Ultimate Spider-Man Game Boy Advance

Ultimate Spider-Man Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spider-Man, the web-slinging superhero, returns to fight crime in Ultimate Spider-Man.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Some areas can be moderately to excessively aggravating which can bring down the amusement value of the title, especially for the younger audiences I would imagine.
  2. Certainly the GBA version pales in comparison to the freedom of the console versions and the graphic chutzpah of USM on the DS, but it's still an enjoyable title that will pass the time.
  3. Nintendo Power
    60
    The game is a s good as its GBA predecessors, but it doesn't stand out in any significant way. [Dec 2005, p.111]
  4. The fighting becomes repetitive incredibly quickly, and after you've beaten the game, it can be put on the shelf with most GBA games as it has little to no replay value.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. JermaineT.
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    this games is on my top list of games in my room.
  2. BalazsF.
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    The best fun I had on the GBA for a year at least. I think the web slinging works just so much better in this sidecrolling version than in The best fun I had on the GBA for a year at least. I think the web slinging works just so much better in this sidecrolling version than in 3D. And the different gameplay of Venom and Spider-man really varies the levels. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    I picked this game up the week of release and since then, I've played it over 12 times. It is a very fun sidescrolling action game for theI picked this game up the week of release and since then, I've played it over 12 times. It is a very fun sidescrolling action game for the GBA, and the story is well written. The dynamic of playing as both Spider-Man and Venom is interesting as well. This is a great game and should be a part of any Spidey fan's collection Expand
  4. DanS.
    Jan 4, 2006
    6
    ok, bought it and beat it in the same day. I'd be willing to send it back and let them retweak it a little. it is worth playing, but not ok, bought it and beat it in the same day. I'd be willing to send it back and let them retweak it a little. it is worth playing, but not worth playing more than once. Collapse
  5. Sep 3, 2011
    6
    Platforms and bosses it's a classic use for many games, but Ultimate Spider Man messed up everything it offered. To a boring,unmemorablePlatforms and bosses it's a classic use for many games, but Ultimate Spider Man messed up everything it offered. To a boring,unmemorable moments, weak sensation makes the wall crawling man fall from a building and smash in the ground with almost every part of his body destroyed. I don't know if he will recover, maybe next time spidey . Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2016
    6
    Much like it's big brother on home consoles, GBA Ultimate Spider-Man sets itself apart from the rest of the web-head's library by letting youMuch like it's big brother on home consoles, GBA Ultimate Spider-Man sets itself apart from the rest of the web-head's library by letting you play some levels as Venom. While the Venom levels are certainly appreciated, they're ultimately not enough to save the game. Especially given that the better Spider-Man offerings out there.

    The issue here is Spider-Man himself. He ends up being the worst part of his own game. The reason for that being he just isn't as much fun to play as compared to Venom. His levels are often filled cheaply placed environmental hazards (fire right in front of doors you need to use) and the game's more tedious and frustrating sections.

    The Venom levels on the other hand are a blast and it's all due to how they handled the character. He's a big, hulking powerhouse. One who can recharge his health by eating his enemies. Spider-Man on the other hand is much weaker and is forced to rely on scavenging for often rarely dropped health pickups. An odd move considering his levels are usually the one's with the most combat.

    The actual fighting itself is very exciting. It's just button-mashing, but it gets the job done. Outside of some overly difficult stretches on the Spider-Man side of things, it's a pretty well designed game. The graphics are bland and the soundtrack doesn't sound out too much, but the actual gameplay is okay. The only thing really missing are the boss battles. You'll only get to fight three Spider-Man villains, some more than once, and they are almost exclusively reserved for the end of the game. Given Spider-Man's celebrated roster of villains this is a pretty big disappointment.

    The story isn't much to speak of. It only takes the main thread from the console game and isn't that well-written anyway. That was to be expected though. The game is based off of the Ultimate Marvel version of Spider-Man after all (yuck!).

    For hardcore Spider-Man fans it's still worth a look. It's not terribly exciting and has it's issues, but can still provide a few hours of wall-crawling entertainment. The Venom levels are a treat, making Spider-Man himself look bland by comparison. While your first choice in regards to Spider-Man GBA games should always be Mysterio's Menace, Ultimate Spider-Man still has it's merits in the end. Just not enough to really justify it as anything more than a rental.

    6.5/10
    Expand
  7. RyanB.
    Oct 6, 2005
    5
    Better than last year's Spiderman 2 GBA effort, Ultimate Spiderman for the GBA still falls short, with rough-around the edge graphics, Better than last year's Spiderman 2 GBA effort, Ultimate Spiderman for the GBA still falls short, with rough-around the edge graphics, mediocre sound, and gameplay that isn't terribly exciting. There's not a bad game here, mind you, but that doesn't mean what they gave is is good, either. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews