Enter the Matrix Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Matrix features awesome gunplay and spectacular martial arts that bend the rules of the Matrix, insane driving and stunts, and the chance to pilot the fastest hovercraft in the fleet. This game isn't just set in the Matrix universe--it's an integral part of the entire MatrixEnter the Matrix features awesome gunplay and spectacular martial arts that bend the rules of the Matrix, insane driving and stunts, and the chance to pilot the fastest hovercraft in the fleet. This game isn't just set in the Matrix universe--it's an integral part of the entire Matrix experience, with a story that weaves in and out of The Matrix: Reloaded, the second chapter of the movie trilogy. Enter the Matrix is the story behind the story. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Merely an okay game that benefits greatly from its movie license. [June 2003, p.106]
  2. Its game play suffers from repetition, but this two-disc technomelange has tons of great stuff for "Matrix" fans. [July 2003, p.142]
  3. Seems to split its aim between hardcore "Matrix" fans and experienced gamers; if you find yourself with a foot in both camps, you may well find this one of the most faithful movie-to-game experiences in recent memory.
  4. The game could be better if the control were tighter and some of those driving missions were more fun, but for what it is Enter The Matrix is enjoyable for all the right reasons.
  5. While Enter the Matrix ties in really well with the movie franchise, it isn’t much of a game.
  6. 60
    Somewhere along the way, someone forgot to implement the core of any action game: comfortable controls.
  7. The implementation here is nearly a complete waste, considering the richness of the universe involved. Lousy controls, sterile and anemic environments, and weaksauce driving environments all pull down the good work done in the sound, character graphics and new footage departments.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Screw the critics! Im not a die hard matrix fan but this is a great game. a perfect balance between gunplay and kung fu, this game hasScrew the critics! Im not a die hard matrix fan but this is a great game. a perfect balance between gunplay and kung fu, this game has everything. i think some of the critics are out of their minds, and there is nothing wrong with the controls! Expand
  2. AlexR.
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    U know whats funny? the critics all dissed the game and said it sucked, and the gamers all say its good. hmm....I think i will trust a gamer U know whats funny? the critics all dissed the game and said it sucked, and the gamers all say its good. hmm....I think i will trust a gamer over a critic. Expand
  3. VideoCritic
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This is a grreat matrix game. I liked that you could play 2 different people in different senarios. it was fun intutive and had great This is a grreat matrix game. I liked that you could play 2 different people in different senarios. it was fun intutive and had great controls. even the storyline of the game fit in with the movies. Collapse
  4. SeanK.
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    Ok, for all those people who say this game is crap... Back off, the game does well in what it sets out to do. It flavorfully recreates the Ok, for all those people who say this game is crap... Back off, the game does well in what it sets out to do. It flavorfully recreates the feel of the movies and puts you in controll of all the sweet moves you saw in the movies and said to your friend "Sweet fornicating feces! That was too brutal!" (at least, thats what I said...) All in all, I think Enter the Matrix is a neccesary game for those of you who loved the movies and wanted more! Ive only played it on PC and Game Cube so I cant say much for the other two systems... However, I think if you want to buy it... Pass on the PC version and get a console one. As the game needs to run fast to be fully appreciated... (subject to change if you PC is crazy awesome) Music is perfect, al the best from the second film, as well as new music to add to it. Best of all, its not that lame music done by "Todays popular artists!" (blah, give me good orchestral any day) In conclusion, the game is good, this is my opinion, and there is a nice little multiplayer feature you can unlock in the cheat mode. If you dont like my opinion, then you dont have to play the game! However, for those of you who want a pretty well made action game that will continually suprise you with what seems like ENDLESS amounts of moves, get this game. It is a wonderful experience. Sincerely, Sean K. Expand
  5. BrendanO.
    Sep 26, 2003
    8
    This game is great!!! The martial arts are awesome, the controls are pretty simple, and the slow-mo is cool. It does suffer from repetition, This game is great!!! The martial arts are awesome, the controls are pretty simple, and the slow-mo is cool. It does suffer from repetition, but you can hardly notice it. I am a big fan of martial art games. And this is one is great. I highly suggest this game if you like martial arts. P.S. subscribe to Nintendo Power. It is great. Expand
  6. TimH.
    Jul 21, 2003
    6
    Not bad except for the glaring racial subtext which was way more obvious in this game than in the films. Did anyone else notice how all the Not bad except for the glaring racial subtext which was way more obvious in this game than in the films. Did anyone else notice how all the bad guys were white and the two protagonists both of color? Anyway... The other thing that started to bother me after a while was killing all the cops over and over again. I know the premise of the movie allows for the unremorseful killing of 'innocent' cops and security officers but it gets pretty nauseating. Expand
  7. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    1
    This game is not awesome. This game is a poorly put together piece of rubbish designed to grab as much money as possible. The controls were This game is not awesome. This game is a poorly put together piece of rubbish designed to grab as much money as possible. The controls were clunky, the graphics were ugly at best and the levels were boring and repetitive. The slow-mo fighting is slightly fun the first time you do it. By the 20th time it is just irritating. This game derserves to be cast into a sea of lava. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews