Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem GameCube

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 148

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DemonicAngel
    Aug 6, 2005
    5
    Eternal Darkness promises an apocalyptic storyline that spans centuries and is told from the perspective of many different people. The graphics are only just passable considering what the Gamecube is capable of, but that can be somewhat forgiven since the game was originally in development for N64. Sounds and music are generally atmospheric, though some effects just sound completely out Eternal Darkness promises an apocalyptic storyline that spans centuries and is told from the perspective of many different people. The graphics are only just passable considering what the Gamecube is capable of, but that can be somewhat forgiven since the game was originally in development for N64. Sounds and music are generally atmospheric, though some effects just sound completely out of place, and the voice acting is of a very high standard. However, the gameplay is tedious and repetitive to the point where, 3 or 4 characters into the story, the desire to see what happens next is totally outweighed by my unwillingness to wander through yet another linear location and bash yet more zombie-like enemies. Plus, for a game that's supposed to be scary, it's not very scary. Maybe it gets better. Personally, though, I won't be bothering to find out. A rent-first. Expand
  2. GregK.
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    I started a new game in Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem the other day. When this game came out, all the reviewers talked about how it was the Greatest Game Ever, and how unique and cool and fun it was. And for the first playthrough, they are right. If you were anything like me you played through the game with a deliberately low Sanity Meter just to see all the insanity effects. I started a new game in Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem the other day. When this game came out, all the reviewers talked about how it was the Greatest Game Ever, and how unique and cool and fun it was. And for the first playthrough, they are right. If you were anything like me you played through the game with a deliberately low Sanity Meter just to see all the insanity effects. And the storyline was complex enough (actually, I don't think I fully got what was going on the first time) to be interesting through the whole game. But on the second playthrough? Not so great. Skip the cutscenes, strip away all the insanity effects (since you've seen them all several times over by now) and you're left with a bland, slow-paced and quite linear action-adventure game. For me it's way too easy and at times very annoying (those stupid Trappers keep teleporting me, gaaaah). Underneath the sanity gimmick, this game is seriously lacking in gameplay meat. There are only three different types of enemies (which come in 3 variations each) that you'll see across the entire 10 hour playtime. I don't have enough interest to play up to the repetitive ending part where you have to backtrack nine (!) times. And there is I think one lone unlockable, where you beat the game three times over and you're given the ability to play through with unlimited life, mana and sanity. Whoopee. Don't get me wrong: this game is a trip the first time through. If you haven't played it, you owe yourself a rental. But it's too bad this game doesn't hold up on multiple plays. Nobody else has yet duplicated the Sanity Meter, but the rest of the game's mechanics have been refined in a half dozen games since ED's release. Expand
  3. ChuckU.F.
    Jun 26, 2002
    5
    Bad character models.
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    7
    Un gran represante en el género. Destacó por su acercamiento a la obra de lovecraft, su originalidad a la hora de narrar la historia y sobre todo, por el épico medidor de cordura que cuando bajaba mucho provocaba estragos en el juego. Cosa que... las primeras veces bien, pero a partir de la cuarta se hacia pesado e indiferente. Por lo demás un juego muy correcto con algunas historiasUn gran represante en el género. Destacó por su acercamiento a la obra de lovecraft, su originalidad a la hora de narrar la historia y sobre todo, por el épico medidor de cordura que cuando bajaba mucho provocaba estragos en el juego. Cosa que... las primeras veces bien, pero a partir de la cuarta se hacia pesado e indiferente. Por lo demás un juego muy correcto con algunas historias mejores que otras, pero con buen potencial. Expand
  5. May 28, 2012
    5
    This game was okay. Over rated I think.
  6. ArcH
    Jul 30, 2009
    7
    I will be reasonable here. I say this because I know this game was originally intended for N64, and therefore the graphics are not the best in the world, but it doesn't matter. I don't need graphics to enjoy a game. What I do need is fun, and for a good while Eternal Darkness really does deliver. I definitely enjoyed the first part of this game, the sanity effects were really I will be reasonable here. I say this because I know this game was originally intended for N64, and therefore the graphics are not the best in the world, but it doesn't matter. I don't need graphics to enjoy a game. What I do need is fun, and for a good while Eternal Darkness really does deliver. I definitely enjoyed the first part of this game, the sanity effects were really interesting, it was pretty creepy, the storyline was somewhat interesting starting out, and the magic system was kinda cool too. If you are experimental enough, you can learn a few spells long before you ever actually should know them. I quite enjoyed the different environments. That said, I felt most of the games good points broke down about halfway through, the sanity effects it did well got boring, the environments which we end up visiting the same ones many times throughout the game got played out, the puzzles were at times so simplistic as to be insulting, yet other times so exceptionally annoying that I couldn't have hoped to figure them out, and the game gives you no hints. I felt like with some puzzles I just had to know without any information whatsoever. Thankfully, that sort of thing doesn't pop up all the time, but when it does it really is annoying. I felt that much of the games good points hinged on the novelty things like the sanity and the offbeat storyline, and once those fell flat the whole game fell through as there was little gameplay to back it up. I had my high times and my low times, and the few high times were really enjoyable, but the low times really sucked. One thing that is not mentioned is the lack of Autosave, which had me replaying large portions of the game because at the times I actually remembered to save, I wasn't allowed to, and then I get stuck in a corner by an invisible monster who I can't hit and can't cast against because their hits interrupt my spells. I'm all for a challenge, but that's not a challenge any more than getting hit in the face by a meteor is a survival challenge. I think this game did enough things well enough for me to get a few hours, 10 or so, of enjoyment out of it, and therefore I will grudgingly give it a 7. Summary -- Gameplay: Sometimes hits the mark, but normally poor Graphics: Average, but didn't hinder enjoyment Puzzles: Either extremely simple or rarely way too difficult Storyline: Started out well, halfway through turned uninteresting Characters: So many it was hard to care about any. Most were pretty bland. Novelties: The sanity effects were done well and really had me guessing at times. Combat: Magic system was interesting at first, much of the combat was spent slashing at slow moving zombies. Success involved targeting and holding up, slash until dead Replay value: hardly any. Expand
  7. Luke
    Aug 20, 2002
    5
    This is a cool game if you happen to be 10 yers old, or mentally challenged. its really fun for about an hour, untill you keep getting the same repeating sanity effects every time and the SAME annoying "scary" sound effect EVERY 7 seconds in the game. overall, rent it. its not worth 50 bucks. unless of course you like rediculously simple puzzles and pressing the B button 4 million times.
  8. C.
    Oct 21, 2003
    7
    Solid but flawed. For all the developement time Silicon Knight's first GCN title feels very uneven. Played it solid for 3 days then put it onthe shelf (where it remains gathering dust). Good game, but this is no GCN classic.
  9. AndrewC.
    Mar 3, 2007
    6
    I think reviewers are sometimes completely nuts. They gloss over little details like, oh, say, the graphics totally stink and the gameplay is boring and repetitive, just because it's revolutionary. True, the "sanity meter" thing is decently interesting...although it's hard to tell when something was supposed to happen, or if it was just insanity. Maybe that's the point. I think reviewers are sometimes completely nuts. They gloss over little details like, oh, say, the graphics totally stink and the gameplay is boring and repetitive, just because it's revolutionary. True, the "sanity meter" thing is decently interesting...although it's hard to tell when something was supposed to happen, or if it was just insanity. Maybe that's the point. Anyway, the gameplay is lame, the graphics look like butt, and the story is dark and dismal to the point of sheer boredom. Get Resident Evil 4 instead. Expand
  10. CodyK.
    Aug 16, 2005
    5
    I wanted to enjoy Sanity
  11. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    The game opens with Alexandra Roivas discovering that her grandfather's body has just been found in his mansion, bloodied and torn apart. With the local police unable to uncover any clues regarding the murder, she decides to take matters into her own hands and investigate the mansion and that’s when the tale of Eternal Darkness truly begins.

    Played now the graphics and combat system,
    The game opens with Alexandra Roivas discovering that her grandfather's body has just been found in his mansion, bloodied and torn apart. With the local police unable to uncover any clues regarding the murder, she decides to take matters into her own hands and investigate the mansion and that’s when the tale of Eternal Darkness truly begins.

    Played now the graphics and combat system, while still more than adequate, are slightly outdated but developer Silicon Knights psychological thriller still stands amongst the GameCube’s best. This is in large part to its era spanning storyline that sees the player take control of characters ranging from a Roman Centurion to a hunter from the 1980’s. I won’t spoil the plot here but suffice to say they are all connected. Another of the game’s masterstrokes is the use of ‘insanity effects’. Should the players sanity bar drop to low all manner of strange things will start to occur, many of which have an effect on the gameplay.

    It may now be more than ten years old but those who own a Wii and are looking for something new to play could do a lot worse than picking up Eternal Darkness.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Developers of 3D games should study the camerawork in "Eternal Darkness." It's quite simply a stunning technical achievement.
  2. All of this delightful action and horror comes wrapped in a bone-chilling soundtrack with enough chanting and "what the hell was that?" sound effects to sen dyou running for the light switch. [Aug 2002, p.62]
  3. 100
    From cover to cover this game was full of originality.