The Incredible Hulk (2003) Game Boy Advance

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Vivendi Universal has captured the essence of the Hulk--comic book violence in all its forms--and provided an opportunity to unleash his rage in a manner that succeeds as a game.
  2. The Incredible Hulk doesn't draw much from the comic book sources either. Stuck in the void between both, The Incredible Hulk looks less and less incredible.
  3. With monotonous levels and repetitive action, one can’t hope to play this title for more than an hour at a time.
  4. Repetitive action keeps the game from being a genuinely satisfying Hulk game on the GBA, but there are also many good things in the game’s favor that shouldn’t go overlooked.
  5. 62
    A game that's really repetitive, but fans of the Hulk should get a kick out of it.
  6. 60
    Despite its shallow design, it's fun in quick shots, though, just enough to get aggressions out of your system.
  7. The level design becomes ho-hum after a few levels and there isn’t anything in the gameplay that breaks up all the sameness of it.
  8. Nintendo Power
    58
    The Hulk is strong but small on screen, and the game's isometric view sometimes makes it difficult to navigate. [July 2003, p.145]
  9. Play Magazine
    58
    A slight lag in the jump is bothersome and regenerating is a little slow for the gameplay. [July 2003, p.78]
  10. GameNow
    50
    I liked this game, even if I did find it excruciatingly tedious and repetitious at times. [Aug 2003, p.25]
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    47
    The moronic A.I. and repetitive missions will bore you, and the irritatingly humongous levels just prolong the torture. [Aug 2003, p.123]
  12. Game Informer
    40
    This game has about as much play to it as a crusty green booger. You'll marvel at it for a few seconds, only to realize that it's one of the world's most appalling abominations, then will flick it away. [July 2003, p.122]
  13. One of the major problems with the game is the maps all look very similar. This causes another problem, which way do you go? I found myself getting lost a number of times just to have to run around to get back to where I needed to be.
  14. 40
    Fans of the unjolly green giant will have some limited, isolated smash-bouts, but those who are gamers first and Hulk fans secondly will be better off investigating the console versions based on the film.
  15. Surprise, surprise: The Incredible Hulk is yet another boring superhero title on Game Boy Advance, which seems to be the refuse container of choice for action games with little to no redeeming value.
  16. Cheat Code Central
    40
    Punch, punch, punch, jump - and throw something. That seems to be the extent of the gameplay.

Awards & Rankings

#49 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    This is one of the worst GBA games i have ever played having terrible controls and being had looking This is a badly done game.For me ThisThis is one of the worst GBA games i have ever played having terrible controls and being had looking This is a badly done game.For me This game is so bad that i wish i Never had played it Full Review »
  2. Sam
    Oct 29, 2005
    3
    When it comes to gameplay, this game sucks. However, when it comes to controls, graphics, A.I., and sound, it's beyond awful.
  3. H.
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    5 star.