• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Amazing Island Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Black Evil has taken over Amazing Island and captured its natives, the Maboo tribe. Now it's up to you to defeat the Black Evil, take back the land, and return it to its rightful owners. To do so, you must use your imagination to create your own monster and enter it in a series of competitions involving timing, speed, and head-to-head battles. The victor receives magical orbs that hold the power of the island and the keys to returning peace and prosperity to Amazing Island. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. 80
    The main problem with Amazing Island is that in Story mode, there's too much downtime in between courses. Still, it's good to see a game that celebrates creation rather than destruction and puts playful competition above vomitous gore. [Sept 2004, p.85]
  2. The creatures you make aren't always what you mean to, some of the minigames are beyond tedious, the graphics are a little primary color-happy, and the rewards (outside of new stuff for your monsters) are surprisingly uninspired. [Sept 2004, p.112]
  3. Sorely lacking some solid gameplay elements. Although the game is targeted at a younger audience, it’s still a shame to see so much of the game’s potential get lost in a sea of only a handful of mini-games.
  4. 65
    The game would be a lot better if there was a wider variety of mini-games and a few four player battle mini-games. However, as it is, there are 30 mini-games and only about 15 are genuinely unique.
  5. Gameplay is tuned for gamers of all skill levels. [Oct 2004, p.124]
  6. Remind me - what exactly is it about frantic, feverish, and somewhat random button-pressing that's...fun? 'Cause these minigames just aren't. [Oct 2004, p.114]
  7. 20
    Feels like the product of a completely different publisher; the sort of output you would expect from a desperate company, eager to cash in on current gaming trends. For now, Amazing Island remains a failed experiment.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. AndrewT.
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    It's fun to make monsters!
  2. JosephT.
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    This game is fun, and will always be different. This is how a game should be.
  3. TuraA.
    Jul 11, 2006
    7
    The game is fun for the most part, but the mini games get extremely boring, especially when you have to play them a lot of times to get all of the items, but I spend hours at the monster creation place. Collapse
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    4
    I admit that when I was a teenager, I saw this ad for a game that was like Mario Party and Pokemon combined, I was curious. I laid down the money to purchase this game, and even today, I have regrets.

    It's full of raging, senseless button mashing. This gets the adrenaline pumping for about five minutes, and then you begin wondering if there is ever an end in sight. I have a theory that games that have a lot of button mashing correlates to greater frustration. You get all riled up because you're hitting a button all the time, but then you fail, and it's exasperating cause all you're doing is jamming a button.

    The difficulty also spikes towards the end, making this issue even worse. Then you wonder if you need to create more monsters, but there isn't much that specially defines them. They come in all shapes and sizes, and you can adjust them to all sorts of hideous shapes for some mild amusement, but otherwise, it's completely forgettable.

    At the end of the day, I simply dislike this game, and I still regret buying it. No matter how much I try redeeming it.
    Expand