Chibi-Robo! GameCube
Chibi-Robo! Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Sanderson family just got the ultimate in high-tech, house-helper technology: Chibi-Robo. In this inventive, story-driven game, players guide a miniature robot as he completes chores and clashes with enemies in his epic quest to become the highest-ranked Chibi-Robo out there. The livingThe Sanderson family just got the ultimate in high-tech, house-helper technology: Chibi-Robo. In this inventive, story-driven game, players guide a miniature robot as he completes chores and clashes with enemies in his epic quest to become the highest-ranked Chibi-Robo out there. The living room can be a dangerous place when you're a robot less than a foot tall, so players will need to team up with the native toys to overcome obstacles, rack up points and keep the family happy. Normally running on battery power, Chibi-Robo needs to plug into power outlets with his built-in cord when he runs low on juice. Doing chores has never been so much fun. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. And it's another clever import from Japan that will remind you why you're not done with your Gamecube just yet. Last generation talent will always trump next-gen technology. [May 2006, p.90]
  2. It has its share of quirks that do frustrate from time to time, mainly early on, but in the end the sheer charm, originality and fun-factor Chibi-Robo exudes is uplifting enough to easily earn the game my stamp of approval.
  3. It has memorable characters that also help to make it a good game, from a dysfunctional family to a nectar addicted teddy-bear named sunshine.
  4. 80
    A surprising combination of both weirdness and wonder, this should help pass the time between now and "Twilight Princess."
  5. It's loveable, yes, but those household tasks can be a chore for all the wrong reasons. [June 2006, p.58]
  6. As with many Nintendo products, it's the 'feel' that sells this title. It's near impossible not to have fun while playing - even if you're determined to hate it - and it's one of those titles you've really got to play to understand. [Sept 2005, p.104]
  7. 30
    Cleaning in a video game is even less fun than cleaning in real life. Only a masochist would find this charming. And recharging little Chibi every five fucking minutes sucks harder than our Dirt Devil.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Designerwhite
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    The difference between reviewer scores and the player scores indicate to me that many reviewers are morons. They are sick of life, playing The difference between reviewer scores and the player scores indicate to me that many reviewers are morons. They are sick of life, playing games, and all that is good in the world. Stuff magazine is written by 12 year olds. This is one of the best platformers since Ocarina of Time, and the graphics perfectly suit the storytelling. Great art direction make the title shine. This game deals with far more mature themes than any grand theft auto; reviewers who don't see that are absolute morons, period. Expand
  2. EricB.
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    I've never smiled so much while playing a game. Me and my girlfriend have been having a great time playing this game. Don't listen I've never smiled so much while playing a game. Me and my girlfriend have been having a great time playing this game. Don't listen to Game Informer or any others that rate it low, this is a great game with nicely tuned controls and plenty of neat upgrades for your Chibi-Robo. It's not as easy as they want you to believe, but it's not hard either. The comments about graphics are unfounded as well, and show the problem with today's game industry. The graphics fit the title to a "T", and are fun to look at. This game is FUN; there's no way around it. You will smile when you play this game. But don't listen to me, at least rent it to see what a neat experience it is. Think Toy Commander for Dreamcast with a little robot and many more customization options! Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    Chibi Robo uses very stylish graphics for these modern times and portrays highly enthusiastic and emotional characters. highly recommended Chibi Robo uses very stylish graphics for these modern times and portrays highly enthusiastic and emotional characters. highly recommended for cartoon lovers and videogame junkies that selectivly pick their games. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Don't be fooled by it's quirky robots and toys: This game is actually pretty good. How they took a mundane task like chores, and made it intoDon't be fooled by it's quirky robots and toys: This game is actually pretty good. How they took a mundane task like chores, and made it into a fun, sometimes dramatic, game is beyond me, but those crazies at Skip did. It. If you (for some reason) are looking for Gamecube games to try, give this one a spin. It won't disappoint... or maybe it will... It's an acquired taste. Expand
  5. TonyG.
    Mar 8, 2006
    8
    this game is alot of fun. it is nice to see some quirky jap games come to the states. had a blast with mr mosquito, and this game in some way this game is alot of fun. it is nice to see some quirky jap games come to the states. had a blast with mr mosquito, and this game in some way reminds me of it. great for all ages! and it seems like these games should be reviewed by people who like these kind of games. not people who like sports games and such. thats the problem these days. opinions are like assholes, everyone has got one. Collapse
  6. DylanL.
    Mar 19, 2006
    7
    When I got the game, I played for about 4 hours a day for about a week and a half. This was in late February, and I havent played it since. I When I got the game, I played for about 4 hours a day for about a week and a half. This was in late February, and I havent played it since. I just got bored. Expand
  7. Sam
    May 4, 2006
    2
    An abomonabaly bad mess that's about as fun as cleaning a clogged toilet with your bare hands.

See all 8 User Reviews