Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem GameCube

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 166
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any other horror game past or present has even come close to this one. A classic.
  2. ThomasW.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    Eric S is obviously about 10 years old and made his review up without playing it. The game is precisely the apposite to what he says, its not fun for the first 15 minutes, its average if bad for the first 15 minutes. After an hour it gets great, and after a few hours you're absorbed. By the time your in full flow with making your own spells, keeping your sanity low to see what cool Eric S is obviously about 10 years old and made his review up without playing it. The game is precisely the apposite to what he says, its not fun for the first 15 minutes, its average if bad for the first 15 minutes. After an hour it gets great, and after a few hours you're absorbed. By the time your in full flow with making your own spells, keeping your sanity low to see what cool tricks the game does, and wanting to know what happens next....you become obbsesed. This game is a masterpiece, right up there with Ocarina of time. This is a truly mature game, not the darkness or the violence, but the way it challenges your preconceptions and presents you with a truly unique plot. Resident evil is but a B movie. This is Psycho. Expand
  3. KevinH.
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    When I first got this game, I played it...and beat it all the way through four times. I decided to go back and play it after a couple of years and it is even BETTER than I remember. I admit, it is not the hardest game in the world but this is one of my favorite games.
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This is an artform, video games are art? The vast majority aren't, but this... this is art.
    +The storytelling is done so compellingly, the story itself and the themes it covers are very lovecraftian, it essentially is like a lovecraft story in all but name.
    +You experience the past, through the eyes of others throughout history. You come will see a evil so terrible and far stretching
    This is an artform, video games are art? The vast majority aren't, but this... this is art.
    +The storytelling is done so compellingly, the story itself and the themes it covers are very lovecraftian, it essentially is like a lovecraft story in all but name.
    +You experience the past, through the eyes of others throughout history. You come will see a evil so terrible and far stretching that you will have the context to truly understand how scary the ancient object is that you've found.
    +It's essentially survival horror in a dark gothic setting... yet its control scheme is SOooo good. Its very easy to use yet gives a very good level of control.
    +Sanity, this is so well implemented gameplay element, its ridiculous that no other game out there has copied it yet!! It makes the sanity system in Amnesia look pathetic, think Call of Cthulhu where seeing frightening scenes & linger around them to long decreases your sanity but the system goes above and beyond what you think. You're sanity level affects the game in subtle ways, strange things will start happening (not right away) but you'll notice weird things that it actually messes with not just your character, but you the player. What I mean is you will start to doubt your own sanity... I am not you.
    It's that good.
    +Fear, yes its scary without having to use jump scares. Its the hallmark of a good horror game & you should have already guessed by now that this game knows how to play with your imagination and use it against you. There might be 1 or 2 jump scares but it's almost out of place in this masterful tale of horror.
    +I could go on about puzzles and the voice acting, it's all so well done... the one thing I want more for this game than any other is for someone to port this baby to the PC. This game deserves to be remembered and played long after gamecube's a distant memory.
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This game managed to create a scary overall atmosphere, yet always made me want to explore every dark corner of all the featured locations. Plot, fighting system, music, sound effects,... everything's top notch. There's only one little flaw: The enemies get quite difficult very soon and you might find yourself frustrated every now and then in the early parts of the game.
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. The psychological horror elements are top notch. Gameplay, plot and character development are amazing. This is a deep, well polished game that everyone should enjoy
  7. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    With a detailed story and psychological horror elements that keep the player on edge, this is one of the best Gamecube titles out there. Eternal Darkness is arguably the greatest horror game I have ever played, and that is no exaggeration.
  8. Dec 7, 2015
    8
    I had this game some months ago, and then I sold it :/. Anyway, This game is a strange gem, because it has a very good history, nice elements (the sanity bar), the music and atmosphere are great. However the graphics are not the best and the controls are clunky, finally sometimes the game is boring. If you have the time and patient this game is for you and probably you will give it a 9 or 10.
  9. Nov 11, 2015
    9
    Eternal Darkness is a game so dark and twisted that you are shocked it came from Nintendo. Not your standard horror game, this one has a deeply disturbing storyline and messes with the sanity of the character as well as the player as it actively messes with the gamer using unique visual tricks and fake outs. A technical marvel at time of release, Eternal Darkness is one of the mostEternal Darkness is a game so dark and twisted that you are shocked it came from Nintendo. Not your standard horror game, this one has a deeply disturbing storyline and messes with the sanity of the character as well as the player as it actively messes with the gamer using unique visual tricks and fake outs. A technical marvel at time of release, Eternal Darkness is one of the most innovative games in the horror genre that deserves another look. Expand
  10. Dec 9, 2015
    9
    An expertly created game, this game instills fear into the hearts of gamers. The sanity system is something that will truly make you question the game and the gameplay is innovative, fresh and original. I have heard complaints of clunky controls, but I would rather complain that is how the survival horror genre plays out (for most survival horror games from the day this game was releasedAn expertly created game, this game instills fear into the hearts of gamers. The sanity system is something that will truly make you question the game and the gameplay is innovative, fresh and original. I have heard complaints of clunky controls, but I would rather complain that is how the survival horror genre plays out (for most survival horror games from the day this game was released had clunky controls). The story is truly excellent and has much food for thought. The only true complaint I can find here is that the boss battles of this game are something that you wished were better executed and that the game is rather easy even for a beginner. Expand
  11. JamesR.
    May 13, 2007
    9
    I give it a 9 out of 10! I would give a 10, but the battle system is a bit repeating. But anyways, this game was orginally for the N64. So if anyone was to buy it today, they'd proably hate the graphics cause it's not up to date. Well no shit, it was made for the N64! Now, if they were to makea sequel and mroe spells and monsters. This would be a game of the year! I mean think I give it a 9 out of 10! I would give a 10, but the battle system is a bit repeating. But anyways, this game was orginally for the N64. So if anyone was to buy it today, they'd proably hate the graphics cause it's not up to date. Well no shit, it was made for the N64! Now, if they were to makea sequel and mroe spells and monsters. This would be a game of the year! I mean think about it. A sequel, with a better battle system, longer storyline, mor emonsters and proably a bit more challenging cause I find it rather really easy to beat. I mean imagine a sequel on the PS3, Wii, or 360? If they do make one. I hope they make it for the 360 cause I'm an xbox fan. Plus online playing on story mode on live! Dude this can be a best seller for an online gameplay! Expand
  12. Culprit
    Dec 6, 2002
    9
    A good twist on the, becoming tiresome, horror genre. The sanity feature can be gimmocky at times, but also makes the game more difficult and bewildering. In any case, it adds to playability. Throuhout the gameplay experience, you will be ever conscious about your characters sanity level.
  13. WillK.
    Jun 28, 2002
    9
    One of the great games of this or any generation. It is a game with no equal. The story, graphics and sound are tremendous (although, there are a couple small graphical glitches). While nothing deserves a 10, this is as close as you can get.
  14. GameDude
    Jul 1, 2002
    10
    This game is freakin amazing!!! I started playing it and figured that it would just be another boring game that I would beat and never want to touch again. Well, I haven't beaten it yet, but I am still intrigued by it and having a blast!!! By the way, RE for GC should not be made such a big deal out of. I rented it, found it to be really cool for awhile because it looked great, tired This game is freakin amazing!!! I started playing it and figured that it would just be another boring game that I would beat and never want to touch again. Well, I haven't beaten it yet, but I am still intrigued by it and having a blast!!! By the way, RE for GC should not be made such a big deal out of. I rented it, found it to be really cool for awhile because it looked great, tired of it, stopped and realized "I'm playing the same F...ing game that I played years ago on PSX" Of course there are changes, but I am a really stubborn gamer who expects the best! Eternal Darkness may even prove to be more to my liking than RE. Expand
  15. T.Dog
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    This game is nuts! I swear, it drives you insane... Sweet gameplay, too.
  16. IrisN.
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    VERY NICE!
  17. J.H.
    Sep 1, 2002
    10
    On par with Fatal Frame in terms of sheer scariness. Play at night, with the lights out.
  18. NathanH.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    The best thriller made to date!
  19. CarlosA.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    Great game!The story is amazing (i kid you not), it boggles your mind.The graphics are very smooth and there is a lot of detail through out the levels/worlds. This game does not suck,and this game is not boring,when you review a game you must forget about the other games that are out(like fatal frame) and after you do that, than you can compare,then youll see the quality of the game that Great game!The story is amazing (i kid you not), it boggles your mind.The graphics are very smooth and there is a lot of detail through out the levels/worlds. This game does not suck,and this game is not boring,when you review a game you must forget about the other games that are out(like fatal frame) and after you do that, than you can compare,then youll see the quality of the game that you are revewing! Good game,fabolous job Silicon Knights(oh those Canadians):) Expand
  20. Carroll
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    Eternal Darkness is one of the best games I've ever played. It's also the scariest and the sanity (or insanity) effect keeps getting better as the game goes on. This game has been cleverly designed, great graphics, and the story is compelling until the end. This game is for Mature gamers and I have to agree with that. In my opinion this game is way too scary for young children Eternal Darkness is one of the best games I've ever played. It's also the scariest and the sanity (or insanity) effect keeps getting better as the game goes on. This game has been cleverly designed, great graphics, and the story is compelling until the end. This game is for Mature gamers and I have to agree with that. In my opinion this game is way too scary for young children (12 and under). In fact, some teens and adults might find it builds too much anxiety to enjoy. But, if you like your games scary and enjoy having your hair stand on end, then this game is for you. ~~~ Carroll Expand
  21. MICHAELD.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    I have played practically every survival horror game in existence, including every Resident Evil, every Clock Tower (even the prequel "First Fear" and Clock Tower 3), all of the Silent Hills (which up to now were my favorites), Fatal Frame I and II, Alone in the Dark and its sequels, etc., and yet I can honestly say that this is the GREATEST survival horror game I've ever played. In I have played practically every survival horror game in existence, including every Resident Evil, every Clock Tower (even the prequel "First Fear" and Clock Tower 3), all of the Silent Hills (which up to now were my favorites), Fatal Frame I and II, Alone in the Dark and its sequels, etc., and yet I can honestly say that this is the GREATEST survival horror game I've ever played. In fact, it deserves a new category -- psychological horror. When I finished playing it through for the third time, defeating my third and final ancient, receiving the special Mantorok ending, I found myself almost crying that this unique game was effectively over. Nintendo and Silicon Knights, my hat is off to you! Could we PLEASE have a sequel? PLEASE?!? Expand
  22. Rhydon3.5
    May 1, 2004
    10
    This is one beauty of a phsyco thriller took me a year to complete!
  23. CaseyA.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought it was just a girl in a haunted house sort of game, but it's much more involved and gets better as it goes on. I love how you experience through time the same buildings but they've changed in an eerie, yet logical sort of way. As a warning, Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought it was just a girl in a haunted house sort of game, but it's much more involved and gets better as it goes on. I love how you experience through time the same buildings but they've changed in an eerie, yet logical sort of way. As a warning, it's a scary game and if you play late at night in a dark room, some of the insanity effects and creatures might make you jump a bit. : ) Anyway, this game is a great one and you should be able to pick one up at a bargain price. Highly Recommended. Expand
  24. JimS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today it wouldnt have gotten a 92." That's true of pretty much any game. Duh. That's like saying, "Remember, while Pac-Man might have been good in its day, it is pretty lame now." Idiot! At any rate, this game is -still- an excellent game. It is I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today it wouldnt have gotten a 92." That's true of pretty much any game. Duh. That's like saying, "Remember, while Pac-Man might have been good in its day, it is pretty lame now." Idiot! At any rate, this game is -still- an excellent game. It is definitely worth at least one play-through. Play it in the dark by yourself, and I guarantee it will scare the hell out of you. The story is great and all of the many different plotlines are tied together masterfully. Try it, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  25. StefanP.
    Jun 15, 2006
    9
    Eternal Darkness is a true classic. I recently played through the game again and I still think it's one hell of a game. The storyline is dark and compelling, and is greatly influenced by H.P. Lovecraft, which is a big plus in my book. The game is quite addictive and it didn't feel repetitive to me. Sure, it's very linear, but that really didn't bother me very much. The Eternal Darkness is a true classic. I recently played through the game again and I still think it's one hell of a game. The storyline is dark and compelling, and is greatly influenced by H.P. Lovecraft, which is a big plus in my book. The game is quite addictive and it didn't feel repetitive to me. Sure, it's very linear, but that really didn't bother me very much. The voiceacting is very good, some of the best I've heard so far in any game, from the Edward's soothing voice to Maximilians mad ramblings. The sanity thing is worked out really well in my opinion. From (quite funny) visual effects to the mad cackling/crying baby 'music'(truly terrifying). This game has some flaws though. It's not very hard to beat, plus I thought the 'colours' of the ancients looked way too bright. All in all though, a really great game, a must buy for any gamecube owner. Expand
  26. BradyC.
    Aug 5, 2002
    9
    WOW!! it got pretty damn freaky especially when u go isane. loved the add and the flying books. cant wait for #2.
  27. Mick
    Nov 20, 2003
    9
    Quality.
  28. CamwrenW.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    If there were a score higher than a ten then this game would get it! In my opinion this is the best game ever played! While fun and exciting the game also earns a great story line that swithces from various eras of time, which makes the game just that more exciting! This game also has complimenting graphic, sound and intrest level (It kept mine every minute of the line)! It was also If there were a score higher than a ten then this game would get it! In my opinion this is the best game ever played! While fun and exciting the game also earns a great story line that swithces from various eras of time, which makes the game just that more exciting! This game also has complimenting graphic, sound and intrest level (It kept mine every minute of the line)! It was also suprising in when you thought that the game was over it just brought up a whole new character or problem! So once again i will have to say this game easily earns a ten (and far beyond) and can be the best game (over all) ever played! Expand
  29. S.M.
    Mar 23, 2003
    8
    It is easy in the beginning with nothing to do but then it gives you that sanity piece of crap, but it was hard so it was an 8.
  30. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    10
    One of the Gamecube's best offerings is a dark and dismal action adventure game that took nearly 4 years to be released. Great combat system and story but the best thing has to be the magic abilities. The sanity meter is overrated.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Developers of 3D games should study the camerawork in "Eternal Darkness." It's quite simply a stunning technical achievement.
  2. Play Magazine
    100
    All of this delightful action and horror comes wrapped in a bone-chilling soundtrack with enough chanting and "what the hell was that?" sound effects to sen dyou running for the light switch. [Aug 2002, p.62]
  3. 100
    From cover to cover this game was full of originality.