Metroid: Zero Mission Game Boy Advance
Metroid: Zero Mission Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: She's battled baddies on nearly every Nintendo system, and now, Samus Aran returns to her roots. Metroid: Zero Mission relives the story that started it all--revealing for the first time full details of her meeting with the Metroids. The plotline will be familiar to longtime fans of the Metroid series, but the challenges are new, the power-ups are plentiful, and the graphics and sound are supercharged. Plus, if you thought that the original Metroid had a surprise ending, wait until you get past the Mother Brain in Metroid: Zero Mission. A new twist provides a deeper adventure than ever before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    Rarely does a game (much less a GBA one) keep the player so constantly surprised. [Mar 2004, p.75]
  2. A masterpiece...This is the epitome of Metroid gameplay. The designers carefully mix all the best elements from the other games and layer them on top of the already brilliant level design and concepts of the original Metroid.
  3. A great bit of gaming that should be enjoyed instead of rushed so make sure you explore the whole game because it will all be over too soon. I guess all wonderful things come in small packages.
  4. The original Metroid is also an unlockable bonus, which provides a great demonstration of how far video games have come in just under two decades.
  5. Besides the slight easiness and linearity of the main game, there isn't much to complain about. There is an added bonus to this game in that the game actually has further story after you escape from Zebes, and the gameplay goes in a direction never explored in the Metroid series.
  6. Buy--don't rent this game as it is one to keep in your library and show off to future generations.
  7. Although Zero Mission's overwhelming quality wins out in the end, the first play reveals a game that's just too slick for its own good, toeing the fine line between a fun, streamlined experience and a hollow, transient one.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece of 2D gaming. For me, this is the best Metroid game in existance. The balance and refinement of the gameplay is at it's zenith for the series. It just cannot be improved upon. The difficulty, the sense of exploration with just the right amount of guidence, the controls, the graphics.... Perfect! Collapse
  2. Tingleiscool
    Jul 11, 2004
    10
    This game is like crack. You will not want to put it down. If you haven't played the original, it's a must buy.
  3. Boon
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing.
  4. ChrisC.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    There comes a time in every gamer's life when you think that there won't ever be a game to be perfect. Then, a game like this comes around. I am amazed to say that I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this game. It's perfect. Simply perfect. Nowadays, I say that about a few more games, but this game was the first to start it off. Expand
  5. RaphaelR.
    Feb 22, 2004
    9
    This game is cool and itz good but i still think i like metroid fusion better but it is pretty good althought it is short i still recommend you to buy it cuse it is worth it. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Metroid: Zero Mission is the 2nd Metroid game on the GBA and a remake of the original Metroid on the NES with enhanced features and more modern controls.

    Story:
    The story follows a bounty hunter called Samus Aran on her journey to the space pirate base on Zebes, Samus is trying to destroy the stolen Metroids, as her mission takes her deeper into the base she faces tougher enemies and various bosses who now became legendary in the gaming community...

    There's also new bonus content after finishing the main story, in which you get shot down and captured trying to escape planet Zebes, this has you sneaking trough the pirates ship looking for your Power Suit and facing off against a familiar foe...

    Gameplay:
    The game takes place in a large open world divided by doors and elevators, you are given a clue on your map on where you have to go next, usually to get there you'll need to find an appropriate power-up to continue towards your destination.

    You control Samus Aran, who can shoot, jump and roll into a ball, later on you'll upgrade your Power Suit and your weaponry gaining new abilities and skills which you'll need to progress into new area's, the game involves a lot of backtracking as each time you gain a new upgrade, you might be able to find new areas in places where you've already been, containing even more upgrades. You should always check your surroundings aswell as there are dozens of secret places to discover, usually containing more goodies.

    Controls:
    The controls are very tight and responsive, you can shoot (later hold the shoot button for a powered up version), Jump or go into a ball by pressing down twice, you can also shoot diagonally now by holding the L-trigger which should make things easier then on NES and activate special weapons by holding the R-trigger.

    Graphics:
    The graphics where spot on for me, it's all in 2D, but everything is bright and colorful and the new special effects look nice. The game is divided into area's which each has their own distinct style, the enemies grow tougher aswell as the game progresses and it shows in their design.

    Music:
    The music is superb, there's not track I dislike, they are excellent remakes (or enhanced versions) of the originals and stay very true to them, the song played in the background usually suits the area you are in pretty wel.

    Positives:
    + Gameplay is amazing!
    + Backtracking, looking for secrets, always something new to discover!
    + The music is absolutely amazing and true to the original.
    + The art style suits the game well.
    + New Content!

    Negatives:
    - It is quite short.
    - Hardly any explanation when a new power is gained. (While not needed for me and many others, this might be offsetting for inexperienced or new players)

    Conclusion:
    Metroid: Zero Mission is a perfectly enhanced remake of the original Metroid and any fan should have played this, the gameplay is solid, the music is epic and the Metroid universe is as awesome as ever...
    Expand
  7. BIgGUy
    Mar 19, 2004
    6
    Excellent game. Great graphics, game play and sound, but it took me 5 hours to finish. I like my games a wee bit longer but buy this one anyway. Its pretty cool. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews