Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 100
    The way a sequel should be: stuffed full of new features, better graphics, improved game play, and be so damn addicting that you can not put it down, even to go to the bathroom.
  2. There's no story line, but Burnout 2 is one of those games that's actually better for the lack of it. [28 July 2003, p.82]
  3. 100
    Everything about it is totally right: The A.I. is brilliant, the graphics are hot, and the game modes are fresh and original. [June 2003, p.40]
  4. Combines tight control and frantic game play with stunning audio/visuals that scream next-generation from start to finish.
  5. I had and am still having a lot of fun with the first Burnout, and Burnout 2 is better in every way.
  6. Full of options and it plays like a dream, but even if you're not playing you'll be impressed.
  7. A blast to play, even for those who are not big fans of racing games. It's easy to pick up and play, and the variety of modes and tracks keeps things interesting for a long time.
  8. In terms of flat out fun and speed, not much can touch Burnout 2: Point of Impact.
  9. This game came out of left field, but it smacked a grand slam right out of the ballpark!
  10. One of those rare arcade racers that comes along every now and then and will tear you away from “real racing” games that you said you would never stop playing.
  11. Perfectly calibrated controls, realistic graphics and an incredible sense of speed and danger make Burnout 2: Point of Impact the most satisfying driving experience on the GCN. [June 2003, p.137]
  12. The best arcade racing experience available on the GameCube. If your a fan of the first than this is a must buy.
  13. The framerate is as smooth as it gets as 60 fps. It gets cut in half for the split screen mode but still looks great.
  14. About as perfect as an arcade racing game can be.
  15. 90
    Visually, the game’s a stunner—cars look great thanks to a high polygon count, and when they crash, parts fly absolutely everywhere.
  16. 88
    The fastest, tightest racer on the GameCube to date.
  17. No shabby port from the PS2, this version actually contains more than the PS2 version.
  18. If you don’t like Burnout 2 there is seriously something wrong with you.
  19. 85
    I can only highly recommend it to any arcade racing fan. It's definitely worth a buy, even if the single-player content can be experienced in five hours of less.
  20. Isn't terribly different from the original Burnout--it just makes significantly better use of all the elements that the game does well, from its blistering sense of speed to its hilariously destructive crashes.
  21. Hardcore sim fans won't be too impressed, but I would argue that this game's balls-out mayhem is just what you stodgy, gear-ratio-calculatin', downforce-tweakin' fools need. [May 2003, p.85]
  22. Few racers match the sheer excitement of unleashing the boost on a straightaway to the accompaniment of wailing guitars. [June 2003, p.68]
  23. Easy to get into, intensely fun, and horribly addictive - the best racer on the Cube by a long shot. [June 2003, p.80]
  24. 80
    Burnout 2 makes other arcade racing games seem like "Driving Miss Daisy." You won't find a faster, more visceral racing game on the GameCube or any other platform.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. KarlN.
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    Given the hype about this game, arguably the best racing game for the GameCube, I was pretty disappointed. The other consoles certainly have better games. The cars, for a crashing game like this, handled too sim-like. The speed felt scary fast but the good speed didn't start until late in the game. There are lots of invisible walls, which I can tolerate for a game like this, I guess. But there was something missing in the handling of the cars. My friends seemed to really like this one, so the designers must be doing something right, but I thought that it could have been better. Full Review »
  2. TimB.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Easily better than the original Burnout and with far better load times than Revenge on the PS2. This is the best racer I've ever played (except maybe Mario Kart Double Dash). PGR3 on 360 looks better of course but nowhere near the fun. I honestly don't know what they could have done to make it better except online play. Full Review »
  3. A.S.
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    Awesome fun. i have the first burnout as well, but once you get burnout 2 you will never go back to playin burnout 1 (i tried and it was boring so i went back to burnout 2). it improves on everything that was in the first game and adds more. since gamecube owners wont be able to get any other burnouts this is the best on the system. Full Review »