User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 3 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 7.5 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 7.8 Fun/Story:7

    Not as good as it predecessor in Nintendo 64. Lacks some innovation and graphics improvement. A fairly game with some good things.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    AWESOME avalanches Duh 1080: AVALANCHE ).
    + Gate Challenge offers for more replay value.
    + Realistic and very fast racing. + Almost every single track has a pretty awesome atmosphere. But are a tad too short ). + You'll be coming back for more. *- Character models could've used some polish. *- Tricking falls flat compared to the competition. SSX, Amped ) *- Could use more
    AWESOME avalanches Duh 1080: AVALANCHE ).
    + Gate Challenge offers for more replay value.
    + Realistic and very fast racing.
    + Almost every single track has a pretty awesome atmosphere. But are a tad too short ).
    + You'll be coming back for more.

    *- Character models could've used some polish.
    *- Tricking falls flat compared to the competition. SSX, Amped )
    *- Could use more variety in the soundtrack department.
    - Just 5 boarders They could've added Dion and Kensuke and another female boarder into the mix )
    - Barely any character customization. Just 3 skins per character and 5 character selected boards
    ( An SSX3 style character customization would've been so awesome).

    * A very minor flaw or just something out of preference.

    1080: Avalanche 7.75/10...
    1080 has some problems in the trick and extra character content department. But 1080 hits the perfect spots when it comes to the other three major aspects of the game. Match Race, Gate Challenge and of course Time Attack. And one more very important thing, it makes you want to play the game again and again and again...
    Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    The game is very fun today in 2012, one of the most special game for GameCube, a good game, with good dificulty and great music tracks, and the multiplayer is very funny :)
  4. MrNintendo
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This game is still the number 1 snowboarding game! I just bought SSX Blur for the Wii and my god it's so damn slow compared to 1080. So I sold it and am just playing 1080 Avalanche on my Wii instead. It's so much better and much more realistic. The sense of speed makes the game a real rush. I just couldn't stand how slow SSX is not to mention the real bouncy feel when This game is still the number 1 snowboarding game! I just bought SSX Blur for the Wii and my god it's so damn slow compared to 1080. So I sold it and am just playing 1080 Avalanche on my Wii instead. It's so much better and much more realistic. The sense of speed makes the game a real rush. I just couldn't stand how slow SSX is not to mention the real bouncy feel when turning. If you have a Wii get 1080 Avalanche now! Expand
  5. LisaW.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    I LOVE this game! It is probably the best snow boarding game in the century! It beats SSX by a mile! If your looking for a challenging, action packed game......this is the game for you. The music choice is great, it had me singin' along! The Graphics are fantastic and the details of the game characters made me wonder if these people where real boarders? (Ricky is my favorite).
  6. R.W
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Too many ppl are going on about how 1080 is short and doesnt have enough tricks. there are 15 grabs in total and 4 spins/flips. but when u combine these you get all sorts of combos so it doesnt feel like there's not enough for me at all. the moves are awesome. also, the games length (in terms of beating the match races) doesnt take too long like everyone says BUT that doesnt mean you Too many ppl are going on about how 1080 is short and doesnt have enough tricks. there are 15 grabs in total and 4 spins/flips. but when u combine these you get all sorts of combos so it doesnt feel like there's not enough for me at all. the moves are awesome. also, the games length (in terms of beating the match races) doesnt take too long like everyone says BUT that doesnt mean you have finished the game. theres lots of other stuff to do like the trick modes, time trials and unlocking extra boards, and its heaps fun. plus its not like you get bored of each course once you've played it already. 1080 is different to ssx3 but i prefer 1080 more because its a lot more realistic and is what you call a true snowboarding game, unlike ssx3 where you do real unrealistic moves that sorta ruins the snowboarding feel. what makes 1080 special though is the fact that its the sequal to the N64 version of 1080 which was a great game...so if you liked the original, 1080 avalanche will bring back the good old memories from the moment you start it up and choose your character like ricky winterborn. to me ssx3 just feels like a gimicky snowboarding game but 1080 is a solid awesome looking game that shouldnt be missed. in the end, 1080 seems to be the most oringal and unique. ive played many other snowboarding games out there and they dont feel as special. Expand
  7. Kaim
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    Do the people ragging on this game actually like racers in general? ... this is plain fun. Nintendo head a small group of developers actually aiming to make make fun games. Because thats what games are all about. My hat goes off to Ubisoft also.... and dont forget Free Radical.
  8. SMalldude
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    The critics who say SSX is better, go jump off a cliff. If u say the soundtrack sucks,listen 2 the SSX3 soundtrack, thats what i thought. 1080 avalanche rules the competition, it is one of the best racing games ever invented. Everything in it is amazing. The only flaws: more tricks need to be added, and more multiplayer options like a vs trick attack. Oya i fergot it has 1!!!!! play the The critics who say SSX is better, go jump off a cliff. If u say the soundtrack sucks,listen 2 the SSX3 soundtrack, thats what i thought. 1080 avalanche rules the competition, it is one of the best racing games ever invented. Everything in it is amazing. The only flaws: more tricks need to be added, and more multiplayer options like a vs trick attack. Oya i fergot it has 1!!!!! play the 1player trick attack, then play it over again with another player. Unless u wanna go in2 sum sort of LAN wiring thing, thats what u have. 1080 kicks SSX3 Badly!!! Expand
  9. Ivan
    Jan 14, 2004
    9
    This game is a great game, but you don-t have to beat it... You have to beat yourself, to destroy your limit. I taste the same feelings when i ride here in Italy. Bye and don-t compare it with ssx3, they are two quite different gamez.
  10. Lau
    Dec 31, 2003
    3
    Simply put: 1080 is far too easy and way too short. It can be beaten in two, maybe three hours. This is definitely a rental. SSX3, on the other hand, will last you at least several weeks.
  11. BOB
    Dec 30, 2003
    2
    Ok. for those of you who actually LIKED the first 1080, then buy the new one. BECAUSE IT IS THE EXACT SAME GAME W/ SAME CHARACTERS. just different levels and music. WHOOOOOPEEEEE!!! i personally hated the original 1080, even though i own it. what a waste of money. i got the new one as a gift and stupidly opened it before i realized how bad it was going to be. you just go down the hillOk. for those of you who actually LIKED the first 1080, then buy the new one. BECAUSE IT IS THE EXACT SAME GAME W/ SAME CHARACTERS. just different levels and music. WHOOOOOPEEEEE!!! i personally hated the original 1080, even though i own it. what a waste of money. i got the new one as a gift and stupidly opened it before i realized how bad it was going to be. you just go down the hill racing the other players, and the same announcer is still there. there are only 3 easy tracks, 4 hard ones, and 5 XTREME hard ones, but i beat the game in a single afternoon. NO REPLAYABILITY. what crap. please dont waste your money. i have never played an SSX game myself, but i hope it is better than this pile of dog shat. Expand
  12. J.Baker
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    1080 gets 10 all the way. I've played the SSX games and I think they are overly exaggerated. Not a true feel like 1080. Not that SSX isn't a good game but I prefer 1080. Also, everyone keeps calling 1080 a racing game, which is part right but I spend more time doing tricks then anything. I think some might prefer SSX because it's so easy to do the tricks where 1080 takes a 1080 gets 10 all the way. I've played the SSX games and I think they are overly exaggerated. Not a true feel like 1080. Not that SSX isn't a good game but I prefer 1080. Also, everyone keeps calling 1080 a racing game, which is part right but I spend more time doing tricks then anything. I think some might prefer SSX because it's so easy to do the tricks where 1080 takes a little more skill. These are my thoughts, play with what makes you happy. Expand
  13. KevinF.
    Dec 26, 2003
    8
    It's very good, but not a classic.
  14. KyleW.
    Dec 22, 2003
    0
    Are you losers insane? This game has got to be THE WORST game I have ever played. Worse than Amped, worse than Spyro, worse than sour milk left in the sun for 3 days! The whole game blows, it's just as bad, if not worse than the original! I own 2 of the 3 SSX games, and they completely blow this game out of the water. With superior graphics, sound, controls, replayability, Are you losers insane? This game has got to be THE WORST game I have ever played. Worse than Amped, worse than Spyro, worse than sour milk left in the sun for 3 days! The whole game blows, it's just as bad, if not worse than the original! I own 2 of the 3 SSX games, and they completely blow this game out of the water. With superior graphics, sound, controls, replayability, multiplayer, and everything!!! IF you say you want a racing game, stick with the SSX series, you people are always saying that "1080 is for racers", complete bull crap, the day this can be called a racing game is the day I shave my head, and stick little novelty chickens to it with super glue. Yeah, maybe you get a different perception of speed with 1080 because of some blurring effects, but does that really matter? NO! Ssx's racing style is like no other. Great feel of speed WITHOUT cheesy blurr effects, a style that can be combined to fit tricks into it if you want to race. IE tricking to get boost. Uhh.. Where else to hate... The characters... How crappy is this? Have you people even TRIED any of the ssx games? hu? Thats what I thought. Your all stupid for thinking this game is any good. okay, lets compare. SSX - Fully customizable characters. 1080 - Nothing. SSX - Great amount of replayability. 1080 - NOTHING. SSX - Slits the throat of all the other sports games out there. 1080 - Cowers in the corner while SSX goes on it's killing rampage. Expand
  15. Mike
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    A lot of reviewers are hating on this game just because it tries to do something different. That makes me angry. Here we have a game that actually tries some innovation in the quickly becoming stale extreme sports genre, and all the reviewers jump on it for not being enough like SSX or any of the other hundreds of extreme sports games out there. Some reviewers(like Gamepro, Nintendo A lot of reviewers are hating on this game just because it tries to do something different. That makes me angry. Here we have a game that actually tries some innovation in the quickly becoming stale extreme sports genre, and all the reviewers jump on it for not being enough like SSX or any of the other hundreds of extreme sports games out there. Some reviewers(like Gamepro, Nintendo Power, Cube UK, and more) have decided to actually look at the qualities of the game, instead of complaining about how different it is, and how it doesnt do "feature x" like "feature y" in SSX. This is a racing game. If you dont want a racing game, and instead want to trick, then get SSX. But if you're getting tired of the same old, same old in the extreme sports genre, 1080 might be for you. The sense of speed in this game is unbeatable. Even all those futuristic races like Wipeout and F Zero that have you going at over 1000 kmph dont compare. Thats not to say you go faster than in those games. You dont. But the exhiliration you get from the speed in this game is unbeatable. The controls are simple, and intuitive, but reveal alot of depth. The trick system is easy to use, but thankfully, you arent forced to use it in order to win. There are several great tracks, and you can replay all of them with different weather affects that dramatically effect gameplay. There are some nice unlockables. The character designs are great, and you'll love all of them. 1080 isnt for everyone. But for the people that are willing to give a try to something new, you'll enjoy it very much. The snowboarding king is back, better than ever. To put it simply: This is the best Gamecube game since Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. Expand
  16. RogerG.
    Dec 7, 2003
    9
    Reallly good game! Single Player is fun, but multiplayer is much funnier! Snowboarding game of the year.
  17. Marcj.
    Dec 4, 2003
    10
    Don't believe bad critics. This game is a true gem that reveals itself once Extreme mode is unlocked. Gate Challenge allows a fantastic replay value. Some reviewers must hate Nintendo to post such bad reviews on 1080°. This game deserves to be played and played again, believe me :-) I love it
  18. PatrickdeJong
    Dec 3, 2003
    8
    This game owns!
  19. DarrenB.
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    Go dude!
  20. LucaR.
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    Superb snowboarding game, for me, better than ssx 3.
  21. MarkW.
    Nov 27, 2003
    9
    This is the most exciting snowboarding game around.
  22. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    The game is very fun today in 2012, one of the most special game for GameCube, a good game, with good dificulty and great music tracks, and the multiplayer is very funny :)
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol 788; 23 Jan 2004]
  2. Avalanche imparts the varying depths of snow, anything from sheet ice to knee-deep drifts, much better than its nearest rivals. Crouching for speed, leaping precipices and then absorbing the shock upon landing is a majestic sensation only bettered by the original. [Feb 2004, p.104]
  3. We can't recommend this game enough. If it's an adrenalin rush you're after, then 1080° Avalanche could be the snowboarding rush you've dreamed of. From Nintendo, with Love.