• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2004
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. 80
    The main problem with Amazing Island is that in Story mode, there's too much downtime in between courses. Still, it's good to see a game that celebrates creation rather than destruction and puts playful competition above vomitous gore. [Sept 2004, p.85]
  2. Despite the fantastic Monster Editing mode and all the game's charm, it's not the exactly the height of originality and can be completed way too easily. Still, whilst the game may not be amazing, it's pretty darn good.
  3. The creatures you make aren't always what you mean to, some of the minigames are beyond tedious, the graphics are a little primary color-happy, and the rewards (outside of new stuff for your monsters) are surprisingly uninspired. [Sept 2004, p.112]
  4. The game is creation driven and making new goofy monsters will appeal to most and the sport like games will please those parents who want a less violent title for their young children.
  5. Sorely lacking some solid gameplay elements. Although the game is targeted at a younger audience, it’s still a shame to see so much of the game’s potential get lost in a sea of only a handful of mini-games.
  6. Graphics are not very great though, and coming from Sega I was very disappointed. Also I wish that you could have been able to do more as well in terms of gameplay.
  7. 7 / 7 / 7 / 6 - 27 [Vol 787]
  8. 67
    Amazing Island could have used a little more depth. True, it’s technically a kid’s game, but even younger gamers will expect a little more.
  9. Sega is gunning for the Pokemon/Yu-Gi-Oh! set with Amazing Island, but the game lacks the gameplay depth that makes Pokemon a guilty pleasure for older gamers and the strong branding that makes Yu-Gi-Oh! so ubiquitous with the lunchbox-and-backpack crowd.
  10. A tale of two games. One is a set of button-smashing mini-games with questionable entertainment value. The other is one of the greatest creative tools ever released for consoles. The problem is, you have to play a lot of the former to really experience the latter.
  11. Amazing Island has good graphics and sound, but the gameplay, with its mini-games, is too repetitive... Of course, the lack of multiplayer hurts this game the most.
  12. 65
    The game would be a lot better if there was a wider variety of mini-games and a few four player battle mini-games. However, as it is, there are 30 mini-games and only about 15 are genuinely unique.
  13. While the monster creation is excellent, the minigames feel more rudimentary. [Sept 2004, p.93]
  14. Gameplay is tuned for gamers of all skill levels. [Oct 2004, p.124]
  15. Monster making is the fundamental novelty attributed to Amazing Island. Creating monsters of your own design is fun but the gameplay is not up to the challenge of eclipsing this designing process.
  16. Remind me - what exactly is it about frantic, feverish, and somewhat random button-pressing that's...fun? 'Cause these minigames just aren't. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  17. I kept waiting for a real adventure to unfold, but it never materialized. [Sept 2004, p.73]
  18. It’s a promising set-up, but one that’s flawed at nearly every level... You’re left with the overwhelming sensation of a Christmas present with no batteries to go in it. [Nov 2004, p.111]
  19. 40
    Amazing Island is the sort of game that lies tantalizingly close to the edge of coolness, yet remains firmly on the side of mediocrity.
  20. Unfortunately, the poorly designed mini-games and boring gameplay takes most of the joy out of creation, effectively dropping this fantasy land into the shallow end of the kiddie pool.
  21. It's a cute game, with monsters that would make excellent stuffed animals, but the execution is too childlike for adults and not intuitive enough for children.
  22. 20
    Feels like the product of a completely different publisher; the sort of output you would expect from a desperate company, eager to cash in on current gaming trends. For now, Amazing Island remains a failed experiment.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    4
    I admit that when I was a teenager, I saw this ad for a game that was like Mario Party and Pokemon combined, I was curious. I laid down theI admit that when I was a teenager, I saw this ad for a game that was like Mario Party and Pokemon combined, I was curious. I laid down the money to purchase this game, and even today, I have regrets.

    It's full of raging, senseless button mashing. This gets the adrenaline pumping for about five minutes, and then you begin wondering if there is ever an end in sight. I have a theory that games that have a lot of button mashing correlates to greater frustration. You get all riled up because you're hitting a button all the time, but then you fail, and it's exasperating cause all you're doing is jamming a button.

    The difficulty also spikes towards the end, making this issue even worse. Then you wonder if you need to create more monsters, but there isn't much that specially defines them. They come in all shapes and sizes, and you can adjust them to all sorts of hideous shapes for some mild amusement, but otherwise, it's completely forgettable.

    At the end of the day, I simply dislike this game, and I still regret buying it. No matter how much I try redeeming it.
    Full Review »
  2. AndrewT.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    It's fun to make monsters!
  3. TuraA.
    Jul 11, 2006
    7
    The game is fun for the most part, but the mini games get extremely boring, especially when you have to play them a lot of times to get all The game is fun for the most part, but the mini games get extremely boring, especially when you have to play them a lot of times to get all of the items, but I spend hours at the monster creation place. Full Review »