Metroid: Zero Mission Game Boy Advance

Metroid: Zero Mission Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: She's battled baddies on nearly every Nintendo system, and now, Samus Aran returns to her roots. Metroid: Zero Mission relives the story that started it all--revealing for the first time full details of her meeting with the Metroids. The plotline will be familiar to longtime fans of theShe's battled baddies on nearly every Nintendo system, and now, Samus Aran returns to her roots. Metroid: Zero Mission relives the story that started it all--revealing for the first time full details of her meeting with the Metroids. The plotline will be familiar to longtime fans of the Metroid series, but the challenges are new, the power-ups are plentiful, and the graphics and sound are supercharged. Plus, if you thought that the original Metroid had a surprise ending, wait until you get past the Mother Brain in Metroid: Zero Mission. A new twist provides a deeper adventure than ever before. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    Rarely does a game (much less a GBA one) keep the player so constantly surprised. [Mar 2004, p.75]
  2. A masterpiece...This is the epitome of Metroid gameplay. The designers carefully mix all the best elements from the other games and layer them on top of the already brilliant level design and concepts of the original Metroid.
  3. A great bit of gaming that should be enjoyed instead of rushed so make sure you explore the whole game because it will all be over too soon. I guess all wonderful things come in small packages.
  4. 90
    The original Metroid is also an unlockable bonus, which provides a great demonstration of how far video games have come in just under two decades.
  5. Besides the slight easiness and linearity of the main game, there isn't much to complain about. There is an added bonus to this game in that the game actually has further story after you escape from Zebes, and the gameplay goes in a direction never explored in the Metroid series.
  6. Buy--don't rent this game as it is one to keep in your library and show off to future generations.
  7. Although Zero Mission's overwhelming quality wins out in the end, the first play reveals a game that's just too slick for its own good, toeing the fine line between a fun, streamlined experience and a hollow, transient one.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece of 2D gaming. For me, this is the best Metroid game in existance. The balance and refinement of the gameplay is at it'sA true masterpiece of 2D gaming. For me, this is the best Metroid game in existance. The balance and refinement of the gameplay is at it's zenith for the series. It just cannot be improved upon. The difficulty, the sense of exploration with just the right amount of guidence, the controls, the graphics.... Perfect! Expand
  2. MattB.
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    This game is So COOL!!!! It's got alot of diffrent settings like the basics such as easy and normal, but if u beat it then You can play This game is So COOL!!!! It's got alot of diffrent settings like the basics such as easy and normal, but if u beat it then You can play it on HARD! youve gotta beat the game on normal about 3 times before even trying to play hard! (you can alsoo get a time trial after u beat the game in that record---it will start you a new game but its a little diffrent---press up, left, right, down and then play it!) If you like any metriod game you will love this one! i also recommed fusion too! Expand
  3. EH
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    Anyone who rates this game less than 10 doesn't know METROID.
  4. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    The best handheld Metroid game and is pretty much the perfect version of the original Metroid. The visuals are great, the soundtrack isThe best handheld Metroid game and is pretty much the perfect version of the original Metroid. The visuals are great, the soundtrack is memorable and the gameplay has been refined from Super Metroid and that is never a bad thing. One of the best handheld platformers out there and i do find it better than Metroid Fusion. A flaw is that if you have played the original Metroid, this game will not have nearly the same impact and you can pretty much get the secrets and breeze through the whole game no problem. I highly recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  5. yukonshinobi
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    This game was amazing although I did not like the weak plot line. I also found that Samus ran too fast and her legs seemed to move faster This game was amazing although I did not like the weak plot line. I also found that Samus ran too fast and her legs seemed to move faster than her actualy motion. And has nay one noticed that you can scale flat walls before you get the space jump, you can jump off a wall and yurn back right after, in Fusion in would make you hit just under the apex of your jump before you could change directions, really wierd glitch. I also hated the uselessness of power bombs in this game, for the 1st time through when you just wanna beat the final boss you only really need like 1 or 2 power bombs. But I really liked the animation, the environments, sound, music, and how effing hard it was on hard mode, regular Ridly and Mother brain were so effing hard bottom line, aside from a few things they need to work on this game kicks and you should definitely buy it, aloso buy Fusion as well the story line and levels are better but gameplay and animation arent quite as good Id gove that a nine as well. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    My favorite 2D platformer of all time, Metroid Zero Mission is a must have for those who love the GBA. It's an updated remake of the originalMy favorite 2D platformer of all time, Metroid Zero Mission is a must have for those who love the GBA. It's an updated remake of the original with lots of content. Blowing stuff up has never been so much fun. Expand
  7. BIgGUy
    Mar 19, 2004
    6
    Excellent game. Great graphics, game play and sound, but it took me 5 hours to finish. I like my games a wee bit longer but buy this one Excellent game. Great graphics, game play and sound, but it took me 5 hours to finish. I like my games a wee bit longer but buy this one anyway. Its pretty cool. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
#1 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004