Custom Robo GameCube
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobF.
    May 12, 2004
    9
    it is really good for action gammers.And the robo combonations are endless.
  2. Jeffbighead
    May 13, 2004
    8
    This games gameplay is a little weak but it compared to the great gameplay of sonic battle. The graphics are awesome and the sound is so clear you can here your robots feet clang along the ground even while your friends are blowing stuff up and making a lot of noise. I wish this game would have less talking and more fighting, and the story is kind of dumb, but in a way it is realistic, This games gameplay is a little weak but it compared to the great gameplay of sonic battle. The graphics are awesome and the sound is so clear you can here your robots feet clang along the ground even while your friends are blowing stuff up and making a lot of noise. I wish this game would have less talking and more fighting, and the story is kind of dumb, but in a way it is realistic, the way the people do the battles is kind of gay, because the mechs are only a couple inches high, and the whole holloseum stuff is dumb, i thought there was gonna be destruction all over the place. But this game is still good. Multiplayer is fun but the customizing makes it kind of complicated. So when you are gonna play with a friend make sure you know what guns your gonna use. So over I gave this game an 8 as you already know, but i still wish it were a little better. Also the mechs look cooler than mega man could ever be, and if they ever got in a fight, Ray 01 would kick his ass. Collapse
  3. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2004
    6
    This game is decent, but not nearly as good as most Nintendo games. The gameplay is too simple and repetitive (but customizing is fun).
  4. MeD.
    Apr 21, 2004
    9
    Almost unlimited customize options make this game extremly replayable. Playing the excellent multiplayer game is one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had. Seriously, you must experiance it.
  5. RyanM.
    May 25, 2004
    7
    Starting off, Custom Robo is one of those sleeper hits of the year. Some people knew it was out, and were dying for the first American release. Well, this game does disappoint a bit. My biggest complaint is the character's response. The controls don't respond quickly enough. And when you play a 4 player match it gets confusing to see where you are and what your doing. I also Starting off, Custom Robo is one of those sleeper hits of the year. Some people knew it was out, and were dying for the first American release. Well, this game does disappoint a bit. My biggest complaint is the character's response. The controls don't respond quickly enough. And when you play a 4 player match it gets confusing to see where you are and what your doing. I also didn't enjoy all the talking and corny storyline. I was pressing the A button repeatedly to hear the dumb Custom Robo storyline then playing the game. Way too much dialogue, throughout the whole thing. But none the less, i managed to sqeeze out a fun enjoyable experience out of Custom Robo. for die hard melee fans. And also, the mechs in this game are the coolest looking things i have ever seen in all my life of looking at mechs. Custom Robo is a fast paced melee fighter with the action and gameplay of a good game, but the stroyline of a crappy game. Expand
  6. LaughingJack
    May 27, 2004
    8
    Is is honestly possible that this game has received less critical acclaim than Phantasy Star Online III, when Custom Robo is almost certainly: better made, better written and more fun? Custom Robo is truly rapturous, refreshing and rambunctious; a title to be strongle recommended to any of the world's plethora of avid "collect and battle" enthusiasts, whose time and money could not Is is honestly possible that this game has received less critical acclaim than Phantasy Star Online III, when Custom Robo is almost certainly: better made, better written and more fun? Custom Robo is truly rapturous, refreshing and rambunctious; a title to be strongle recommended to any of the world's plethora of avid "collect and battle" enthusiasts, whose time and money could not be better spent. Expand
  7. TimH.
    Jun 23, 2004
    6
    This would have been a great game in 1998!
  8. JeremyH.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    yeah i have a few like i would like to say this game is the funnest robot game i have ever played and i really think that it would be a tragedy to not see another sequel to the game but to spice up the second sequel they could put co-op in story mode and maybe even get to were you can build and customize your very own holoseums and even get to choose the color of the guns and booster pods yeah i have a few like i would like to say this game is the funnest robot game i have ever played and i really think that it would be a tragedy to not see another sequel to the game but to spice up the second sequel they could put co-op in story mode and maybe even get to were you can build and customize your very own holoseums and even get to choose the color of the guns and booster pods and also give us a wider variety of colors. Expand
  9. AJR.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Good game but not addictive when u beat it.
  10. SonicFan93
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game.Sure better than mario.
  11. Noel
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome. I like the story and the fighting mode. This one of the best gamecube games.
  12. ChrisS.
    May 23, 2004
    10
    For the original pokemon fans who are now far too old, meet your new safe haven. This game has so much depth it's orgasmic.
  13. AxewhipeS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    What a great game. I enjoyed the story mode of this game & not everyone may agree. This game is a great customizable game for anyone who likes to fight. You can customize alot with tons of weapons and robots ("robo"). I liked this game alot it plays great & the difficulty gets harder. The thing that could be said is they could have made the story even longer.
  14. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    The customization and multiplayer aspects of this game are great, fantastic even! They were easy enough to jump right into, but hard enough to take time to master. I have gotten many hours of enjoyment out of the multiplayer. The REALLY BIG FLAW in this game is that you need to beat one player story mode to unlock all of the parts. I am sorry, but the single player mode was down rightThe customization and multiplayer aspects of this game are great, fantastic even! They were easy enough to jump right into, but hard enough to take time to master. I have gotten many hours of enjoyment out of the multiplayer. The REALLY BIG FLAW in this game is that you need to beat one player story mode to unlock all of the parts. I am sorry, but the single player mode was down right awful. The storyline, the adventure, the repetitiveness, everything. My score:
    single-player mode: 3
    multiplayer mode: 8
    Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Has a lot of potential, but wasn't executed well. Story elements are only explained through long segments of boring dialogue. Players will inevitably be mashing the A button just to skip the useless blocks of text. Due to the lack of voice acting and major development, none of the characters feel real or relatable, making the dialogue even more unimportant. If players can look beyond theHas a lot of potential, but wasn't executed well. Story elements are only explained through long segments of boring dialogue. Players will inevitably be mashing the A button just to skip the useless blocks of text. Due to the lack of voice acting and major development, none of the characters feel real or relatable, making the dialogue even more unimportant. If players can look beyond the massive segments of worthless dialogue and dull overworld segments, a game with a lot of potential is seen. The formula isn't perfected, seeing as how bombs and pods are mostly useless, but with more thought and better design, this franchise can really be something more than mediocre. Nintendo should improve the characters and story, improve the gameplay, and add more to the level design. The majority of the game is just walking around, then dialogue, than fighting. Adding more substance might exploit the real potential this game has. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. This is quality gaming that's both fresh and exciting. [May 2004, p.92]
  2. Battles soon take their toll on your controllers due to their frenetic nature and generally lack the strategy or refinement of many other mechanical adventures. [July 2004, p.110]
  3. Subtitling this Battle Revolution could be considered a breach of advertising standards; it's about as revolutionary as a racing game with powerslides. But while Custom Robo lacks a fresh hook, it's done with such a diligent simplicity that it's hard not to take a shine to it. [July 2004, p.108]