• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 24, 2003
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's unlike anything I’ve ever played.
  2. 91
    If you can get past the fact that you've played this twice before, you'll love it. [June 2003, p.45]
  3. It has a very good RPG system for those who like that kind of thing, but it also has that twitch reflex element that I loved so much about the other sidescrolling Megaman games.
  4. If you've never navigated a Battle Network before, the third installment in the sharp collect-and-battle series is a great place to start.
  5. 85
    The best Battle Network yet.
  6. The conspiracy plotline is great, and the game has a good mix of serious and light-hearted moments. It can be quite engaging at times, and it’s easy to find yourself playing just to find out what happens next.
  7. If "Battle Network 2" was a tasty burrito, Battle Network 3 is a tasty burrito stuffed inside a larger, tastier burrito. [June 2003, p.79]
  8. Bereft of any originality, BN 3 plays almost exactly like its predecessors. [June 2003, p.120]
  9. If this is your typeof game, be sure to pick it up. It deepens as you progress, always keeping players wanting more. [Fall 2003, p.48]
  10. 79
    But the problem: it's the same RPG game design as the previous two games in the series.
  11. If you can get past the deja vu, you'll most likely have a great time with BN3. Let's just hope the next one offers something new. [June 2003, p.133]
  12. The story is great, the character development is great, but the gameplay elements can get a little repetitive. MMBN3 is also the most difficult of the Network games.
  13. Complex, but fun. [July 2003, p.147]
  14. Almost everything about MMBN3 is so similar to previous games in the series, it's hard to tell that you're playing a new game. [May 2003, p.60]
  15. 60
    If you're not a Mega Maniac, there's no point in bothering with this game. [June 2003, p.96]
  16. If you’ve already played the first two games, there’s not much point in playing this one.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Allen
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    This is the damn best Mega Man game I've ever played.
  2. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It brings story telling to a level we have never seen before. It has outstanding Rpg elementsThis is my favorite game of all time. It brings story telling to a level we have never seen before. It has outstanding Rpg elements interesting characters. Its very lengthy and has more than enough post game content. Any gamer owes it to themselves to pick this title up Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    8
    The Mega Man series has run deep into all of our hearts. The Battle Network series is no different as it plays unlike other Mega Man games onThe Mega Man series has run deep into all of our hearts. The Battle Network series is no different as it plays unlike other Mega Man games on a grid system. This game has not too shabby graphics, is tons of fun and has a decent soundtrack. The only problem with this game is the side missions and all of the backtracking. A lot of the mission you go on don't really have too much to do with the actual story. The BEST part about this game is the VERY competitive and amazing multiplayer. The grid system makes for really fun battles with your friends via link cable and all of the variety in styles and different types of chips you can use makes this game awesome. Full Review »