Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 Game Boy Advance

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. 93
    Even though it takes a simple weekend to finish the game, you haven't beaten it until you've opened all 96 levels...the game has so much challenge and replay value because of all the hidden treats.
  2. The game holds up fabulously, and the slight modifications that Nintendo has made to the game for its handheld release make it even better.
  3. Game Informer
    95
    Super Mario World represented the best of gaming a decade ago, and it has only become better with age. [Apr 2002, p.86]
  4. 91
    As good as a platformer as we'll ever see. However, it's time that the Nintendo brain trust hits us with something new with the same level of quality.
  5. 100
    It's a must-have for the Game Boy Advance, and proof positive that great game design transcends technology and time.
  6. Those who enjoyed an inkling of SMA or this title's antecedent on the SNES platform, should not walk, but run to their nearest entertainment outlet to grab this gem.
  7. Luigi is difficult to control and it will be a new experience to take him through the whole game, but it definitely adds to the replay value of this already huge game.
  8. 100
    All the important elements that made "Super Mario World" a classic are preserved in this portable version and should inspire other companies to revive other SNES titles for possible GBA ports.
  9. Play Magazine
    80
    Handheld gaming simply cannot get any better. [Feb 2002, p.65]
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    It's still one of the best platformers ever, now perfectly ported to GBA...a true classic. [Mar 2002, p.145]
  11. 100
    The crisp sprites appear even better suited on the little screen, with the bright, colourful and incredibly well drawn, nicely animated cartoon-like sprites shining, even with GBA's legendary 'dark screen' problem.
  12. If you haven't already, go out and buy it now! It's an instantly classic redefinition of an already classic title from the Golden Age of gaming.
  13. Nintendo Power
    90
    Creative design, excellent challenges and tricky secrets. [Feb 2002, p.152]
  14. The problem with this game for most adult gamers is that we remember it only too well! And though a surprising amount of changes have been made for this version, it's still not quite what GBA freaks deserve.
  15. Even if you have never even played SMW, it's still fun to go out and play one of the games that truly defined the Mario franchise. This is a great game.
  16. For me Super Mario World is the greatest Mario game ever, now that it's on the GameBoy Advance both my sleep and relationship are beginning to suffer, I simply can't put it down.
  17. A mind-meddlingly varied game that throws new ideas at you every ten paces. [NGC]
  18. GMR Magazine
    90
    Portable "Super Mario World"... You should buy it. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  19. Super Mario Bros. Advance 2's awesome looking graphics are highly detailed and stay true to the game's source material, right down to the last pixel. Yes, down to the last pixel.
  20. A remake of the 1991 release, and it makes a great game even better.
  21. Seriously addictive - and seriously fun.
  22. 89
    It is a masterpiece that will last for one to two weeks.
  23. With even more improvements made over the near-perfect SNES game, Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 deserves the highest honors.
  24. 100
    As I played through the game there was no slowdown and everything looked crisp and just right.
  25. 80
    One of the best 2D side scrolling games on any portable. It will have you searching its 96 levels for quite a while, and even past the end.
  26. Pocket Games
    95
    An excellent illustration of why games don't need fancy 3D graphics to be good. [Summer 2002, p.28]
  27. SMW:SMA2 doesn't push the GBA by any means, it certainly doesn't matter in this case.
  28. Super Mario World was a historic move for the Mario franchise that deserves recognition. You certainly won't regret picking this one up.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#6 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    A remake of a Masterpiece. Super Mario world is one of the best games of all time.
  2. ZiggyStardust
    Jan 7, 2003
    10
    It's a nice port of the best game of all time. While they didn't add anything significant, it's still the best game of all time.
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    I am sooooooo late to the review party on this, but I am retro gaming now. What a great way to play this classic. I was a Sega kid back whenI am sooooooo late to the review party on this, but I am retro gaming now. What a great way to play this classic. I was a Sega kid back when this was out, and missed all the SNES fun. Now that I beat the main game, 73 levels so far, I can gush about how this is a must for any gameboy advance owner. The only complaint is the addition of Luigi, he is the worst developed playable character I have ever used on a Nintendo product. He is insanely clumsy and frustrating--hence, I do not use him at all now. Full Review »