The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Game Boy Advance

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the darkNow you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the dark world, conquering fierce monsters and uncovering Hyrule's deepest secrets along the way. Also included is Four Swords, which lets you play with up to three other players, slashing through dungeons and collecting rupees. Whether you choose solo or competitive play, The Legend of Zelda will keep you occupied with its brain-bending puzzles and fun swashbuckling action. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    A Link to the Past is one of the best SNES games ever made, and it's found a new home on GBA, losing absolutely nothing in the translation. [Dec 2002, p.93]
  2. A flawless masterpiece, Link to the Past drastically improved upon its predecessors by introducing a more linear framework for the player to explore (rather than the vast open-endedness of the two previous games), a better interface and controls, and dungeon puzzles and layouts designed in such a manner that can only be called perfect.
  3. 100
    An indispensable game, combining arguably the finest RPG/adventure the 16-bit era ever produced (even compared to the likes of Secret of Mana and Final Fantasy VI) with an expertly realised multiplayer rendition of Zelda.
  4. This is a great opportunity for old schoolers to enjoy some excellent nostalgia (while kicking friends around in Four Swords) and new schoolers to partake in one of the greatest adventures of all time (er, while kicking friends around in Four Swords).
  5. A great handheld port of one of the greatest games ever released for Nintendo's 16-bit system.
  6. Although A Link to the Past represents some of the most fabulous game designs you're ever likely to see, it also suffers from some criminally unforgiving sections that today's gamer-on-the-go is likely to scoff at. Not quite the vision of perfection that it once seemed to be.
  7. netjak
    74
    The control of the game is where this really shines.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Dark world, as well as the many secrets and items found, make it one of the best Zelda titles there is. The sheer number of dungeons and difficulty of the game make it one of the longer Zelda games I Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    First of all, MichealP. if you read the description, it said that it was a REMAKE of the SNES game. Read the description before you drag theFirst of all, MichealP. if you read the description, it said that it was a REMAKE of the SNES game. Read the description before you drag the reputation down. Anyways, one of my best purchases for the GBA. I still have the SP so I can play it. Truly deserves the title of best GBA game of all time. Expand
  3. MattG.
    Apr 20, 2003
    10
    This game is very good. I thought it was going to be stupid but it has a lot of action and you dont know what will happen in like other This game is very good. I thought it was going to be stupid but it has a lot of action and you dont know what will happen in like other games. All in all this game is probloly my favorite game for GBA SP and im trying to get all my friends to buy it also...(you should to!) Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2015
    10
    Dare I say, but this is better than Ocarina of Time. Probably the best Zelda game ever. The story is really good, the controls are great -ofDare I say, but this is better than Ocarina of Time. Probably the best Zelda game ever. The story is really good, the controls are great -of course, there are the ones who complain about them, there ALWAYS are the ones who complain about them, but they are simple, and if there is anything bad on them it doesn't affect the game play- and... Well, I don't even know what to say anymore! It's great! Of course, it was hard to play it in public, since most people of my classroom only look forward to graphics, graphics and graphics. Every time they saw me playing they said "LOL stop playing that thing and play something really good like GTA V!". Poor souls. The game was so perfect that I barely could hear them.
    There is one thing to complain about, though. I am not proud of that, but I had to search the internet to pass some parts. That's because there are some things that I really just wouldn't figure out! Like the correct order of the pillars to get to the portal that leads to Ganon's Tower (not putting it here because there is no need for SPOILEEEERS). How was I supposed to know it? But anyway, that's what the internet is for (actually not, but it can do it pretty well, too :D )! The game graphics, PERSONALLY, are good. It isn't a game that lost its beauty easily like Pokémon Gold/Silver/Crystal (sorry!). When the person who plays it has an opened mind for old games, it is still beautiful, no matter how old it is. Sometimes you get confused, or maybe the game just puts too much information in your head- but that's the nice part! After some brain effort, everything fits perfectly like a good puzzle.
    So, to those who didn't play any Zelda game, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR, MAN?!
    Expand
  5. JackC.
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    A link to the past is only second to ocarina of time in my opinion. To those criticizing the dated graphics and sound you obviously A link to the past is only second to ocarina of time in my opinion. To those criticizing the dated graphics and sound you obviously haven't played the original zelda(It kicks ass even though it's old). But I agree that some items are useless (wtf icerod?) To Steve P.: If you found it too hard you probably shouldn't be playing videogames. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2015
    9
    The best Zelda game, no doubt. Great story and characters. Hyrule has always been one of my favorite Nintendo settings. Definitely goes downThe best Zelda game, no doubt. Great story and characters. Hyrule has always been one of my favorite Nintendo settings. Definitely goes down as one of Nintendo's greatest. Link Between Worlds is a great successor to it. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    Looking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence whyLooking back this game should have waited and became the first 3D zelda, everything this game lacks is directly related to the 2D hence why ocarina of time is considered the greatest as the level of immersion in 2D is easily surpassed in 3D along with Item design and enemies. Again this game in 3D would be a triumph like Link Between worlds. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
#1 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002