The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Game Boy Advance

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the darkNow you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the dark world, conquering fierce monsters and uncovering Hyrule's deepest secrets along the way. Also included is Four Swords, which lets you play with up to three other players, slashing through dungeons and collecting rupees. Whether you choose solo or competitive play, The Legend of Zelda will keep you occupied with its brain-bending puzzles and fun swashbuckling action. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    A Link to the Past is one of the best SNES games ever made, and it's found a new home on GBA, losing absolutely nothing in the translation. [Dec 2002, p.93]
  2. A flawless masterpiece, Link to the Past drastically improved upon its predecessors by introducing a more linear framework for the player to explore (rather than the vast open-endedness of the two previous games), a better interface and controls, and dungeon puzzles and layouts designed in such a manner that can only be called perfect.
  3. 100
    An indispensable game, combining arguably the finest RPG/adventure the 16-bit era ever produced (even compared to the likes of Secret of Mana and Final Fantasy VI) with an expertly realised multiplayer rendition of Zelda.
  4. This is a great opportunity for old schoolers to enjoy some excellent nostalgia (while kicking friends around in Four Swords) and new schoolers to partake in one of the greatest adventures of all time (er, while kicking friends around in Four Swords).
  5. A great handheld port of one of the greatest games ever released for Nintendo's 16-bit system.
  6. Although A Link to the Past represents some of the most fabulous game designs you're ever likely to see, it also suffers from some criminally unforgiving sections that today's gamer-on-the-go is likely to scoff at. Not quite the vision of perfection that it once seemed to be.
  7. netjak
    74
    The control of the game is where this really shines.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 79
  2. Negative: 3 out of 79
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Dark world, as well as the many secrets and items found, make it one of the best Zelda titles there is. The sheer number of dungeons and difficulty of the game make it one of the longer Zelda games I Collapse
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    All I can really say is that this is by far the best 2D Zelda game out there. For me, this is the second greatest Zelda game, behind what is,All I can really say is that this is by far the best 2D Zelda game out there. For me, this is the second greatest Zelda game, behind what is, of course, the greatest game ever made, Ocarina of Time. Expand
  3. RyanB.
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    This game is great it has all the things you need to make a fun game. Its a classic but awesome game.
  4. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. nossa que jogo bom, melhor jogo que existe do passado que vc acha que acabou mas só foi 1/4 e na verdade tem muita coisa pra fazer é isso ae 10/10 ae vlw shigeru Expand
  5. l.v
    Jun 23, 2007
    9
    IT is a great game, but no one has another copy where i live. I cant paly 4 swords. :( Some sound effects are annoying, but other than that, IT is a great game, but no one has another copy where i live. I cant paly 4 swords. :( Some sound effects are annoying, but other than that, it rules. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game, just fantastic. If you enjoyed the first 2 original LoZ games you would enjoy this, it is better imo. I downloaded from theFantastic game, just fantastic. If you enjoyed the first 2 original LoZ games you would enjoy this, it is better imo. I downloaded from the Wii U virtual console, and I love it. Great dungeons, although some of the easier ones in the franchise, and good combat. However there are times where you will indeed rage. The bosses are unforgivable, but when you kill them it feels so good. Games are supposed to be fun right? Well it's not when you are fighting the same boss and doing the same things excessively to get to that boss. Another thing is that after you die you respawn with half health. And some bosses can do massive amounts of damage, and there are so many things you have to watch for in some boss fights. Having a fairy on you is very helpful. For example one boss shoots out fireballs that seperate into smaller fire balls that you have to watch out for, while the boss moves around, and will do massive amounts of damage to you if it runs into you, also having a tail that can strike you at anytime. You have to hit it 10 times to get it's armor off then hit it another 10 times to kill it. I think a lot of people think this game is GOAT from nostalgia. Don't get me wrong it's a fantastic game but it can really piss you off. While people may just call me a **** since I'm not giving it a perfect score because I said some of the bosses are too hard, but you will know what I mean when you play it. It is NOT fun to do the same things over and over again to get to a boss that you just die from and have to restart the process all over again.. My last words: FDSIOHOIFHSUIDUFIOSDHIUJSDIOHFIUSDGIUSHDIOphuipfsiOGHSDPUojgpdJGIhuoihgiuoGHuhugi Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    Looking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence whyLooking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence why ocarina of time is considered the greatest as the level of immersion in 2D is easily surpassed in 3D along with Item design and enemies. Again this game in 3D would be a triumph like Link Between worlds. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#2 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002