Tak and the Power of Juju Game Boy Advance

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. It puts a whole new spin on the series and it is as good as it is going to get in terms of being a portable version of the game we all know and like.
  2. There are more than 20 different locations in the game to unlock and visit.
  3. 90
    Though some may be disappointed by the linear gameplay, most will take comfort in the fact that the scripting is well done and helps make for a well-crafted experience.
  4. Amazing graphics present the isometric 3D view better than any GBA game I've previously seen. Wondrous.
  5. This version veers even farther from its PC roots, with linear level progression and even (gasp!) RPG-style conversation that gives you options of what to say to people you meet. [Jan 2004, p.160]
  6. As easy as The Sims Bustin’ Out on the GBA is, it’s surprising that the game offers so much lasting appeal, clocking in at nearly 20 hours.
  7. Nintendo Power
    84
    The first Sims title that gives you direct control over your character. [Feb 2004, p.151]
  8. While Bustin' Out for the GBA is clearly a different game than The Sims, it certainly has enough variety to appeal to anyone who enjoys this sort of open-ended game.
  9. Its simple qualities make it easy to pick up and play, but also hurt its long term charm. It won't appeal to all gamers, especially those who prefer action games., but many will find it a fun diversion when gaming on the go.
  10. It's a fun game, especially for younger players, but it feels slightly more hokey than Hollywood. [Mar 2004, p.93]
  11. 80
    It's not quite as versatile as what's been done in past games in the series on the PC and console, but the more limited structure is still an enjoyable romp that offers a new experience to an established theme.
  12. Perfect for people that enjoy a low-impact game. It’ll score many points for being easy to get into and a leisurely way to pass the time, but people that like things to happen should steer clear.
  13. Pocket Games
    80
    This is a love-it-or-hate-it game, but fans of the original or anyone looking for a leisurely paced game where death is impossible can't go wrong. [Spring 2004, p.36]
  14. 80
    Griptonite has struck a delicate balance between utter linearity and the brain-numbing redundancy of "Harvest Moon," and the end result works pretty well.
  15. 80
    Isn’t really The Sims as you know it - it’s more like "Animal Crossing" with human beings instead of sapient anteaters.
  16. 80
    The gameplay is still addictive and people who enjoy their virtual people will find themselves compulsively playing this GBA version.
  17. 80
    In short, this is "The Sims" game for people who don't necessarily like "The Sims," but it's also one that will appeal to fans of the series.
  18. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The series has never been popular for its graphics but everything looks good here on the GBA. The rooms are colorful, the sprites are large and the menus are easy to read.
  19. As much as I just ripped it apart, Bustin’ Out is a very solid little game. It lacks the infinite replay value of the other Sims games, but it still outlasts most Game Boy games.
  20. I must point out that it is not meant to be played for long periods of time; it's obviously been crafted from the ground up with the handheld format in mind. If you frequently find yourself with just a little bit of extra time on your hands, this is the game to play.
  21. The visuals in Bustin’ Out are surprisingly detailed and fluid. The characters animation with clay-mation smoothness and have the traditional fun animations that Sim fans are used to.
  22. GameNow
    75
    About as challenging as a wordsearch, but still fun for on-the-go gaming. [Jan 2003, p.48]
  23. But the game just isn’t The Sims. You can’t just do whatever you want and the mission driven game is just a little too simplistic to be overly fun.
  24. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    It's sometimes difficult to track down the Sim you need in order to advance a quest, and the dialogue is maddeningly repetitive, but otherwise, Bustin' Out is engaging, original, and just plain fun. [Jan 2004, p.164]
  25. The GameCube and GBA versions have possibly the most exciting exclusive option, with players able to download special mini-games to their GBA which will earn them Simoleons and other goodies to use in the Cube game.
  26. Weekly Famitsu
    68
    7 / 6 / 7 / 7 - 27 [Vol 788; 23 Jan 2004]
  27. Not a bad game, for The Sims' first handheld outing. Despite its many little flaws, Bustin' Out is still a hard game to put down.
  28. Be it from talking to characters to fulfilling the needs, however without the ability to make money and build larger houses, and the distinctive lack of a variety of furniture this open-ended gameplay quickly wears thin, even making the whole thing less open-ended in practice than in theory.

Awards & Rankings

#18 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
#14 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Nichole
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    I thought it was really fun. I hope they come out with another one.
  2. CarmenT.
    May 28, 2005
    9
    I just love this game. I once wished I didnt buy it at all!!!!
  3. Elaine
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    Help me out :( I slept in the same double bed with Mel Odious, and no kids! We had relationship 100. Do I have to be patient, and try again?