Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Game Boy Advance

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to theAn evil witch has replaced Princess Peach's fair speech with explosives! Mario and Luigi must once again come to her rescue, but this time they employ the help of Bowser, their sworn enemy. Mario and Luigi must learn new moves and combine powers to fight off enemies and move closer to the witch's castle. Guide this unlikely bunch through an abundance of minigames such as Border Jump and Mystery Carts. Combine the powers of Mario and Luigi to pull off special tag-team moves. Immerse yourself in this bright, cartoonish, and humorous world, complete with hit music featured in previous Mario games. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. AceGamez
    100
    Superstar Saga is the perfect mix of turn-based combat, adventuring and platforming all in one.
  2. What will keep you playing through all that time is not just all the neat moves or the excellent graphics but the well-crafted and humorous story.
  3. A rarity in the gaming world; a game that brings a smile to your face by not taking itself seriously, and at the same time keep you on your toes gameplay-wise.
  4. A real surprise - if you liked "Paper Mario" on N64 you'll love this. It's funny, enjoyable and capable of eating up hours on end. [GamesMaster]
  5. GMR Magazine
    90
    One of those games you cherish playing - and avoid completing because you just don't want it to end. [Jan 2003, p.93]
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    88
    Everything your typical RPG is not - fast-paced, action-oriented, colorful and lighthearted - yet it's the best game the genre has seen on the GBA. [Jan 2004, p.162]
  7. 80
    On the whole, Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga's got a solid Zelda vibe: it's polished, it flows nicely without being too restrictive, and it offers a distinct style of gameplay, all presented with a lot of charm and a laidback sense of humor that doesn't try too hard.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 1 out of 68
  1. Lam
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of This game is fun, exciting, easy to play, and everything that you know and learn from a mario game. The game really shows the true power of the game boy advance taking advantage of its graphic. Leave it to Nintendo to deliver this year's most fun-fill pack of advanture. Go out and buy this one, you'll be sure to love it. Expand
  2. ArmadilloBuddha
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought Puts all others to SHAME! The hordes of stale RPG's would do well to learn from this game. This is why I bought a GBA, just as I bought a GameCube for Metroid Prime. Fans of the original Mario RPG WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It takes SMRPG's battle methods and improves on them, making them much more interactive and FUN! The game's not out yet, so I'm kind of busting myself out here... oh well. =) Even if you hate RPG's, buy this game anyways. I can't say enough good things about it. I'll be pissed if this gets anything under a 95, because it's better than THPS2 and maybe even Zelda. (mainly because Zelda was just a SNES port with a multiplayer game I had no use for, and this is an entirely new game...) I never played Paper Mario, but I'd like to hear from the people who did, and how this compares to it. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Incredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapableIncredible! Absolutely incredible! While it took me almost 5 years to beat because i got the game at a very young age in which i was incapable on comprehending more than half of the English language, that doesn't matter because even after pulling through it was an incredible experience. Did i mention it was incredible? This game is incredible. Expand
  4. PombartheLuigifan
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Best Mario game since Super Mario RPG on SNES!
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Nintneod have truly outdone themselves int he RPG world. Not only are they able to diversify Mario into the realm of turn based gameplay, theyNintneod have truly outdone themselves int he RPG world. Not only are they able to diversify Mario into the realm of turn based gameplay, they manage to make them stand among the best RPG's of this generation. Mario and Luigi Superstar Saga is one of those unforgettable experiences. The game is easy to play, but difficult to complete 100%. The game still provides a decent challenge to newcomers though and you can still find yourself in a tight snitch here and there. The story is definitely something to behold and will keep you smiling the whole way through. Mario and Luigi's gameplay system is also pitch perfect. Each with there own unique abilities, the two brothers only way to stay alive is to not get seperated and work together. This craetes some very interesting sections and situations in the game and the brothers can only use their full power when performing team attacks and using these moves successfully will be the deciding factor a fight. The characters are new and fresh, with some returning roles, and the game is just simply memorable as heck. Truly a worthy gem on the game boy advance adn one of my favorite games ever! Check this game out and you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  6. May 31, 2016
    10
    Excelente juego.
    Me encanto.
    Este juego me hizo pasar grandes momentos enganchandome a mas no poder en mi infancia cuando tenia mi gameboy
    Excelente juego.
    Me encanto.
    Este juego me hizo pasar grandes momentos enganchandome a mas no poder en mi infancia cuando tenia mi gameboy advance SP.
    Recomendado
    Expand
  7. JeffF.
    Jan 26, 2004
    2
    This game is dull, boring, and nowhere near as good as everone claims. I had it for a week then sold it on e-bay.

See all 68 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
#5 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003