User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 4 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    A remake of a Masterpiece. Super Mario world is one of the best games of all time.
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    I am sooooooo late to the review party on this, but I am retro gaming now. What a great way to play this classic. I was a Sega kid back when this was out, and missed all the SNES fun. Now that I beat the main game, 73 levels so far, I can gush about how this is a must for any gameboy advance owner. The only complaint is the addition of Luigi, he is the worst developed playable character I have ever used on a Nintendo product. He is insanely clumsy and frustrating--hence, I do not use him at all now. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 is... well, I'll put it simply, the best game I've ever played! You can stuff all the PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360 games I've played, this is such a lovely game with brilliant and challenging platform game play and superb 2D graphics. It's a typical 2D platformer which involves Mario or Luigi going through themed levels like the caverns, forest and ghost houses and getting from A to B in an allocated time limit. Memorable enemies from past Mario games make a come back like the Koopa Troopa's and Bullet Bills. Whats nice is that you can pick up Koopa Shells and throw them at your enemies! This 2D platformer is not entirely linear due to the fact that most levels include secret exits and some can take you to secret areas. There's always a satisfactory feeling when you find a secret area since it's not obvious where they are hidden in the level. You need your exploring skills to find them. The boss battles which include you fighting the Koopalings are fun to fight, if a little easy. The music is brilliant ranging from the happy cheerful overworld theme to the dark and creepy castle theme. What adds to the game play is that Yoshi now joins you in the adventure to rescue Princess Peach from Bowser. When you are riding Yoshi, you can eat enemies (except Koopa Shells) spit them out and see them roll into other enemies and different coloured Koopa Shells that Yoshi holds in his mouth, can grant him special abilities for a limited time. Anyway, Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 is a brilliant and enjoyable game and, despite not playing the original SNES version, is the best game I've ever played... ever! Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Super Mario World: Super Mario Advance 2 may have an awkward title, but it is truly a great game! The controls are solid and you are definitely in control of Mario. The world is extremely vast with many secrets, even top secrets! I always played with Luigi because Mario can not jump as high. The Mario Bros. add-on was not all that great, but it was there in cause you wanted to take a break from the game. The game was challenging and immensely exploratory. This remains one of my favorite Mario games because of its gameplay that can not be put down until the end! It is not that replayable in my opinion based merely on its size, but overall amazing buy for the Game Boy Advance! Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    i love this game. a classic! fillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerillerilleriller
  6. May 3, 2011
    10
    It's not a new game, but it's an excellent port of a masterpiece in the palm of your hands. Pros: Excellent visuals, control, and audio; overall, it's an unforgettable platforming experience. Cons: Not many additional features.
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I regretted selling my Super Nintendo, knowing that I might never play this game, among others, again; but having a Nintendo DS, with a GBA slot, it gave me a chance to play one of the first games I ever played in my life again and bring nostalgia; this may not exactly be exactly the same as the SNES one, but it's close enough, and is probably better
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It feels like new despite the games age, which doesn't matter. It plays and feels just like the original. It also has a challenge in its gameplay, which makes it highly recommendable.
  9. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    If you missed the first Super Mario World, this is your best chance of re-living a old classic, not only is the game improved with its colors, sound effects and storytelling but it is now on a portable which makes it even more memorable experience. You will surely enjoy this timeless classic.
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I really recommend this game, especially for the SNES, the original. It is a little hard to pass through some levels but it is funny. This game will always bring me good memories from my childhood.
  11. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Super Mario World was one of the first video games I played. I was a child when this game came out and I could easily pick it up right now and enjoy it. When I was little the only way I could get even close to beating it was by using the star shortcut. With the shortcut I could basically beat the game in an hour or two. What makes the game so great is that the game play never gets old. Yes the graphics suck, as compared to today's video games, but the level design continuously changes. One level there are black bullets shooting at you and the next you are riding Yoshi, eating apples, jumping on football players. I would estimate that their are over one hundred levels. Not only that, you can play all of them again; except for the castles (boss levels). There are many secrets that I am sure I still haven't discovered in this classic game. Some secrets I have discovered is the star shortcut (duh), the item level, how to get ninety-nine life's, and colored Yoshi's. The music throughout the game is decent. When you are beginning to run out of time the music speeds up which helps change up the tempo of the game. If you have not ever played this game you should do yourself a favor and hit yourself. Expand
  12. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    I remember my brother telling me this game was the best ever when it came out because it was the biggest game ever made. I am pretty sure he was right at the time, this game is really the beginning of video games for me. Nintendo did such a good job capturing our imaginations as kids and this game is no exception. In the early 90's when this game came out it was a breakthrough in gaming, and even today it is still fun to play. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    The GBA remake of one of the greatest games of all time. The SNES is definitely more difficult, though I'm not sure if that's a good or bad thing. A masterpiece, regardless.
  14. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It's essentially the same game as the SNES version, except now you can also play as Luigi. That's not a bad thing, considering this is one of the best games of all time.
  15. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Best platformer on a handheld. Many levels and secrets, cape is really fun to use, but still bit breaking the game or rather making the game much easier, it´s still very challenging.
  16. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    This is personally my favorite Mario game of all time and along with Super Mario Bros. 3, this encapsulate the experience of how our modern Mario has come to be.

    With expert level design, classic music, and a great deal of hidden unlockables, this game is far better than the New Super Mario Bros. which follow an all too predictable structure. You'll face an enormous variety of
    challenges on your way to Bowser's castle, and there won't be a single moment of boredom. Even after you take down Bowser, you'll want to find all the special coins and unlock all the special stages because you want to experience this whole game, not because you feel like you need to unlock some achievement or something. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    All the important elements that made "Super Mario World" a classic are preserved in this portable version and should inspire other companies to revive other SNES titles for possible GBA ports.
  2. Seriously addictive - and seriously fun.
  3. A remake of the 1991 release, and it makes a great game even better.