• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 29, 2004
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. You'll wander the world in typical RPG fashion, but the battle system is truly unique and fun.
  2. The formula is still the same old formula, luckily for Capcom it still remains fun. [JPN Import]
  3. If there's one complaint, it's the visuals. They're not bad, just more or less the same visuals we've seen since part one. [Aug 2004, p.89]
  4. While Mega Man Battle Network 4 shares most, if not all, of its play mechanics with its three predecessors, it still offers some new aspects and, above all else, its still very fun.
  5. The combat is just as good as ever, even if the plot has been mucked up a bit. It’s not like these games ever had the best plots to begin with anyway.
  6. The depth is simply amazing, it seemed like there was something to learn every time I played it.
  7. 75
    Even with the new systems, the core mechanics are losing their edge and the tournament structured story isn't helping things, either.
  8. Fans of the previous games will love it, as it's really a continuation of the same game play, and has all of the same characters. It's got some solid mechanics, it can be quite a bit of fun, but it's very linear, and it can get fairly tedious once you've made a little headway into it.
  9. MMBN4 has slicker interfaces and improved visuals.
  10. A space-themed central story gives the game greater scope than its predecessors. [Aug 2004, p.123]
  11. The RPG-style fights are uninspiring, and the storyline is simplistic. Still, the graphics are bright and inviting, with menus that are easily navigable. [June 2004, p.138]
  12. 70
    It's difficult to dismiss the overlying cuteness and simple-but-solid gameplay, which continues to put the series on the top tier of portable RPGs.
  13. The story is lifeless, and the circa-2001 graphics and audio just don't cut it anymore.
  14. This iteration still hasn't fixed the one problem that's been plaguing the series since its inception: snooze-inducing level design. Another decent entry in the series, but nothing more. [June 2004, p.73]
  15. A great Megaman introduction for beginners. But owners of its forerunners will struggle to find enough new features to warrant upgrading.
  16. 50
    Fans of the Battle Network series will delight in the further adventures of Lan and Mega Man, but everyone else is warned to stay clear. [Aug 2004, p.78]
  17. I hate to see a series like Mega Man degenerate into some kind of Pokemon rip-off. At this point, Mega Man doesn't even have the credibility of Yu-Gi-Oh, in my opinion.
  18. Red Sun isn't as polished as the rest of the series. The game requires a few too many needless quests to get the meat and potatoes : the Net Battles.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 27, 2012
    7
    This one was the weakest in the series, but I was addicted to it anyways since im a huge fan of the series..
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    This game gets points just for being a Battle Network game but this is easily the weakest of the series. If you have never played a BattleThis game gets points just for being a Battle Network game but this is easily the weakest of the series. If you have never played a Battle Network game, CHANGE THAT! Personally, I would recommend Battle Network 3 or 6 to change your dilemma. Battle Network 4 was the first attempt at using "souls" and did away with the "styles" of the previous game. The series did turn out to continue using "souls" and eventually found out how to do it correctly. Battle Network 4 was weak in the story department and although having fun gameplay, the game forces you to grind the story 3 or 4 times in order to 100% the game and that gets tedious after the first play-through. I can see how users would rate this game highly if it was their first exposure to the Battle Network games because the Battle Network games are totally unlike other games and they are incredible amounts of fun. Please play Battle Network 3, 6, 5, or 2 before you play this one. ([Best Battle Network] 3, 6, 2/5, 1, 4 [Worst Battle Network]) My preference of best Battle Network to worst Battle Network games Full Review »
  3. StephenJ.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    I really love this game every day i go home and play it. I really wish that megaman X won't be more popular then the other games.