• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Rebelstar: Tactical Command Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You can play as the leader of a revolt in the turn-based strategy game Rebelstar: Tactical Command. The Arelian Empire seized control of Earth 70 years ago and has since become an oppressive regime, controlling the world with fear and marauding shock troops. You can fight back by equipping a team of rebels and controlling them in battle. Rebelstar: Tactical Command includes campaign, skirmish, multiplayer hotseat, and multiplayer link mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Its slower, more thoughtful play style coupled with the ability to save mid-battle makes it a perfect game for on-the-go playing.
  2. 85
    It's official, Real-Time Strategy fans everywhere have been delivered their latest fix. Rebelstar: Tactical Command delivers all the fun of the Xcom series in a delightfully portable package.
  3. 80
    A solid strategy game experience for GBA owners. Anything the game's presentation lacks is more than made up for by the intricacies of its gameplay.
  4. 80
    Thoroughly recommended and the campaign for a similar game on a more powerful platform begins now.
  5. Decent, but let down by bland presentation and annoying bugs. [Oct 2006, p.69]
  6. 77
    While "Advance Wars" and "Fire Emblem" are better than Rebelstar, it's nice to have another strategy choice on the GBA.
  7. While I'm not a big fan of the TBS genre, I looked forward to Rebelstar because of its apocalyptic storyline, cute anime characters, and the opportunity to blow up little gray aliens. Unfortunately, the game's pace (particularly the frequent loading times) kept me from ever feeling thoroughly entertained.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. GrahamP.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Please make more of these games - any platform - I'll buy the platform to play the game !! I love these squad level turn based games. More more more more please. Expand
  2. HelenG.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Grafix not vgood game excellent.. Much better than either Fire Emblem and Ad Wars - more thought in the game than both of those put together. Play it on my DS - the DS cart port hasn't had a game in since i bought this 6 weeks ago. ACE Expand
  3. BrianB.
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    This game is great. If you're a fan of the original two X-Com games, it has the same feel... the magic is back. Graphics are simple, but obviously that's not the draw to a game like this. Sound is adequate, and the music is nice although it's not intrusive or forward. The gameplay, on the other hand, really shines. The Gollop brothers have weeded the needless complexity out of the XCom interface without sacrificing the versatility and elegance of the system. Instead of having to use loads of different buttons to set your troops up, you can instead simply move them, and the movement squares use a color-coding system to tell the player exactly what actions your soldiers can still take from each location. Brilliant. Add in the fact that you can save anywhere, anytime, and you have a recipe for a perfect handheld tactics game. On top of it all, this game sells for $19.95. It's a STEAL at that price. I can't recommend this game highly enough - it's an absolute blast. Some might miss the omission of X-Com's overarching strategic world map and base-building segments, but the focus on the tactical segment of the game works very well on a portable system. Find it. Buy it. Reward Namco for taking a chance on a largely unknown title and make it worth their while to commission a sequel. You won't be sorry. Collapse
  4. NathanC.
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    Excellent adaptation of classic x-com mechanics centered around an objective based, content driven single-player campaign. The structure deviates from the original x-com base-centric formula, but the change feels right at home on the handheld. The new format allows for a level of character and story development never present in the original x-com games. Thanks Codo! Expand
  5. Manny
    Sep 9, 2005
    9
    Its a very solid and enjoyable game. If you like Tactical rpgs then you wont be disapointed one bit. Its has an interesting story as well
  6. JoseV.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    It is probably one of the most well executed RPG games that I have ever played... the strategy to the game gives it an appealing way to make the people playing the game a way to make split second decisions. Very good game overall. Expand
  7. TrixW.
    Dec 24, 2005
    8
    My favorite game for about two weeks. The "bonus level" was incomplete and the game had a few bugs. They must have rushed this one. IMHO it has no replay value. I would have given it a 10 if it were longer, maybe had a level maker and had better multiplayer potential. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews