolaDelM.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    It's wonderful. Only Super Mario RPG was so nice, and well-made... Congratulations, developers!
  8. VictorBlazer
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    From the first screenshots that I saw, this game looked awesome! I've had this game on reserve for 4 months now and I can't wait for it to come out!
  9. Lam
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of the game boy advance taking advantage of its graphic. Leave it to Nintendo to deliver this year's most fun-fill pack of advanture. Go out and buy this one, you'll be sure to love it.
  10. MatthewL.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game isn't just a Mario game, it's a real mix of a lovely RPG game and the world's most beloved plumber-duo!!!
  11. LordMemphis
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    One of the best mario games ever.
  12. PeterO.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    I have not beaten this game, but am well into it. It's great. The game is just like Super Mario RPG and Paper Mario, two of the funnest RPG's around. Anyone who felt bad for Luigi being left behind all the time in Paper Mario can rejoice; our green 'stached hero gets star billing. However, he is still made fun of, nobody remembers his name, and Nintendo gave him some very I have not beaten this game, but am well into it. It's great. The game is just like Super Mario RPG and Paper Mario, two of the funnest RPG's around. Anyone who felt bad for Luigi being left behind all the time in Paper Mario can rejoice; our green 'stached hero gets star billing. However, he is still made fun of, nobody remembers his name, and Nintendo gave him some very flamboyant mannerisms. Expand
  13. RyanT.
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    This game is really cool. It's definitely worth buying.
  14. ArmadilloBuddha
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting myself out here... oh well. =) Even if you hate RPG's, buy this game anyways. I can't say enough good things about it. I'll be pissed if this gets anything under a 95, because it's better than THPS2 and maybe even Zelda. (mainly because Zelda was just a SNES port with a multiplayer game I had no use for, and this is an entirely new game...) I never played Paper Mario, but I'd like to hear from the people who did, and how this compares to it. Expand
  15. ShadowZero
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    It's great!
  16. CodyN.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This game is worth my 1up seal of approval.
  17. EddieC.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    The game is an instant classic! If you grew up playing Super Mario Bros. this game brings back memories. However, it is very easily playable by anyone regardless. It has one of the funniest, most well written scripts ever, and the graphics will just put you in awe. It combines elements of adventure and puzzle solving, throw this in with a brilliant rpg battle engine that never gets boring The game is an instant classic! If you grew up playing Super Mario Bros. this game brings back memories. However, it is very easily playable by anyone regardless. It has one of the funniest, most well written scripts ever, and the graphics will just put you in awe. It combines elements of adventure and puzzle solving, throw this in with a brilliant rpg battle engine that never gets boring because you are constantly involved in performing actions that will get you more damage (Remember Super Mario RPG for the SNES) This game is like that in many ways, which was a fun game, but this one is unlike anything you have ever seen. Trust me this one is a instant addictive classic! You don't want to put it down until you beat the game. Expand
  18. JeffreyA.
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    This is the funniest,coolest,awesomest(not a word its ok) game ever ! it has a wacky ,wierd humor that is always funny! this game is sooooooooo much fun! if u thought Paper Mario was good you will think again! buy this game it rulzzzzzzz!!!!! !
  19. AbnerMalaret
    Dec 23, 2003
    10
    Love the story and how immersive it is. Have not been able to put it down. I've also been having dreams of the adventures of the game. Definitely a must have. Peace!
  20. DiehardCritic
    Jan 5, 2004
    8
    Ahh yes... the Adventures of Mario and Luigi... Indeed a great game. Although a bit on the short side for Rpg purists M&L is definetly a most enjoyable Rp. From beginning to end this game has a sort of way of hooking you up... be it to get one more Advance or beat the next boss with your newfound Bros moves... or learn the next skill and see what new places open for you... it is a must Ahh yes... the Adventures of Mario and Luigi... Indeed a great game. Although a bit on the short side for Rpg purists M&L is definetly a most enjoyable Rp. From beginning to end this game has a sort of way of hooking you up... be it to get one more Advance or beat the next boss with your newfound Bros moves... or learn the next skill and see what new places open for you... it is a must have. Diehard RP players might find it a bit lacking in some areas but I found it being a rather solid game... just wished the last boss would have last longer. One hit to Bowletta and it was over and three to Cackletta's heart and it was the end... Guess that would be my only gripes... Expand
  21. DavidS.
    Jan 6, 2004
    10
    If you liked "paper mario" you will love this game because this is a sequal to paper mario, this is a must have game.
  22. BillyC.
    Jan 12, 2004
    9
    I have beat the game and i like it but there was one flaw... its to short.. it only took me a few hours to beat it.
  23. PombartheLuigifan
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Best Mario game since Super Mario RPG on SNES!
  24. KyleV.
    Dec 31, 2003
    9
    Well, everything about this game is great, it's just that the Border Jump thingy is definitely hard.
  25. Paimoe
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    It is fun with lots to explore.
  26. DanK.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    Way too much fun, can't put it down.
  27. ThomasM.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Talk about Fun! If your looking for a good mario and luigi combo system then nothing beats mario and luigi superstar saga!
  28. HoldenB.
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    This was a really great game. Hard is some spots and easy in some spots. The final battle was stupid though , how you always start with 1 HP.
  29. Whatever
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    Jeff F. how could you give the game this rating!? This is a VERY FUN RPG game.
  30. Marc
    Mar 21, 2004
    9
    The Mario Bros. have never been this fun...or deep. An amazing accomplishment, on ANY platform.
  31. RojineA.
    Apr 4, 2004
    9
    Please e-mail me at rojineariani@aol.com and tell me somebody please how you beat the wiggler in chucklehuck woods. i have 2 chuckola beans, and i just need the red one to get the chuckola reserve so please help!
  32. BudgieBirdLover
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    I absolutely LOOOVED this game! It was super fun, but also super short. (-.-)' It would have been better if it was longer, but I like the way the characters can actually say some stuff and I absolutely love the music! This game was cool, and for a game boy game, BOY are those graphics good!
  33. JacobR.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    I LOVE IT!!!!THE BEST GAME!!!!
  34. NathanM.
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Awesome couldn't put it down!!!!!! and I havent beat it yet.
  35. ThomasW.
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    Amazing...60 hours of gameing bliss. Allthough thats probably 30-40hours because i played the minigames a lot ;)
  36. MatthewV.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The best game on the gameboy advance! I don't even like RPG's, I haven't had this much fun since Paper Mario and Super Mario RPG. It had the same awesome humour as other Mario RPG's. Even if you hate RPG's you'll love this game the controls are easy and simple.
  37. BillyF.
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    This game is unbelevable! This is the best mairo game so far hands-down!
  38. BobF.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Exellent! I like the way mario turns small and luigi turns into a mole!!! VERY TRICKY!
  39. RobertF.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    If you dont like this game you are completely bonkers!
  40. ShanellG.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Wow thats all i can say it is really good i'd give it a 100 out of 10.
  41. JordanM.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Best game i have ever played. once you start you cant stop. a must have for anyone.
  42. AlexG
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Real Score: 9.6 This being the first video game I ever owned, I must say that even four & a half years later the RPG elements of this game manage to hold up nicely against almost all other RPGs. Story: Complex in its twists and turns however it does not try to be serious, instead it provides a quirky and zany adventure full of originality and innovation. The characters are all likable and Real Score: 9.6 This being the first video game I ever owned, I must say that even four & a half years later the RPG elements of this game manage to hold up nicely against almost all other RPGs. Story: Complex in its twists and turns however it does not try to be serious, instead it provides a quirky and zany adventure full of originality and innovation. The characters are all likable and captivating in a story that builds itself on excellent humour. Graphics: What you would expect from a GBA game. Nice cartoony graphics that display interesting art choices. Sound: upbeat, cheerful music and sounds. Gameplay: world exploration is never boring, unlike in some FF games, and the turn based combat system combines with quick-time challenges to produce something exceptional. This game is truly one of the best the GBA has to offer. In my opinion this is the best mario RPG since Paper Mario. Go ahead and buy this if you still haven't it is a unique form of an RPG that provides app. 30 hours of gameplay. Plus you can spend more time doing collection side-quests or minigames. All in all, a masterpiece from Alphadream and Nintendo. Well done! Expand
  43. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    A lengthy Mario themed RPG experience, A load of In-game minigames, hilarious,deep and shocking storyline, fun soundtrack, good voice acting, unique battle system, a load of sidequests, a cameo from the most overrated Square Enix owned Mario character Geno (sorry, I couldn't resist. :P), all of this and STILL enough room on the GBA cartridge for the arcade Super Mario Bros. game withA lengthy Mario themed RPG experience, A load of In-game minigames, hilarious,deep and shocking storyline, fun soundtrack, good voice acting, unique battle system, a load of sidequests, a cameo from the most overrated Square Enix owned Mario character Geno (sorry, I couldn't resist. :P), all of this and STILL enough room on the GBA cartridge for the arcade Super Mario Bros. game with multiplayer support (if you don't happen to have it on any of the Super Mario Advance remakes already). Such a great package is far worth its price and I would very much recommend a buy. Expand
  44. May 26, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Mario RPG plunges you into the realm of the Beanbean Kingdom that is chock full of hilarious characters, great turn-based battles, enticing story, and a shocking final boss. Be prepared for Mario goodness. Expand
  45. May 28, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing. One of nintendos best. Super cute and ridiculous in a good way.
  46. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    This is easily my favorite game of all time! This is probably the only 10 I'll ever give. The most acceptable RPG because you can dodge, rather than just stand there looking dopey while the enemy hits you. This game only has 2 flaws, but everything else is perfect. It is relatively easy, and there aren't enough side missions, but there are collectables everywhere so there is a good enoughThis is easily my favorite game of all time! This is probably the only 10 I'll ever give. The most acceptable RPG because you can dodge, rather than just stand there looking dopey while the enemy hits you. This game only has 2 flaws, but everything else is perfect. It is relatively easy, and there aren't enough side missions, but there are collectables everywhere so there is a good enough reason to explore Expand
  47. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Nintneod have truly outdone themselves int he RPG world. Not only are they able to diversify Mario into the realm of turn based gameplay, they manage to make them stand among the best RPG's of this generation. Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga is one of those unforgettable experiences. The game is easy to play, but difficult to complete 100%. The game still provides a decent challenge toNintneod have truly outdone themselves int he RPG world. Not only are they able to diversify Mario into the realm of turn based gameplay, they manage to make them stand among the best RPG's of this generation. Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga is one of those unforgettable experiences. The game is easy to play, but difficult to complete 100%. The game still provides a decent challenge to newcomers though and you can still find yourself in a tight snitch here and there. The story is definitely something to behold and will keep you smiling the whole way through. Mario and Luigi's gameplay system is also pitch perfect. Each with there own unique abilities, the two brothers only way to stay alive is to not get seperated and work together. This craetes some very interesting sections and situations in the game and the brothers can only use their full power when performing team attacks and using these moves successfully will be the deciding factor a fight. The characters are new and fresh, with some returning roles, and the game is just simply memorable as heck. Truly a worthy gem on the game boy advance adn one of my favorite games ever! Check this game out and you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  48. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Very clever, fun, and addictive gameplay. An absolute gem of a game that represents the best the GBA has to offer. Some environments can be a bit dull at times, especially as you near the end of an area. The slight monotony does almost nothing to negatively impact the extremely fun gameplay, as well as the rock solid story that keeps you on your toes throughout the entirety, and one of theVery clever, fun, and addictive gameplay. An absolute gem of a game that represents the best the GBA has to offer. Some environments can be a bit dull at times, especially as you near the end of an area. The slight monotony does almost nothing to negatively impact the extremely fun gameplay, as well as the rock solid story that keeps you on your toes throughout the entirety, and one of the most fun and intense endings that I've personally ever seen in gaming. It's mid 2013, and this game is still solid as a rock and most certainly worth picking up used or finding online. I assure you you won't regret it. Collapse
  49. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Mario RPG game is perfect. With good control, great bosses, good concept, amazing plot, cool mini-games, outstanding graphics, and addicting music, this Mario game is one of the very best there is! This game definitely deserved three sequels!
  50. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    M&L Superstar Saga is what made me love Mario games. There is nearly no end to the charm and fun that this game brings. The combat system is incredibly intuitive, with its action-based gameplay bringing turn-based RPGs to a whole new level. It's a comfortable and enjoyable set-up, as your actions mean more than your stats. Alongside, there is a unique world to explore with much to find.M&L Superstar Saga is what made me love Mario games. There is nearly no end to the charm and fun that this game brings. The combat system is incredibly intuitive, with its action-based gameplay bringing turn-based RPGs to a whole new level. It's a comfortable and enjoyable set-up, as your actions mean more than your stats. Alongside, there is a unique world to explore with much to find.

    The game's plot is nothing special, but it is filled with clever writing and characters that will put a smile to your face. There is even a few twists involved. Mario and Luigi are enjoyable characters and its great to see such chemistry between them.

    The game also looks awesome on the GBA, with lush colors, nice animation, and great art direction. And I love, love, love the soundtrack. All the music is catchy and memorable, albeit a tad repetitive.

    If you want a game that features everything to love about the Mario Bros. in a near perfect RPG style, do not pass this game.
    Expand
  51. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    After playing partners in time and its sequels i craved more. When i started this game i expected everything to be much worse than the more advanced bowsers inside story and dream team, i was so wrong. I would argue that this game does many things better than its sequels, all of the bro attacks are awesome and advancing them makes your feel accomplished. The use of the thunderhand and theAfter playing partners in time and its sequels i craved more. When i started this game i expected everything to be much worse than the more advanced bowsers inside story and dream team, i was so wrong. I would argue that this game does many things better than its sequels, all of the bro attacks are awesome and advancing them makes your feel accomplished. The use of the thunderhand and the firebrand was well implemented. The writing is very funny at times and for me was never a chore to read, same goes for the characters. My single complaint is that the bosses are either way to easy or too frustrating. But this is a great rpg that is still fun to this day and if you have a wii u or gameboy i really recommend picking it up. Expand
  52. Nov 15, 2014
    8
    I've only played this game for just over and hour but so far it doesn't seem so bad. A good start to a good rpg series that's easy to pick up and play for a while.
  53. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    As my favourite game of my childhood i only can say, thats the best Mario and Luigi Game in my oppinion.
    Wonderful Desingned Charakters (Cackletta, Fawful), lovely Story, wich you could play for hours. 10 outta 10.
  54. Aug 18, 2015
    10
    The game is simply incredible. If i could rate higher i would. As a kid who got the game back when it was released, i struggled with it and never got past one of the first areas. I took it out a few weeks ago after almost giving up on it.. and i can say it was an epic experience. Fast paced, colorful and hilarious.. i have never enjoyed my Game Boy advanced so much. I put over 40 hoursThe game is simply incredible. If i could rate higher i would. As a kid who got the game back when it was released, i struggled with it and never got past one of the first areas. I took it out a few weeks ago after almost giving up on it.. and i can say it was an epic experience. Fast paced, colorful and hilarious.. i have never enjoyed my Game Boy advanced so much. I put over 40 hours into the game (thanks to the counter) and sometimes played for 7-8 hours a day. (thankfully it is summer) so, i can tell you it is worth actually getting this game if you like games like this. From searching for hundreds of hidden beans to make useful coffees to obtain rare items and boost your stats (yes that is an actual function, and an amazing one at that) to grinding on cool and powerful enemies to level up so you can take on the powerful Cackletta. The game is worth your money. Very worth it. Expand
  55. Oct 1, 2015
    9
    Incredibly funny and clever! I think this should be a must buy not only for rpg fans or Super Mario/ Nintendo fans, but also for every casual gamer searching for something new and fresh!
  56. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    just wonderful. to my knowledge, this is the only time you ever see mario working as a plumber in a game. the story makes no sense at all, but in a great way. they just keep throwing bizarre scenarios at you, and you laugh hysterically.

    seriously, if, like me, you did not grow up on RPGs, this is a game to smooth you into the genre. it's inviting, hilarious, fun, ridiculous, satisfying.
    just wonderful. to my knowledge, this is the only time you ever see mario working as a plumber in a game. the story makes no sense at all, but in a great way. they just keep throwing bizarre scenarios at you, and you laugh hysterically.

    seriously, if, like me, you did not grow up on RPGs, this is a game to smooth you into the genre. it's inviting, hilarious, fun, ridiculous, satisfying. you have some platforming, some tasks you have to complete with some dexterity in real time. i'd say this and stick of truth are RPG masterpieces perfect for non-RPG players.
    Expand
  57. Jan 27, 2016
    9
    It isn't just a game. It's an experience worth trying for once in your entire life. This game's been 12 years old right now and in 9 months and counting, it'll be 13 years old.
  58. Feb 2, 2016
    10
    when i got this game on gba for christmas, i exploded with excitment, it was like a pixelated genie! This game was one of the best mario entries EVER!
  59. Apr 1, 2016
    10
    Alphadreams first English game is not only great, but a groundbreaking master peace to create 3 good installments and one meh one in 2015/16. Spot on writing, great graphics for the GBA, and Fawful.

    Fawful makes every game good.
  60. May 31, 2016
    10
    Excelente juego.
    Me encanto.
    Este juego me hizo pasar grandes momentos enganchandome a mas no poder en mi infancia cuando tenia mi gameboy advance SP.
    Recomendado
  61. Jul 21, 2016
    10
    This game is funny and the graphics are amazing! The gameplay is also too! I just love every second of it and this game just never gets old and I just keep playing it. PLAY IT NOW! D:
  62. Jul 23, 2016
    10
    This is the first game of the original Mario & Luigi Trilogy. For me, all of them were perfect. But some users try to compare it to Paper Mario, even tough this series are a sequel for the original Mario RPG game for SNES, that's appreciable due to its combat system and the original story. This game simply started the trilogy the best it could.
  63. Aug 17, 2013
    0
    Very clever, fun, and addictive gameplay. An absolute gem of a game that represents the best the GBA has to offer. Some environments can be a bit dull at times, especially as you near the end of an area. The slight monotony does almost nothing to negatively impact the extremely fun gameplay, as well as the rock solid story that keeps you on your toes throughout the entirety, and one of theVery clever, fun, and addictive gameplay. An absolute gem of a game that represents the best the GBA has to offer. Some environments can be a bit dull at times, especially as you near the end of an area. The slight monotony does almost nothing to negatively impact the extremely fun gameplay, as well as the rock solid story that keeps you on your toes throughout the entirety, and one of the most fun and intense endings that I've personally ever seen in gaming. It's mid 2013, and this game is still solid as a rock and most certainly worth picking up used or finding online. I assure you you won't regret it. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
#3 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    93
    9 / 10 / 9 / 9 - 37 platinum [Vol 780]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  3. 90
    Things never slack off either due to the brilliant storyline and characters, whilst the tricky combat and devious puzzles keep attention fixated.