Pokemon LeafGreen Version Game Boy Advance

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. 100
    Pokémon LeafGreen and Pokémon FireRed draw you into the mesmerizing world of strange little creatures no matter how many times you've been there before.
  2. From the big things to the little things like Move Tutors, new moves, and the ability to mix and match through literally hundreds of creatures, makes creating teams an endless task. Whether you're new to the series or been there from the beginning, Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen will surely not disappoint.
  3. While you may feel like you're in familiar territory if you've put in many hours on any of the previous games, the series always presents new challenges and addicting gameplay along the way.
  4. This game was built to appeal to both the veterans of the series and the new folks just itching to give Pokemon a try. It's a fair bet that the fans will get this game without much hesitation.
  5. 90
    Once again, the Pokemon crew create a game that works extremely well for the handheld market. It doesn't have quite the same variety as Ruby/Sapphire, but it's still incredibly satisfying.
  6. Damn these Pokémon! I was doing fine just thinking they were silly kid stuff. I now know I was wrong. Pokémon Leaf Green is a fun and addictive game that I'll want to take with me everywhere just to sneak in a few quick battles and further train my Pokémon.
  7. Nintendo Power
    90
    The innovative connectivity features really take Pokemon to the next level of gaming and promote Pokemon community. [Oct 2004, p.123]
  8. To get the real joy of the game, takes time and skill to come up with thousands of different strategies to take opponents on with.
  9. 90
    FireRed and LeafGreen should appeal to those who wish to relive the original Red/Blue experience with updated graphics and conveniences.
  10. A complete makeover is overdue, but Pokemon remains as engrossing as ever.
  11. 89
    They are better than the original in just about every aspect of the game and are still as highly addictive as they were back in 1997.
  12. Expecting a quick stroll down memory lane, I instead found myself renewing my long forgotten obsession with Pokémon. A must-buy for any past or present fans of Pokémon, and should definitely be considered by any RPG fan.
  13. Most of the improvements are minor and unsurprising, but taken as a whole make the new games much better and more refined experiences than the originals.
  14. 85
    Pokemon Fire Red and Pokemon Leaf Green are two magnificent games that pull off an amazing remake of two of the greatest titles in the franchise, however, I felt that there was a lot of room for improvement.
  15. Though Pokémon could probably use a few new twists after all these years, FireRed and LeafGreen are great role-playing games on their own merits.
  16. There's something about the simple (but unobvious) puzzles, the simple battles and the attack limitations that make it impossible to put down.
  17. Weekly Famitsu
    83
    9 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 33 gold [Vol 798; 30 Jan 2004]
  18. 83
    Anyone else who has played the originals should just keep an opened mind that while FireRed/LeafGreen is enjoyable, you will feel a sense of old flavour and repetitiveness.
  19. GMR Magazine
    80
    If you like wasting small bits of time here and there with your GBA - and especially if you're new to the series - this is still the best thing you get get on the portable. [Nov 2004, p.134]
  20. The quality of the game remains and it's an essential purchase for those who are new to Pokemon but we can't help feeling the update is a little on the cheap side. [NGC]
  21. The new bells and whistles streamline gameplay and make this title much more fun than I was expecting. [Oct 2004, p.146]
  22. 80
    Sure, FireRed and LeafGreen are retreads, but they're stylish retreads.
  23. I can't help but shake the feeling that Nintendo cut corners on this game – with both the engine and the storyline already made – and this drags the score down.
  24. Even after five years, Nintendo has managed to rekindle the gameplay and addictive qualities that brought us to this game in the first place.
  25. Nintendo as of late have been the masters of repackaging their own products, and it pleases me to say that they have done well with Pokémon LeafGreen.
  26. The graphics here are clean, robust and more colourful than previously, while the music, though still unswervingly upbeat, is as inoffensive as ever.
  27. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    77
    I haven't had any desire to catch 'em all for damn near five years now, but this remake lured me back into the critter-collecting biz. [Nov 2004, p.153]
  28. netjak
    72
    If you're just a passive Pokémon fan looking for a new pickup, this isn't worth it for you. Stick with Ruby or Sapphire, and that will be plenty of Pokémon for you. Remaking a game that is only 6 years old just smacks of laziness, and Pokémon fans deserve better.
  29. Veteran trainers, on the other hand, need to ask themselves if they want more of the same… again.
  30. For those who thought splitting monsters across two carts was a bit rude originally, this is surely the ultimate swindle. For anyone else, there's a healthy slice of monster hunting to be had. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  31. Pokémon Leaf Green and Fire Red are better games than "Ruby" and "Sapphire." Their balance, style, and structure were the original benchmark and they remain that way.
  32. NintendoWorldReport
    70
    While the graphics and interface have been jazzed up to be more pleasing to the eye and to reflect the ease of use that Ruby and Sapphire have, the basic story and premise of the games is the same as it was nine years ago. [JPN Import]
  33. 65
    If you've played this before in its previous incarnations and had your fill, or if the concept never really appealed to you in the first place, there's really nothing new enough here to bring you back.
  34. At last, I have come to terms with understanding what the heck was so great about being a Pokémon fan. With this knowledge and with this experience, I can officially say with a passion always and forever...I hate Pokémon.
  35. 60
    The graphical improvements are not terribly impressive, and the extra content is more of the same.
  36. Cheat Code Central
    50
    The new additions don't add up to more than what we call an expansion pack for a PC game.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
#2 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2004
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    My cousin gave this to me years ago and at first I thought it would be a drag but I was surprised at how good it was and I got lost forMy cousin gave this to me years ago and at first I thought it would be a drag but I was surprised at how good it was and I got lost for hundreds of hours and now years. Even though it is a remake I believe it surpasses it's counterpart on every measure, Graphics, Content and most importantly Charm. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    The greatest pokemon, if not GBA game ever made, a flawless masterpiece. Seriously it's a timeless classic, and the new features are a funThe greatest pokemon, if not GBA game ever made, a flawless masterpiece. Seriously it's a timeless classic, and the new features are a fun addition too. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Pokemon LeafGreen Version is a remake of the game that turned every Game Boy into "Pokemon". Yes. After you put the Pokemon cartridge into youPokemon LeafGreen Version is a remake of the game that turned every Game Boy into "Pokemon". Yes. After you put the Pokemon cartridge into you Game Boy you never play the Game Boy again. Just "Pokemon". It becomes the Pokemon machine and you forget that it can even play other games. The remake stays true to the original enough that most nostalgic gamers wont be able to tell the difference short of new graphics and a few extra features that don't add much to the game. That's a good thing though. Pokemon Blue Version was an insanely addictive role playing game that featured one of the deepest leveling and combat systems of any title of the same genre. It sold 25 million unit's, spawned countless sequels, spin offs, and a saturday morning cartoon. It has been the most popular role playing franchise for 15 years running and shows no sighs of stopping with it continually re-inventing itself with each iteration. Certainly not the best in the series but this GBA title is a worthy remake and anyone suffering from chronic poke-fever or a new comer to the series would do themselves a great service start here. Full Review »