The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Game Boy Advance

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the darkNow you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the dark world, conquering fierce monsters and uncovering Hyrule's deepest secrets along the way. Also included is Four Swords, which lets you play with up to three other players, slashing through dungeons and collecting rupees. Whether you choose solo or competitive play, The Legend of Zelda will keep you occupied with its brain-bending puzzles and fun swashbuckling action. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    A Link to the Past is one of the best SNES games ever made, and it's found a new home on GBA, losing absolutely nothing in the translation. [Dec 2002, p.93]
  2. A flawless masterpiece, Link to the Past drastically improved upon its predecessors by introducing a more linear framework for the player to explore (rather than the vast open-endedness of the two previous games), a better interface and controls, and dungeon puzzles and layouts designed in such a manner that can only be called perfect.
  3. 100
    An indispensable game, combining arguably the finest RPG/adventure the 16-bit era ever produced (even compared to the likes of Secret of Mana and Final Fantasy VI) with an expertly realised multiplayer rendition of Zelda.
  4. This is a great opportunity for old schoolers to enjoy some excellent nostalgia (while kicking friends around in Four Swords) and new schoolers to partake in one of the greatest adventures of all time (er, while kicking friends around in Four Swords).
  5. A great handheld port of one of the greatest games ever released for Nintendo's 16-bit system.
  6. Although A Link to the Past represents some of the most fabulous game designs you're ever likely to see, it also suffers from some criminally unforgiving sections that today's gamer-on-the-go is likely to scoff at. Not quite the vision of perfection that it once seemed to be.
  7. netjak
    74
    The control of the game is where this really shines.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 77
  2. Negative: 3 out of 77
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Dark world, as well as the many secrets and items found, make it one of the best Zelda titles there is. The sheer number of dungeons and difficulty of the game make it one of the longer Zelda games I Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    I cant decide on my favorite Zelda game, being an avid fan of the series, but this one seems to be leading the race right now, there's justI cant decide on my favorite Zelda game, being an avid fan of the series, but this one seems to be leading the race right now, there's just nothing negative about this game. I enjoyed every dungeon and every boss battle, the old graphics don't inhibit it, if anything it makes the game better. I recommend this game to just about everyone. Expand
  3. MattG.
    Apr 20, 2003
    10
    This game is very good. I thought it was going to be stupid but it has a lot of action and you dont know what will happen in like other This game is very good. I thought it was going to be stupid but it has a lot of action and you dont know what will happen in like other games. All in all this game is probloly my favorite game for GBA SP and im trying to get all my friends to buy it also...(you should to!) Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    There will be endless debates about which Zelda game is better, this or ocarina.

    For me, it's this. Its 2D action adventure perfection.
    There will be endless debates about which Zelda game is better, this or ocarina.

    For me, it's this. Its 2D action adventure perfection. Still to this day I dont think there's another 2D action adventure that's as good at this.

    The controls are perfect, the story is there if you want it (I've completed this game at least 10 times and still have never read the story, which says more about me than it does the game), the levels are amazing, and the bosses ramp up the stakes each time you meet one.

    It has an amazing inventory which rarely gets the praise it deserves contains some of the coolest weapons ever in video games. Screen clearing with that thunder medallion never gets boring.

    But it's music which cements it in my top two snes games of all time. The tunes that the composer squeezed out of the tiny little sound chip are amazing, far surpassing the work of entire orchestra's in many modern games.

    It won't ever be my favourite game on the snes, but it will always the best game on the snes.
    Expand
  5. JackC.
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    A link to the past is only second to ocarina of time in my opinion. To those criticizing the dated graphics and sound you obviously A link to the past is only second to ocarina of time in my opinion. To those criticizing the dated graphics and sound you obviously haven't played the original zelda(It kicks ass even though it's old). But I agree that some items are useless (wtf icerod?) To Steve P.: If you found it too hard you probably shouldn't be playing videogames. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    Game: The Legend of Zelda A Link To The Past
    Genre: Action Adventure
    Publisher/Developer: Nintendo System: Gameboy Advance (GBA) Total
    Game: The Legend of Zelda A Link To The Past
    Genre: Action Adventure
    Publisher/Developer: Nintendo
    System: Gameboy Advance (GBA)
    Total Score: 92/100
    Value Score: 9.2/10

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 9/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 9/10
    • Replay Value: 7/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Includes the "Palace of the Four Swords" dungeon exclusive to the GBA version with additional bosses
    +New sound effects have been added including Young Link noises from Ocarina of Time
    +Sleep mode option added (L+R buttons)
    +Dungeon Names show up when entering a dungeon
    +Several changes have been made such as dungeon and enemies layout/appearance, sparkling stones which give rupees upon hit, UI and Inventory changes, weapon/item changes with additional effects
    +Riddle Quest has been added (must finish Four Swords first)

    Cons
    -Due to the GBA's sound card, sound quality is worse than the SNES version
    -In order to unlock the dungeon for the Palace of Four Swords, you would need to link up two games and finish Four Swords or use a cheat device to bypass this
    -Chris Houlihan's room from the original can only be accessed through a cheat device and not in game anymore
    Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    Looking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence whyLooking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence why ocarina of time is considered the greatest as the level of immersion in 2D is easily surpassed in 3D along with Item design and enemies. Again this game in 3D would be a triumph like Link Between worlds. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#2 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002