Pokemon FireRed Version Game Boy Advance
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 65
    If you've played this before in its previous incarnations and had your fill, or if the concept never really appealed to you in the first place, there's really nothing new enough here to bring you back.
  2. The new additions don't add up to more than what we call an expansion pack for a PC game.
  3. While you may feel like you're in familiar territory if you've put in many hours on any of the previous games, the series always presents new challenges and addicting gameplay along the way.
  4. I haven't had any desire to catch 'em all for damn near five years now, but this remake lured me back into the critter-collecting biz. [Nov 2004, p.153]
  5. Most of the improvements are minor and unsurprising, but taken as a whole make the new games much better and more refined experiences than the originals.
  6. Veteran trainers, on the other hand, need to ask themselves if they want more of the same… again.
  7. 60
    The graphical improvements are not terribly impressive, and the extra content is more of the same.
  8. The new bells and whistles streamline gameplay and make this title much more fun than I was expecting. [Oct 2004, p.146]
  9. 83
    Anyone else who has played the originals should just keep an opened mind that while FireRed/LeafGreen is enjoyable, you will feel a sense of old flavour and repetitiveness.
  10. To get the real joy of the game, takes time and skill to come up with thousands of different strategies to take opponents on with.
  11. The new paths you can take, as well as the free wireless adapters that open the door for new ways to communicate and play with others, really make these solid additions, especially for those who missed the Pokemon craze several years ago.
  12. I can't help but shake the feeling that Nintendo cut corners on this game – with both the engine and the storyline already made – and this drags the score down.
  13. The quality of the game remains and it's an essential purchase for those who are new to Pokemon but we can't help feeling the update is a little on the cheap side. [NGC]
  14. For those who thought splitting monsters across two carts was a bit rude originally, this is surely the ultimate swindle. For anyone else, there's a healthy slice of monster hunting to be had. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  15. Though Pokémon could probably use a few new twists after all these years, FireRed and LeafGreen are great role-playing games on their own merits.
  16. 80
    Sure, FireRed and LeafGreen are retreads, but they're stylish retreads.
  17. The interface makes the gameplay a pleasure, with its easy controls and menus. The only drawback to the gameplay is the lack of more than one save game slot, which means only one person can play each game cartridge.
  18. If you like wasting small bits of time here and there with your GBA - and especially if you're new to the series - this is still the best thing you get get on the portable. [Nov 2004, p.134]
  19. 90
    Once again, the Pokemon crew create a game that works extremely well for the handheld market. It doesn't have quite the same variety as "Ruby/Sapphire," but it's still incredibly satisfying.
  20. Even after five years, Nintendo has managed to rekindle the gameplay and addictive qualities that brought us to this game in the first place.
  21. Expecting a quick stroll down memory lane, I instead found myself renewing my long forgotten obsession with Pokémon. A must-buy for any past or present fans of Pokémon, and should definitely be considered by any RPG fan.
  22. Nintendo as of late have been the masters of repackaging their own products, and it pleases me to say that they have done well with Pokémon FireRed.
  23. 72
    If you're just a passive Pokémon fan looking for a new pickup, this isn't worth it for you. Stick with Ruby or Sapphire, and that will be plenty of Pokémon for you. Remaking a game that is only 6 years old just smacks of laziness, and Pokémon fans deserve better.
  24. The innovative connectivity features really take Pokemon to the next level of gaming and promote Pokemon community. [Oct 2004, p.123]
  25. Pokémon Leaf Green and Fire Red are better games than "Ruby" and "Sapphire." Their balance, style, and structure were the original benchmark and they remain that way.
  26. From the big things to the little things like Move Tutors, new moves, and the ability to mix and match through literally hundreds of creatures, makes creating teams an endless task. Whether you're new to the series or been there from the beginning, Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen will surely not disappoint.
  27. I'd recommend these versions to new Pokémon fans when they come out locally, due to all the in-game help. When it comes down to it though, I'd rather have a new, more inventive game than a remake. [JPN Import]
  28. 85
    Pokemon Fire Red and Pokemon Leaf Green are two magnificent games that pull off an amazing remake of two of the greatest titles in the franchise, however, I felt that there was a lot of room for improvement.
  29. 90
    FireRed and LeafGreen should appeal to those who wish to relive the original Red/Blue experience with updated graphics and conveniences.
  30. Instead of getting a Pokedex at the beginning of the game you're given an enhanced Pokemon Navigator that contains more facts and information than the Pokedex. The game also supports the new wireless link so you don't have to carry a cable to trade or battle Pokemon. [JPN Import]
  31. A complete makeover is overdue, but Pokemon remains as engrossing as ever.
  32. This game was built to appeal to both the veterans of the series and the new folks just itching to give Pokemon a try. It's a fair bet that the fans will get this game without much hesitation.
  33. The graphics here are clean, robust and more colourful than previously, while the music, though still unswervingly upbeat, is as inoffensive as ever.
  34. 89
    They are better than the original in just about every aspect of the game and are still as highly addictive as they were back in 1997.
  35. 9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 798; 30 Jan 2004]
  36. This is my first real experience with the Pokémon universe (I've been told repeatedly that the next gen versions of the game do not capture the fun of the handheld), and I must say I'm quiet impressed.
  37. Disappointingly, the presentation isn't updated as much as we'd expect. GBA owners are accustomed to better visuals, and the music remains painfully strident.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    Ladies and Gentleman, I present to you THE Pokemon. none of that Black and White gamees BS. This is what Pokemon is and holds. All though theLadies and Gentleman, I present to you THE Pokemon. none of that Black and White gamees BS. This is what Pokemon is and holds. All though the originals is what started it for me, this game brought back many memories and warmed my heart up. Its really a shame were the Pokemon franchise has now gone. Its just milked for money and no different than Call of Duty. This is a great way to relive the past with some added bonus. A Must Buy For Any Pokemon Fan. Period Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Completely a reminder of the classical catch and battle monster RPG. Everything is handled with care , also the addition to get more pokemon,Completely a reminder of the classical catch and battle monster RPG. Everything is handled with care , also the addition to get more pokemon, for the Ruby, Saphire and Emerald. Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2015
    9
    This is a really nice game, for the most part. The one monotonous thing about this game is the abundance of trainers that you have to fight inThis is a really nice game, for the most part. The one monotonous thing about this game is the abundance of trainers that you have to fight in certain areas - it gets old and takes away from the re-playability value. Still, the classic remixes, exotic/classic Pokemon, handsome graphics, and marvelous post-game make this game very enjoyable. This is a very respectable remake. Full Review »