• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 3, 2004
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 11 out of 25
  1. If Mega Man Battle Chip Challenge is not the most evilly addictive game I've played in years, I don't know what is. I just got up from a playing session almost five hours long and all I want to do is go back and play some more.
  2. A great game that won't disappoint Mega Man fans with its engaging quest and fun combat. The game manages to offer an alternative experience to the traditional Battle Network games.
  3. It may take a couple of hours to get into, but once there the game has a very addictive system. If you have a taste for strategy, give it a shot and see if you like it.
  4. Battle Chip Challenge plays a lot like an electronic gambling machine; hardly interactive but fun all the same.
  5. The constant optimism of the characters, the bright and breezy sounds and sights and the constant urge to retry a battle over and over with different chips makes it one to come back to many times.
  6. 70
    With 194 availalable chips to acquire, three modes of play (including a Game Link versus mode), and nine classes of compeittion, Mega Man Battle Chip Challenge is deep in gameplay, and it's a game truly worthy of the Mega Man name. [Feb 2004, p.94]
  7. There's less action but more strategy. It's a nice change of format and one that is entirely addicting.
  8. The rules are dense and battles require very little player participation but the process of accumulating chips and designing decks is tons of fun. [Apr 2004, p.122]
  9. The mild strategy elements and simple gameplay involved could appeal to younger players, but not to anyone who actually enjoys controlling events onscreen. [Mar 2004, p.114]
  10. 60
    As ridiculous as it sounds, with a little more money and thought put into how the player might react to not actually playing the game, this could've been something worthwhile.
  11. Unfortunately, the actual battles aren't that great; they're a tedious exercise in repeatedly pressing the A button to advance dialog boxes. [March 2004, p.130]
  12. It's hard to imagine Battle Chip Challenge appealing to anyone but the tiny, dedicated group of MMBN link battlers to whom it's a love letter. [Summer 2004, p.55]
  13. 55
    It's hard to imagine Battle Chip Challenge appealing to anyone but the tiny, dedicated group of MMBN link battlers to whom it's a love letter.
  14. A dull title with next to no actual gameplay to be found...Most people are going to fall asleep playing this game.
  15. Mega Man Battle Chip Challenge is better at playing itself instead of letting you play it, and when that happens in a video game, the entire point got lost somewhere along the way.
  16. I suppose MMBCC pulls off the light strategy it's attempting well enough, but I'm afraid that doesn't make it any more fun to play. [Jan 2004, p.76]
  17. 40
    Yes, Battle Chip Challenge requires some strategy to create a deck that'll kick other opponents' butts, but the "battles" themselves are stripped of interactivity.
  18. It's a repetitive title that requires little strategy on the part of the player, other than planning when to take the caffeine pills to stay awake through the next "battle".
  19. 35
    Referring to Mega Man Battle Chip Challenge as a fun and exciting game is about as accurate as calling Ben Affleck and Jennifer Lopez's Gigli the "movie of the year." In terms of Mega Man titles over the years, this one is easily the worst.
  20. The problem simply lies with a decent concept that had no gameplay to it.
  21. A title that pretty much plays itself. The game's simplistic spectator battle system doesn't warrant a separate game and most players won't want to log in.
  22. Without doubt the worst Mega Man game ever created. It lacks fun, lacks skill and it lacks substance, and will have you hooked for all of 10 minutes.
  23. An affront to Mega Man fans, card-battle enthusiasts, and gamers everywhere. [June 2004, p.83]
  24. 16
    There is so much I could say about this game that decorum prohibits that it's almost frightening. Sam Kinnison and George Carlin, if they asked me about this game, would be shocked by how much cursing would be involved in my description.
  25. Place Battle Chips into your Deck. Hit "A" 'til the battle is done. The end.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. May 28, 2012
    7
    Game was decent.
  2. NathanH.
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb couldn't stop playing it.
  3. ZachB.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    Awesome.