Baten Kaitos: Eternal Wings and the Lost Ocean GameCube

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 66
  2. Negative: 4 out of 66
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AthrunZ.
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Loved. Must have.
  2. AustinR.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I loved it....the graphics were amazing,and the gameplay was great......I LOVE THIS RPG!!!!
  3. TheElusivePossom
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    Baten Kaitos gets a lot of things right: the soundtrack is brilliant, for starters, being a delicious mix of orchestral splendour and power metal. The pre-rendered backgrounds look great, and the character models suit them well. The battle system is certainly inventive and easy to get into, although perhaps unnecessarily involved (I've almost finished the game, and I haven't Baten Kaitos gets a lot of things right: the soundtrack is brilliant, for starters, being a delicious mix of orchestral splendour and power metal. The pre-rendered backgrounds look great, and the character models suit them well. The battle system is certainly inventive and easy to get into, although perhaps unnecessarily involved (I've almost finished the game, and I haven't paid any attention to the run/pairs combo system). The storyline is pretty well thought out and movement not as linear as some other RPGs. However, the voice-acting is unfortunately dire, but this can be turned off. Also, if you're the kind of person who wants to find everything in a game, then be prepared to take a LOT of pictures early on with the camera Magnus, because you'll kick yourself when you lack the essence of the first boss you faced. Expand
  4. CarlC.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Near perfect. Best RPG I've ever played.
  5. KatieH.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    The only bad thing about this game are the VOICE ACTORS. Oh my god, it sounds like it was recorded in a toilet bowl.
  6. KilioF.
    Dec 4, 2004
    10
    Great.
  7. GouletteD.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    This is gamecube masterpiece that every gamecuber must have. Unique and very addictive. Stunning visuals and near-perfect gameplay.
  8. JonathanZ.
    Feb 13, 2005
    6
    As I played Baten Kaitos: Eternal Wings and Lost Ocean for the first hour, I was blown away by the beautiful backgrounds, each almost a work of art. (Rather than being full 3-D, they
  9. Ellix
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    This game managed to leave a lasting impression on me due to its amazing graphics, and innovative card battling system (which I originally received mixed reviews from). However the flaw to some is that the story and characters are not the greatest, so someone who isn't very patient and expects tons of plot-twisters and action will be affected negatively. However the story didn't This game managed to leave a lasting impression on me due to its amazing graphics, and innovative card battling system (which I originally received mixed reviews from). However the flaw to some is that the story and characters are not the greatest, so someone who isn't very patient and expects tons of plot-twisters and action will be affected negatively. However the story didn't keep me from having a great experience with this RPG. Expand
  10. JosefW.
    May 18, 2005
    9
    Truly a beautiful game. A Master Piece.
  11. KrystalB.
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    A delightfully epic and original game, though perhaps at times more original than actually good. Overall, though, definitely a must-play.
  12. Billy
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Only other rpg that comes close is tales of symphonia. must buy.
  13. YukiS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Baten Kaitos is an amazing rpg game that I became obsessed with the moment I watched the intro. The score is amazing and vibrant, ranging from slow classical to speedy almost rock. The graphics are spectacular, and the charactor development takes you in to the game. I admit to throwing pillows at the t.v. when a particurally annoying scene came. The card-style fighting system is Baten Kaitos is an amazing rpg game that I became obsessed with the moment I watched the intro. The score is amazing and vibrant, ranging from slow classical to speedy almost rock. The graphics are spectacular, and the charactor development takes you in to the game. I admit to throwing pillows at the t.v. when a particurally annoying scene came. The card-style fighting system is challenging (I still haven't gotton the combo system thing down yet). What really pulled me into the game were the graphics and the settings. The intro is amazing, and really gives you a taste for what's to come. I recommend it to anyone who loves rpg's, and to everyone who isn't a big fan, either. Expand
  14. JohnG.
    Jan 29, 2005
    8
    I love the battle System in this game! the fact that you get to use the cards to battle is cool.
  15. alcaponeDonking
    Dec 18, 2004
    2
    This is is soo rubbish maaaaannn. the graphics are great but apart from dat the gameplay and story is SHHHHHH$%^*T. The voice over will anyoo the hell out of yah.
  16. RyanM.
    Dec 19, 2004
    9
    Compare this to other recent rpg's, and you realize just how awesome this whole game is. graphically it is incredible, and it also has a unique new battle style. don't confuse "card game" with yu-gi-oh. ignorant people will dismiss this game for that point alone. baten kaitos has everything we need in an rpg. if tales of sympthonia didn't exist, then there would be nothingCompare this to other recent rpg's, and you realize just how awesome this whole game is. graphically it is incredible, and it also has a unique new battle style. don't confuse "card game" with yu-gi-oh. ignorant people will dismiss this game for that point alone. baten kaitos has everything we need in an rpg. if tales of sympthonia didn't exist, then there would be nothing comparable to baten kaitos and it would deserve a 10. Expand
  17. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    Baten Kaitos is conflicted and flawed but still manages to be an enjoyable game. The story is familiar, cliche, and predictable but well written and charming at the same time. The voice acting is horrid but you can turn it off. The environments are often gorgeous but character animations are stiff and awkward. The card battle system is as refreshingly different as it is deep but alsoBaten Kaitos is conflicted and flawed but still manages to be an enjoyable game. The story is familiar, cliche, and predictable but well written and charming at the same time. The voice acting is horrid but you can turn it off. The environments are often gorgeous but character animations are stiff and awkward. The card battle system is as refreshingly different as it is deep but also flawed and frequently frustrating. The only thing that doesn't have anything detracting from it would be the score, which is solid across the board. Perhaps the best card in it's hand is that it's an actual RPG on the Gamecube. That alone is reason enough for owners of the system (or the Wii) to check it out if they have the opportunity. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This game has a magical atmosphere that surrounds all. Everything contribute to this. Artwork, story (a bit cliche but charming, intriguing and the most interesting plot twists i've seen in a game of this type) and the (amazing, brilliant, virtuous) music. It's not the typical role game, the battle system is weird, hard to dominate at the end of the game but easy to get into and veryThis game has a magical atmosphere that surrounds all. Everything contribute to this. Artwork, story (a bit cliche but charming, intriguing and the most interesting plot twists i've seen in a game of this type) and the (amazing, brilliant, virtuous) music. It's not the typical role game, the battle system is weird, hard to dominate at the end of the game but easy to get into and very attractive. Also, if you can't dominate it as good as you would want to you still won't get stuck in any part of the game, because of it's difficulty. It's very well adjusted, with some thrilling spikes. The duration of the storyline is about 35 hours, and with all the secrets it reaches 100 hours.This game won't leave you indifferent. You'll probably love it. Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    [Spanish] El juego está bastante bien aunque tira demasiado de clichés para los personajes, en algunas ocasiones faltos de carisma, sobre todo Kalas, el protagonista, el juego es bastante preciosista y la verdad es que pese a que su sistema de batallas es algo confuso y deja mucho al azar el juego merece la pena ser probado al menos .
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    I had high hopes for this game, having heard generally positive things. However i couldn't help but be disapointed. The story is incredibly bland and cliche and the characters are boring. At first I liked the battle system. It seemed to filled with good ideas. But unfortuneatly it got worse instead of better as it went along. You get less time to make desicions. And eventually it feelsI had high hopes for this game, having heard generally positive things. However i couldn't help but be disapointed. The story is incredibly bland and cliche and the characters are boring. At first I liked the battle system. It seemed to filled with good ideas. But unfortuneatly it got worse instead of better as it went along. You get less time to make desicions. And eventually it feels like you have no idea what cards you'll end up with. I must admit the music and graphics are good. I however feel the package as a whole did not deliver. Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    This game has all that makes a wonderful game. I was charmed by its combat system that is original, yet easy to understand. The graphics are really good for a game of this generation, and the story is wonderful.
  22. Apr 6, 2017
    9
    Excellent game, and one of my favorites.

    The battle system is unique, but it eases players into it so they don't feel overwhelmed right out of the gate. Battling is handled in a JRPG style, in that overworld navigation and the action take place separately. The combat is turn based, but runs off a timer so the player can't sit around all day thinking about what to do. It does give you
    Excellent game, and one of my favorites.

    The battle system is unique, but it eases players into it so they don't feel overwhelmed right out of the gate. Battling is handled in a JRPG style, in that overworld navigation and the action take place separately. The combat is turn based, but runs off a timer so the player can't sit around all day thinking about what to do. It does give you time to rest between turns while you review the outcome of each turn, which keeps the battling from getting too stressful. While grinding can help against some tougher foes, I never found it necessary to succeed. The only real fault I can find is that many enemies are just recolored versions of other enemies, including some bosses. Overall, I feel the combat is excellent.

    Another unique mechanic that the game uses real time changes to your items. For example, healing fruit will go bad and turn into rotten fruit that can be used to poison enemies. Healing bamboo shoots will turn into full grown bamboo that can be used to attack enemies. The changes brought about by this mechanic are generally good and bad in equal measure, keeping it fun and not frustrating. One downside of this, however, is that for completionists looking to collect every item, that task is nearly impossible. Not only does the game have tons of items, but many are rare and can be lost forever if overlooked. The game also has a item crafting mechanic, but the requirements to create these new items are often too complex to realistically achieve. On the whole, it's something unique and memorable that I look back on fondly.

    The game itself is gorgeous. The artwork is very detailed, for both background and foreground work. When in motion, however, it becomes a little less pretty. Overworld models have a very limited number of actions meaning movement can be quite awkward, such as using a character's walking animation when the character is just turning around. The running and jumping animations are also stilted, unnatural, and used fairly frequently. This mixed bag in terms of presentation leaves the player with very memorable moments, for both stupendously good and cringingly bad.

    The plot is your fairly standard "save the world" sort of stuff, but it has just enough twists to keep it interesting. There's one twist in particular, that I won't spoil, the likes of which I can't say I've seen anywhere else. The epic scale of the plot also means that even when parts aren't thematically original, you still feel great doing it. The game is extremely long, one of the few GameCube games to require two disks to play it. This means loads of content and plenty of time to get your money's worth, and the plot stays interesting enough to keep it from getting stale.

    The characters, with a few exceptions, aren't particularly nuanced, but that doesn't mean they aren't enjoyable. The heroes (main character not withstanding) tend to be paragons of virtue and the antagonists tend to be irredeemable. The broad strokes aren't bad, but they're not great either. That said, if one cares to look deeper into the characters, there is personality enough to stay invested in them. There is voice acting, and while some players may get turned off by the quality of it, I personally can't mark the game down for it because the occasionally strange or wooden performances can be hilarious and charming in their own right.

    Baten Kaitos has many successes and shortcomings, but for the most part even its shortcomings are charming and endearing. What true cons it has are brilliantly outshone by its pros, which make it a unique and unforgettable experience. Because people's "it's so bad it's good" meters vary, its flaws may weigh more heavily on some than others. Your mileage may very, but I believe you will find this to be anywhere between a good game and a masterpiece. No matter what I believe you will have a good time, and I can't recommend it highly enough.
    Expand
  23. Jul 25, 2016
    9
    This game has what I expected from Namco. This game has great gameplay but it is a bit overused. The game has great graphics and controls. This game almost has it all.

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
#15 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2004
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 782]
  2. 80
    An enchanting tapestry of stylistic design, a deep and unconventional battle system, and fifty hours-plus of rewarding game play.
  3. While the story and characters are unfortunately very weak, Baten Kaitos is easy to recommend to anyone looking for an RPG that focuses strongly on gameplay rather than storytelling.