User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game so much. I enjoy how the game play is suited to younger gamers who may think the side scrolling Mario is too fast for them, and Yoshi is a good platforming character and the storyline of saving Baby Luigi from Baby Bowser is a good one. Also, the final battle is epic, and one of my favorite from any game. Really if you have a GBA there's little excuse for you to not have this game already. 10/10 A+ Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the second best game I've ever played. Fantastic graphics with a lovely art style with pretty backgrounds, brilliant composed music which really fits the games various environments like the caves or the bosses castles, smooth and varied game play and imaginative and comically designed characters to battle make Super Mario Advance 3: Yoshi's Island an absolute must buy for any platformer fan! Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favourite games and this is about as good a port of it as I can possibly imagine. Right up there with other Mario platformers, this is a must play. You'll be sucked in to the island and all its character and charm
  4. May 3, 2011
    10
    An excellent port of one of the funnest 2-D platformers to date -- if Super Mario World is the best, then Yoshi's Island is certainly the most innovative. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, and audio; rich, colorful level design; lots of mini-games; Yoshi and Baby Mario are ridiculously charming. Cons: The difficulty is often frustrating, resulting with a lot of Baby Mario cries; multi-player is secondary. Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games and my #4 Best Game Ever in my opinion, this game has excellent graphics, sound, challenges, and level design. I would've welcomed multi-player for the minigames, however.
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    one of the five games on Super Nintendo that I was obsessed with when I was a child; I never had the chance to own it or complete it, until getting the port of it on GBA, and I finally played the game in its entirety, and I love it, it is one of my favourite games of all time
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Game: Super Mario Advance 3: Yoshi's Island Genre: Adventure/Platform Developer: Nintendo System: GameBoy Advance (GBA) Total Score: 97/100 Value Score: 97/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 10/10 • Sound: 9/10 • Music: 10/10 • Length: 10/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +More secret levels added to gameplay
    +UI has changed for the most part and looks more appealing than the original version
    +Some levels have been re-designed and better designed than in the original version
    +A overworld map was added
    +Additional sound effects have been added such as when Yoshi jumps for an example.
    +Wording and text have changed and been improved
    +Mario bros added as secondary game

    Cons
    -Some mini games were missing due to the lacking of the number of GBA buttons
    -Sound effects and the music's tone was dumbed down due to the lower quality of the GBA
    Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is game of my childhood. And I still think it's masterpiece and in my opinion best 2D platformer ever. The best thing about Yoshi's island is difficulty. Even though it's game for children secret and extra stages are really challenging (creators got little bit overboard with Endless world of Yoshis)
  9. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    This review is for the SNES version of Yoshi's Island, that is the one I owned, as you can't rate it on metacritic (put snes games back plz). Yoshi's Island was a follow up to Super Mario World, and set aside the crying mario this game was very good. The levels were fun and in it was rewarding to try to clear 100% on them. The artwork was actually pretty neat for its time and the bosses were really cool. All around I enjoyed this game very much when I was younger, can't say the same for Yoshi's Story though, YIKES! Expand
  10. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This was my favourite game as a child on the SNES and I still play it on a weekly to monthly basis. The rules are simple, the gameplay is fluid and you can skip tutorials (the little speaking boxes) if you already played it. The only complaint that I could have is that it's too easy, but the boss levels and getting a perfect 100 score makes up for it. This is probably my favourite platformer ever, being followed by Super Mario 3. Expand
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    A perfect port of the SNES gem. While not the greatest platformer ever made it is certainly one of the greats.
    Offers great gameplay, huge worlds and one of the best boss fights ever.
  12. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Yoshi is one of the only characters in gaming that was introduced as a pet. Yoshi will always be Mario's pet regardless of how may times Nintendo puts him in there other titles. that been said Yoshi's Island is really fun, the style of that game is something straight out of a pop up book. The enemies are all shy guys and for the most part they are just silly little road blocks. The music is very iconic, sounds like you are not on the quest to save baby Mario but instead just on a walk to the park. Its a really great game for a handheld device that was mostly used for Pokemon. Recommend this game one hundred percent, this is a great game. Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Another great platformer for the GBA. Don´t think it´s easy, because it cute looking with the crayon art style, no no, the later levels and boss levels are filled for traps just to get Baby Mario for preventing stomped Goombas. Music, Gameplay, Art style,many and great levels, it´s all there!
  14. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite game. Great art, music, atmosphere, controls, plenty of secrets, and level design. This game is cheerful fun until the end, when suddenly Baby Bowser becomes huge and terrifying, and it's up to you to stop him in this dark turn in the game.

    PS touch fuzzy get dizzy- TOUCH ALL THE FUZZY
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Seven huge, trap-filled worlds and many mini-games.
  2. One of the greatest 2D platformers ever put to silicon. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  3. Its twisted levels beg to be replayed again and again even if you aren't interested in getting that perfect 100%.