• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2004
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. 70
    It's difficult to dismiss the overlying cuteness and simple-but-solid gameplay, which continues to put the series on the top tier of portable RPGs.
  2. Cheat Code Central
    50
    At this point, Mega Man doesn't even have the credibility of Yu-Gi-Oh, in my opinion. If you can't resist purchasing one of these games, do everything in your power to resist buying both of them.
  3. 60
    The visuals are on par with previous entries in the series. They're colorful and cartoon-like, with non-threatening enemies and friendly characters.
  4. The RPG-style fights are uninspiring, and the storyline is simplistic. Still, the graphics are bright and inviting, with menus that are easily navigable. [June 2004, p.138]
  5. GamePro
    50
    Fans of the Battle Network series will delight in the further adventures of Lan and Mega Man, but everyone else is warned to stay clear. [Aug 2004, p.78]
  6. Put simply, the games are beginning to wear thin. If you’d don’t have any of the previous editions of Mega Man Battle Network, this is a good one to buy and enjoy. For returning players, hold off purchasing and demand that Capcom do a little bit more next time.
  7. The story is lifeless, and the circa-2001 graphics and audio just don't cut it anymore.
  8. 65
    As solid as the existing game design still is on the GBA, I'm ready for something fresh.
  9. Thanks to the fun battle system, BN4 comes up as a good game, but if not for the marred music and questionable story, BN4 could have been so much better.
  10. Nintendo Power
    74
    A space-themed central story gives the game greater scope than its predecessors. [Aug 2004, p.123]
  11. Play Magazine
    67
    This iteration still hasn't fixed the one problem that's been plaguing the series since its inception: snooze-inducing level design. Another decent entry in the series, but nothing more. [June 2004, p.73]
  12. A great Megaman introduction for beginners. But owners of its forerunners will struggle to find enough new features to warrant upgrading.

Awards & Rankings

44
13
#13 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Jul 21, 2016
    8
    I prefer this one over the other version but not by much the game doesn't change much but it is good. The series is starting to get stall. SoI prefer this one over the other version but not by much the game doesn't change much but it is good. The series is starting to get stall. So hope for the best! Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    2
    Sorry but this game is AWFUL!!! I had such high hopes back in the day when I played these on GBA but alas I was disappointed. No storyline,Sorry but this game is AWFUL!!! I had such high hopes back in the day when I played these on GBA but alas I was disappointed. No storyline, you have to complete the game three times, craptastic chibi graphics, and childish crisis scenarios. Capcom truly trolled us with this release. If you want to play Battle Network the way it was meant to be played play 2 or 3....hell even 1 was DECENT. This game is awful. Full Review »
  3. TroyV.
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    I like this game. It was kind of hard but I solved all of it. It was kind of easy too. That is why I rated it good. That is all, see you next fall.