Donkey Konga GameCube

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
Buy On
  1. Edge Magazine
    70
    It's far too easy for veterans in singleplayer, but with four sets of the ludicrous peripheral - an unlikely scenario, admittedly - and each player tapping out their own, interlinking rhythm the game becomes a uniquely entertaining experience. [Feb 2004, p.111]
  2. 70
    It is ideal fun for both the serious and casual games player, and entertaining for those not taking part to watch the participants flinging their hands over the place.
  3. GMR Magazine
    70
    The novelty wears off and Konga becomes repetitive, especially without other bongo owners to play against or with. [Nov 2004, p.130]
  4. I just think the execution of the game is nowhere near as good as it could have been. The potential for this game is endless and I think Nintendo only brought us with an average gaming experience.
  5. It's frustrating to find the overall Donkey Konga experience restrained by some basic flaws in the design of the game; the fact that a group of you can't really enjoy it unless you've got multiple bongos is just crazy.
  6. Game Informer
    70
    If I wanted a fun, music-oriented party game, I'd much rather play "Karaoke Revolution" or "DrumMania." [Nov 2004, p.161]
  7. If you have a sense of rhythm and you'd like to own an interesting peripheral then DK is probably the perfect game for you!
  8. Cheat Code Central
    70
    The novelty of the controller could be compared to that of the lightgun. You don't really need it but once you play with it you can't live without it.
  9. The lack of a Master difficulty really hurts the game's longevity, and the songlist is pretty slim at just over 30. The multiplayer mode is a blast, but probably not worth the substantial investment of 3 extra congas.
  10. A lovely idea. There's a lot of fun to be had, but the game itself seems poorly executed, and the package provides little in the way of incentives to keep you playing.
  11. netjak
    65
    Donkey Konga's Tarukonga feels flimsy. The drums are too small to give a solid thump with your hand and so the layer of abstraction that's supposed to be formed there (i.e. you feel like you're playing an instrument, not hitting buttons on a controller.) is VERY quickly peeled back.
  12. While "Samba De Amigo" (the most similar thing to it) had graphical and stylistic touches that kept the gamer going, Donkey Konga feels languid, and lazy. While at first it is fun, you will find that any long experimentation with it will lead to boredom, or tears. Or both.
  13. 65
    The game play in Donkey Konga isn't as good as we were hoping. There is a severe lack of a proper long game mode which means that often the game didn't hold our attention for more than half an hour.
  14. 64
    That said, if you grab a couple of bongo sets, invite some mates round and have a bowl of bananas at the ready, it's great fun. Just be prepared for some very sore hands.
  15. We appreciate the simplicity of the idea, but in the absence of the hidden depths we normally expect from this sort of game - or the ritual humiliation we now demand - it ultimately wears thin far too quickly.
  16. games(TM)
    60
    'Licensed' tunes feel somewhat out of place and are cover versions that veer violently from the decent to the offensive in terms of both selection and quality. Does anyone really want to play bongos along to Blink 182's 'All The Small Things'? Didn't think so. [Nov 2004, p.120]
  17. A funny little gimmick and quite a good party game, but that is all. In itself, it quickly wears out its welcome, even if multiplayer does stand the test of time somewhat better.
  18. Before you buy Konga, try clapping along with every song on the radio for half an hour and see how you feel at the end.
  19. 60
    It's certainly true that there are no official "endings" to these types of games, but once you've masterd all the songs and unlocked all the hidden features, there isn't much to do. [Nov 2004, p.106]
  20. The gameplay is engaging but isn't really challenging over time, and the music selection could've been a little more varied, not to mention plentiful. However, there is fun to be had.

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2004
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    I consider a good game a game that accomplishes what it sets out to do. This method of scoring doesn't work when their goal is to make money,I consider a good game a game that accomplishes what it sets out to do. This method of scoring doesn't work when their goal is to make money, but in this case, Donkey Konga wants to be a music sheet simulator for the drum peripherals that are necessary to play the game. And in that case, this game is perfect. The controls work perfectly and there's even a few fan service songs like the Pokemon theme song. In short, the only question you need to ask yourself to know if you want to play this game is: Do I think I (or whomever you're buying this for if you are getting this as a gift) like playing with bongos? Full Review »
  2. JoshH.
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Gr8 game to play especially with m8s around u. Gr8fun only europe side the song list is crap. oh well still amzing fun.
  3. Ryan
    Jan 8, 2005
    9
    The only downfall is the weak song list. theres only 33 songs, and after awhilethey get a bit repetitive. but the beginning moments of thisThe only downfall is the weak song list. theres only 33 songs, and after awhilethey get a bit repetitive. but the beginning moments of this game are the most memorable. dont expect to come back forever, but expect frequent updates stateside. Full Review »