• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 24, 2003
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It brings story telling to a level we have never seen before. It has outstanding Rpg elements interesting characters. Its very lengthy and has more than enough post game content. Any gamer owes it to themselves to pick this title up
  2. Aug 2, 2014
    8
    The Mega Man series has run deep into all of our hearts. The Battle Network series is no different as it plays unlike other Mega Man games on a grid system. This game has not too shabby graphics, is tons of fun and has a decent soundtrack. The only problem with this game is the side missions and all of the backtracking. A lot of the mission you go on don't really have too much to do with the actual story. The BEST part about this game is the VERY competitive and amazing multiplayer. The grid system makes for really fun battles with your friends via link cable and all of the variety in styles and different types of chips you can use makes this game awesome. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    In my own opinion, the best game in the megaman battle network franchise, this is an amazing rpg, that has a very well built and in depth battle system, awesome gameplay, good music, good graphics, super fun gameplay, and a great story line. i have very fond memories of this game (blue version) and i cant reccomend this game to rpg or megaman fans alike.
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    I have played ALOT of games in my day, but Battle Network 3 is, and will likely forever remain, my favorite handheld game of all time. I cannot count the amount of times I have replayed this 20+ hour game from start to finish. The main story is fantastic and there is tons of other things to do as well. The fantastic hybrid real-time/ strategy battle system draws you in and the story keeps you there. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Quite simply one of the greatest handheld games ever. The story is great, the battle system is spectacularly crafted, and collecting has never been more fun/ challenging! This game has risen to the handheld RPG standard that Pokemon has set, and adds in very enjoyable and complex innovations that will have you collecting battle chips for months to come.
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Back in the day this was nearly tied with Battle Network 2 as my favorite game of all time! With a rich storyline, lots to discover, and many new innovational systems such as the Navi Customizer, this installment of the BN series certainly didn't wear out the series' welcome. The only downside in my opinion is that you can only keep one style and cannot trade them, whereas in BN2 both of those things were possible. Instead we are granted with the ability to trade navicust programs. Overall, this is a great game. I would be writing this review on the blue version, but for some reason it's not on Metacritic. The Blue version is slightly superior due to extra content such as the Mr. Famous battle and Bowlman.EXE in favor of Mistman.EXE. Expand
  7. May 27, 2012
    10
    I loved this game! Prolly the best game in the series! I put so much hours into this game! Completed almost everything!
  8. May 21, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent game.
    Excellent Music and memorable music. This game will have you glued to the screen of your GBA for hours upon hours. With a great plot that's well thought out and hours of extra content for hardcore players who love the game, this game is my favorite Megaman game. The extra content includes a whole challenging area to explore (I got my ass kicked) and piles of
    power-ups and battle chips to collect. The gameplay mechanics of the Battle network series requires strategy and has heavy replay value because of the various styles you can play, eg Fire Megaman. Expand
  9. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    This is the one they got right. The Mega Man Battle Network games were unbelievable because of this one. Everyone who plays this game will love it. The story is loosely connected to the previous games and you do not need to play them to play this installment. The original Battle Network was unrefined and needed work, but the structure of the game we love is there. Battle Network 2 was arguably one of the best of the Battle Network series because it had refined and fixed what the first installment missed. Battle Network 3 was probably the best in the entire series of Battle Network games because it improved on Battle Network 2 and even had a great multiplayer aspect. The Navi Customizer and different "styles" one could create was amazing and allowed for a lot of experimentation and really made you feel like you were customizing your navi! This game also had challenges that were SUPER difficult and deep like collecting the 7 stars for your title screen. In my opinion, this was the best out of every Battle Network game and you MUST play this. Expand
  10. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    Fuse Mega man with the RPG elements with a strong solid story, nice random battles and there you have a most own Mega Man game. It's a nice polished and ( it was) a new genre for the cool hero.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. If "Battle Network 2" was a tasty burrito, Battle Network 3 is a tasty burrito stuffed inside a larger, tastier burrito. [June 2003, p.79]
  2. It's unlike anything I’ve ever played.
  3. It has a very good RPG system for those who like that kind of thing, but it also has that twitch reflex element that I loved so much about the other sidescrolling Megaman games.