Bomberman Generation Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bomberman makes his explosive debut on Nintendo GameCube! Mujoe and his gang are up to their old tricks. This time, they're after the Bomb Elements - powerful crystals that will give them the means to rule the universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 90
    Plays like Zelda with bombs instead of swords and shields.
  2. Loads of awesome game types to play with your buds. [August 2002, p.136]
  3. 80
    The gameplay is so enjoyable, however, that it should almost be required to at least try - especially the multiplayer mode.
  4. While the single player is rather ordinary, the multiplayer mode makes Bomberman Generation a must for GameCube owners with friends. [August 2002, p.82]
  5. Soaked in Club Med tunes, predictable, by the numbers gameplay, and slow methodical pacing; in other words, it ain't the bomb. [Aug 2002, p.71]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Shawn
    Jun 20, 2002
    10
    This game is the best game on the market right now.
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This game provides the highest level of entertainment any person's heart can desire; its combination of gameplay, graphics and game modes assemble a thrilling, exciting explosion of a game.

    Hudson have continued in their genius series of Bomberman and have reincarnated the renowned old-style gameplay of Bomberman into an explosive ecstasy of great graphics, cinematics and gameplay. The story mode in Bomberman Generation is, by far, the most action-packed yet adventurous of all Bomberman games to date with the introduction to the notorious antagonist Mujoe and his army of Hige Hige Bandits. The thrill doesn't stop there though; there are fun yet challenging levels, tough bosses and parts of the game you need to go back to once you obtain certain items and "Charaboms", which are obtainable characters which serve their purpose to Bomberman throughout the game. Charaboms are obtained through battling with your own Charabom, and various items to create different forms of bombs are obtained through exciting mini games which can be played at any time once the Single Player mode is completed.

    The multiplayer (Battle) mode on Bomberman Generation provides entertainment on a whole new level. There are five different battles in which you can battle against the computer or your friends: Reversi, Coin, Dodge, Revenge and, last but most certainly not least, Standard. If you are just looking for a game to kill a lot of time, I would highly recommend this brilliant Hudson production; it is by far the most fun you will have guaranteed.
    Expand
  3. MikEPaynE
    Jun 13, 2002
    10
    D-Bomberman-Generation-X!! This game rules. I love just playing the oldskool bomberman modes but then they got the 3D adventure mode so it makes it all the better. Go down to your local Best Buy or Curcuit City and Buy this game because if you dont then i got 2 words for you!! SUCK IT! Collapse
  4. Kyle
    Jun 17, 2002
    9
    Short and very enjoyable single player, but the old-school multiplayer is the reason to buy this game.
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    One of the very few Bomberman games where the single player mode is just as enjoyable as the multiplayer mode. Following the precedent of the three Nintendo 64 titles, Bomberman Generation gives us a wide open area to explore and destroy in adventure mode with solid controls, interesting puzzles, and challenging bosses. The integration of the Charabom system as well as the return of elemental bombs makes single player mode an enjoyable experience. The battle mode remains as addicting as ever. With several modes such as the classic battle mode, Bomberman Generation is a great game to enjoy with friends or alone. Expand
  6. TheoA.
    Sep 26, 2003
    8
    Bomberman has earned a place in the Video Game Hall of Fame. With a history of great games Majesco doesn't fail with its latest installment. This game was meant to play 4-player. Do not buy this for its single player. Most of the re-play value comes from multi-player. Recommended for fans of the series and those who crowd aroun there TV for multi-player mayhem. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    Ah, Bomberman. Good old Bomberman.
    Out of all the local multiplayer games I've played Bomberman in general has got to be one of my all time
    favorites, next to Worms, and Mario Party. The playful chaos of the games always gets me coming back. Unfortunately we haven't seen much of him recently, and the last one I bought was on the Dreamcast, to which I no longer have. I tried to play some of the newer ones, but in terms of the multiplayer, I think this one is the most "recent" one that offers the best experience. Now that is the multiplayer.
    The story on the other hand, I don't care for. That said, I didn't care for the ones on N64, but many people liked it, and I can't say it is bad.
    If you've never played Bomberman, definitely start with this one, from what I gather the story is about as good as the other ones, and the multiplayer is one of the best ones to date(Saturn Bomberman still trumps them all, but I don't have a Saturn) and you can still play in on the Wii if you don't have a gamecube(or like me, dump the game to PC and play on Dolphin emulator. Works like a charm for me and the multiplayer works perfect. That said, I'm not condoning Piracy, I own the game).
    In the end, even if you don't like one mode or the other, as far as I can see, Bomberman Generations is probably one of the best choices despite its "age". Pick it up will ya?
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews