Rebelstar: Tactical Command Game Boy Advance

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2005
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 74
    A pretty good strategy game for a system that seems to be lacking this niche in the RPG genre.
  2. Stripped by necessity to its basest form to allow for the limited inputs of the handheld, and this time greatly enhanced and personlaised by character artist Gez Fry's gorgeous anime-inspired designs, Rebelstar may be their most accessible title to date. [Dec 2005, p.112]
  3. With a tiny bit more polish Rebelstar Tactical Command could be not only one of the best games on the GBA but one of the best games released this year.
  4. Ironically, the only reason for pedants to be unhappy is the game's placement on the GBA. Unlike "Advance Wars'" ability to make your GameBoy feel like a custom-built machine, Rebelstar feels like a port. [Dec 2005, p.99]
  5. A much greater feeling of being on the battlefield, where risk, surprise, fear and paranoia are palpable. [Nov 2005, p.108]
  6. The music is just plain awful. It's tinny and repetitious. Take those headphones off, quick, lest you go berserk!
  7. Quotation forthcoming. [Nov 2005]
  8. While I'm not a big fan of the TBS genre, I looked forward to Rebelstar because of its apocalyptic storyline, cute anime characters, and the opportunity to blow up little gray aliens. Unfortunately, the game's pace (particularly the frequent loading times) kept me from ever feeling thoroughly entertained.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. JoseV.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    It is probably one of the most well executed RPG games that I have ever played... the strategy to the game gives it an appealing way to make It is probably one of the most well executed RPG games that I have ever played... the strategy to the game gives it an appealing way to make the people playing the game a way to make split second decisions. Very good game overall. Full Review »
  2. TrixW.
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    My favorite game for about two weeks. The "bonus level" was incomplete and the game had a few bugs. They must have rushed this one. IMHO it My favorite game for about two weeks. The "bonus level" was incomplete and the game had a few bugs. They must have rushed this one. IMHO it has no replay value. I would have given it a 10 if it were longer, maybe had a level maker and had better multiplayer potential. Full Review »
  3. GrahamP.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Please make more of these games - any platform - I'll buy the platform to play the game !! I love these squad level turn based games. Please make more of these games - any platform - I'll buy the platform to play the game !! I love these squad level turn based games. More more more more please. Full Review »