Metroid: Zero Mission Game Boy Advance
Metroid: Zero Mission Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: She's battled baddies on nearly every Nintendo system, and now, Samus Aran returns to her roots. Metroid: Zero Mission relives the story that started it all--revealing for the first time full details of her meeting with the Metroids. The plotline will be familiar to longtime fans of the Metroid series, but the challenges are new, the power-ups are plentiful, and the graphics and sound are supercharged. Plus, if you thought that the original Metroid had a surprise ending, wait until you get past the Mother Brain in Metroid: Zero Mission. A new twist provides a deeper adventure than ever before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    Rarely does a game (much less a GBA one) keep the player so constantly surprised. [Mar 2004, p.75]
  2. A masterpiece...This is the epitome of Metroid gameplay. The designers carefully mix all the best elements from the other games and layer them on top of the already brilliant level design and concepts of the original Metroid.
  3. A great bit of gaming that should be enjoyed instead of rushed so make sure you explore the whole game because it will all be over too soon. I guess all wonderful things come in small packages.
  4. The original Metroid is also an unlockable bonus, which provides a great demonstration of how far video games have come in just under two decades.
  5. Besides the slight easiness and linearity of the main game, there isn't much to complain about. There is an added bonus to this game in that the game actually has further story after you escape from Zebes, and the gameplay goes in a direction never explored in the Metroid series.
  6. Buy--don't rent this game as it is one to keep in your library and show off to future generations.
  7. Although Zero Mission's overwhelming quality wins out in the end, the first play reveals a game that's just too slick for its own good, toeing the fine line between a fun, streamlined experience and a hollow, transient one.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece of 2D gaming. For me, this is the best Metroid game in existance. The balance and refinement of the gameplay is at it's zenith for the series. It just cannot be improved upon. The difficulty, the sense of exploration with just the right amount of guidence, the controls, the graphics.... Perfect! Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, the design, the battles, the power-ups, the music, and the amount of fun you have playing this game earn Metroid Zero Mission a solid 10. Collapse
  3. May 22, 2013
    10
    The graphics of Metroid: Zero Mission stands on its own and reminds me of the graphics of the Super Metroid. Everything in the game from the controls to the music are classic. It's a must have for Game Boy advance owners who are Metroid fans. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Metroid Zero Mission is a game that truly shows how gaming has evolved. The game is a remake of the original Metroid with all of the added features of today's hardware. This game changed everything that could be changed while still maintaing the fundamentals of the original. The story is the same as the original, Samus Aran must go to planet Zebes to defeat the Mother Brain. Story doesn't play that huge of a role in this game, or the whole series for that matter. The gameplay is the same as the original, explore the various areas of Zebes to find power ups to allow you to access the rest of the planet. However, Zero Mission adds more features that the original could not have. Everything from new power ups such as the speed booster, to the simple ability to shoot diagonally. The most significant change is the fact that power ups now stack up. For example, the wave beam and the ice beam can now be used at the same time. However the game has also changed the graphics, the boss battles and there is now a whole new area to explore. The graphics and soundtrack are updated to make use of modern hardware. The boss battles between Kraid, Ridley, and Mother Brain are much more difficult, there are also new bosses. The new area is accessible after you have destroyed the Mother Brain. In this area, Samus has lost her power suit for most of the area and must use stealth to sneak past enemies. As a whole, this game is an extreme improvement of the original and it only has one fault, it's difficulty. Zero Mission is one of, if not the easiest Metroid game. However, this game is also the most accessible Metroid game to newcomers and I can easily recommend this game to people who want to start their Metroid adventure. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    The best handheld Metroid game and is pretty much the perfect version of the original Metroid. The visuals are great, the soundtrack is memorable and the gameplay has been refined from Super Metroid and that is never a bad thing. One of the best handheld platformers out there and i do find it better than Metroid Fusion. A flaw is that if you have played the original Metroid, this game will not have nearly the same impact and you can pretty much get the secrets and breeze through the whole game no problem. I highly recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Metroid: Zero Mission is the 2nd Metroid game on the GBA and a remake of the original Metroid on the NES with enhanced features and more modern controls.

    Story:
    The story follows a bounty hunter called Samus Aran on her journey to the space pirate base on Zebes, Samus is trying to destroy the stolen Metroids, as her mission takes her deeper into the base she faces tougher enemies and various bosses who now became legendary in the gaming community...

    There's also new bonus content after finishing the main story, in which you get shot down and captured trying to escape planet Zebes, this has you sneaking trough the pirates ship looking for your Power Suit and facing off against a familiar foe...

    Gameplay:
    The game takes place in a large open world divided by doors and elevators, you are given a clue on your map on where you have to go next, usually to get there you'll need to find an appropriate power-up to continue towards your destination.

    You control Samus Aran, who can shoot, jump and roll into a ball, later on you'll upgrade your Power Suit and your weaponry gaining new abilities and skills which you'll need to progress into new area's, the game involves a lot of backtracking as each time you gain a new upgrade, you might be able to find new areas in places where you've already been, containing even more upgrades. You should always check your surroundings aswell as there are dozens of secret places to discover, usually containing more goodies.

    Controls:
    The controls are very tight and responsive, you can shoot (later hold the shoot button for a powered up version), Jump or go into a ball by pressing down twice, you can also shoot diagonally now by holding the L-trigger which should make things easier then on NES and activate special weapons by holding the R-trigger.

    Graphics:
    The graphics where spot on for me, it's all in 2D, but everything is bright and colorful and the new special effects look nice. The game is divided into area's which each has their own distinct style, the enemies grow tougher aswell as the game progresses and it shows in their design.

    Music:
    The music is superb, there's not track I dislike, they are excellent remakes (or enhanced versions) of the originals and stay very true to them, the song played in the background usually suits the area you are in pretty wel.

    Positives:
    + Gameplay is amazing!
    + Backtracking, looking for secrets, always something new to discover!
    + The music is absolutely amazing and true to the original.
    + The art style suits the game well.
    + New Content!

    Negatives:
    - It is quite short.
    - Hardly any explanation when a new power is gained. (While not needed for me and many others, this might be offsetting for inexperienced or new players)

    Conclusion:
    Metroid: Zero Mission is a perfectly enhanced remake of the original Metroid and any fan should have played this, the gameplay is solid, the music is epic and the Metroid universe is as awesome as ever...
    Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    I've owned this game for years having bought it because it received such good reviews even though i've never been a big metroid fan (don't know why it's just never really appealed to me). I've never really found the impetus to stick with it though, I'd play for 10 minutes and just lose interest. The other day I was leafing through my GBA games and decided to give it one more go. OH MY GOD I have been missing out for Sooooo long. This game is excellent. It really grew on me. It's combination of 2D platforming and puzzling is up there with the best of them. My only complaint having played it for 4 hours is that I've completed it. I wish it were longer but i am going to play it again on a harder level and try and find all the items so there is replay value. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews