Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem GameCube

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 175
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GameDude
    Jul 1, 2002
    10
    This game is freakin amazing!!! I started playing it and figured that it would just be another boring game that I would beat and never want to touch again. Well, I haven't beaten it yet, but I am still intrigued by it and having a blast!!! By the way, RE for GC should not be made such a big deal out of. I rented it, found it to be really cool for awhile because it looked great, tired This game is freakin amazing!!! I started playing it and figured that it would just be another boring game that I would beat and never want to touch again. Well, I haven't beaten it yet, but I am still intrigued by it and having a blast!!! By the way, RE for GC should not be made such a big deal out of. I rented it, found it to be really cool for awhile because it looked great, tired of it, stopped and realized "I'm playing the same F...ing game that I played years ago on PSX" Of course there are changes, but I am a really stubborn gamer who expects the best! Eternal Darkness may even prove to be more to my liking than RE. Expand
  2. T.Dog
    Aug 20, 2002
    10
    This game is nuts! I swear, it drives you insane... Sweet gameplay, too.
  3. IrisN.
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    VERY NICE!
  4. J.H.
    Sep 1, 2002
    10
    On par with Fatal Frame in terms of sheer scariness. Play at night, with the lights out.
  5. NathanH.
    May 2, 2003
    10
    The best thriller made to date!
  6. CarlosA.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    Great game!The story is amazing (i kid you not), it boggles your mind.The graphics are very smooth and there is a lot of detail through out the levels/worlds. This game does not suck,and this game is not boring,when you review a game you must forget about the other games that are out(like fatal frame) and after you do that, than you can compare,then youll see the quality of the game that Great game!The story is amazing (i kid you not), it boggles your mind.The graphics are very smooth and there is a lot of detail through out the levels/worlds. This game does not suck,and this game is not boring,when you review a game you must forget about the other games that are out(like fatal frame) and after you do that, than you can compare,then youll see the quality of the game that you are revewing! Good game,fabolous job Silicon Knights(oh those Canadians):) Expand
  7. Carroll
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    Eternal Darkness is one of the best games I've ever played. It's also the scariest and the sanity (or insanity) effect keeps getting better as the game goes on. This game has been cleverly designed, great graphics, and the story is compelling until the end. This game is for Mature gamers and I have to agree with that. In my opinion this game is way too scary for young children Eternal Darkness is one of the best games I've ever played. It's also the scariest and the sanity (or insanity) effect keeps getting better as the game goes on. This game has been cleverly designed, great graphics, and the story is compelling until the end. This game is for Mature gamers and I have to agree with that. In my opinion this game is way too scary for young children (12 and under). In fact, some teens and adults might find it builds too much anxiety to enjoy. But, if you like your games scary and enjoy having your hair stand on end, then this game is for you. ~~~ Carroll Expand
  8. MICHAELD.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    I have played practically every survival horror game in existence, including every Resident Evil, every Clock Tower (even the prequel "First Fear" and Clock Tower 3), all of the Silent Hills (which up to now were my favorites), Fatal Frame I and II, Alone in the Dark and its sequels, etc., and yet I can honestly say that this is the GREATEST survival horror game I've ever played. In I have played practically every survival horror game in existence, including every Resident Evil, every Clock Tower (even the prequel "First Fear" and Clock Tower 3), all of the Silent Hills (which up to now were my favorites), Fatal Frame I and II, Alone in the Dark and its sequels, etc., and yet I can honestly say that this is the GREATEST survival horror game I've ever played. In fact, it deserves a new category -- psychological horror. When I finished playing it through for the third time, defeating my third and final ancient, receiving the special Mantorok ending, I found myself almost crying that this unique game was effectively over. Nintendo and Silicon Knights, my hat is off to you! Could we PLEASE have a sequel? PLEASE?!? Expand
  9. Rhydon3.5
    May 1, 2004
    10
    This is one beauty of a phsyco thriller took me a year to complete!
  10. CaseyA.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought it was just a girl in a haunted house sort of game, but it's much more involved and gets better as it goes on. I love how you experience through time the same buildings but they've changed in an eerie, yet logical sort of way. As a warning, Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought it was just a girl in a haunted house sort of game, but it's much more involved and gets better as it goes on. I love how you experience through time the same buildings but they've changed in an eerie, yet logical sort of way. As a warning, it's a scary game and if you play late at night in a dark room, some of the insanity effects and creatures might make you jump a bit. : ) Anyway, this game is a great one and you should be able to pick one up at a bargain price. Highly Recommended. Expand
  11. JimS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today it wouldnt have gotten a 92." That's true of pretty much any game. Duh. That's like saying, "Remember, while Pac-Man might have been good in its day, it is pretty lame now." Idiot! At any rate, this game is -still- an excellent game. It is I can't believe that Steve S. is as idiotic as he makes himself out to be. "But remember, its an old game and if it were reviewed today it wouldnt have gotten a 92." That's true of pretty much any game. Duh. That's like saying, "Remember, while Pac-Man might have been good in its day, it is pretty lame now." Idiot! At any rate, this game is -still- an excellent game. It is definitely worth at least one play-through. Play it in the dark by yourself, and I guarantee it will scare the hell out of you. The story is great and all of the many different plotlines are tied together masterfully. Try it, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  12. CamwrenW.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    If there were a score higher than a ten then this game would get it! In my opinion this is the best game ever played! While fun and exciting the game also earns a great story line that swithces from various eras of time, which makes the game just that more exciting! This game also has complimenting graphic, sound and intrest level (It kept mine every minute of the line)! It was also If there were a score higher than a ten then this game would get it! In my opinion this is the best game ever played! While fun and exciting the game also earns a great story line that swithces from various eras of time, which makes the game just that more exciting! This game also has complimenting graphic, sound and intrest level (It kept mine every minute of the line)! It was also suprising in when you thought that the game was over it just brought up a whole new character or problem! So once again i will have to say this game easily earns a ten (and far beyond) and can be the best game (over all) ever played! Expand
  13. DougM.
    Apr 27, 2003
    10
    One of the Gamecube's best offerings is a dark and dismal action adventure game that took nearly 4 years to be released. Great combat system and story but the best thing has to be the magic abilities. The sanity meter is overrated.
  14. ThomasW.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    Eric S is obviously about 10 years old and made his review up without playing it. The game is precisely the apposite to what he says, its not fun for the first 15 minutes, its average if bad for the first 15 minutes. After an hour it gets great, and after a few hours you're absorbed. By the time your in full flow with making your own spells, keeping your sanity low to see what cool Eric S is obviously about 10 years old and made his review up without playing it. The game is precisely the apposite to what he says, its not fun for the first 15 minutes, its average if bad for the first 15 minutes. After an hour it gets great, and after a few hours you're absorbed. By the time your in full flow with making your own spells, keeping your sanity low to see what cool tricks the game does, and wanting to know what happens next....you become obbsesed. This game is a masterpiece, right up there with Ocarina of time. This is a truly mature game, not the darkness or the violence, but the way it challenges your preconceptions and presents you with a truly unique plot. Resident evil is but a B movie. This is Psycho. Expand
  15. EfraimN.
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome. Spine-tingling, and downright scary in some places, Eternal Darkness is verything a great game could hope to be. Powerful, emotive voice acting, superb scenery, well-crafted gameplay and the awesome soundtrack- this game has it all. It left me with a feeling of sadness when I'd finished it, sadness that this game had finally ended. And there aren't many This game is awesome. Spine-tingling, and downright scary in some places, Eternal Darkness is verything a great game could hope to be. Powerful, emotive voice acting, superb scenery, well-crafted gameplay and the awesome soundtrack- this game has it all. It left me with a feeling of sadness when I'd finished it, sadness that this game had finally ended. And there aren't many games that do that- games that are so involving that the player feels a sense of loss when he realises that it's finally over. The insanity effects make this a game that no-one who's played it can rightly forget. A brilliant achievement, Nintendo. I can only hope it's going to have a sequal. Expand
  16. JustinB.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    While lacking some polish, Eternal Darkness frightening and compelling story coupled with its inventive spell system and mind-blowing and innovative sanity effects make this game a must play for anyone who enjoys good games.
  17. DanielL.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    Eric S. is a moron, If you can handle the cheesy horror game thing for more than 15 mins you discover a terrifying, absorbing and seriously entertaining game. Best thing since this generation of console was invented. V funny the guy that thought 1 was best.
  18. KevinH.
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    When I first got this game, I played it...and beat it all the way through four times. I decided to go back and play it after a couple of years and it is even BETTER than I remember. I admit, it is not the hardest game in the world but this is one of my favorite games.
  19. AdamT.
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This was a hard one, I couldn't decide between 9 and 10, first of all the graphics for this game, are now considered mediocre as opposed to it's launch date.Secondly being that at times, this game was really hard and confusing, but eventually I realized when i was playing this game I was hooked, although the puzzle and stuff were hard I still kept trying and enjoyed it, and the This was a hard one, I couldn't decide between 9 and 10, first of all the graphics for this game, are now considered mediocre as opposed to it's launch date.Secondly being that at times, this game was really hard and confusing, but eventually I realized when i was playing this game I was hooked, although the puzzle and stuff were hard I still kept trying and enjoyed it, and the graphics actually improved as you got further in the game.Besides that the storyline and how the game is orchestrated and how it eventually falls all into place is brilliant, I couldn't have been more satisfied with the ending and the replay value is enormous. This game is nowhere near perfect, but it's the perfect Nintendo attempt at a more mature game, this is one of my favorites ever. Expand
  20. BrianC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    As far as I am concerned, the best GameCube game ever. (Excluding the Ocarina of time Re-Release) From the Sanity System, to the chilling sound effects. Pair this game with surround sound and the lights off, and you'll be twitching all night.
  21. AntonK
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Okay, everyone out there that voted this game less than a 9...I begrudgingly accept your criticisms of the game. That said, I think the points you *attempt* at making are completely bogus. Come on...you played 15 minutes of the game, and decided to give it a rating of 0?!?! What the hell, dude? Also, person with the name "Anti-Eternal Darkness" and you expect people to take you seriously? Okay, everyone out there that voted this game less than a 9...I begrudgingly accept your criticisms of the game. That said, I think the points you *attempt* at making are completely bogus. Come on...you played 15 minutes of the game, and decided to give it a rating of 0?!?! What the hell, dude? Also, person with the name "Anti-Eternal Darkness" and you expect people to take you seriously? I think not. Let's see...hmmm...try to find a copy of that game in any place like GameStop, and will you even be able to find it on the shelves? Hmm? No...you won't. Because it was an absolutely AWESOME game, with great N64 graphics (which, by the by, as has been mentioned before, it was originally for!), and an extremely simple control scheme. As for everyone else (for the most part) I agree. Now, as far as that goes, this game being the FIRST GameCube game I had played, even I figured it out (Now, I did get slaughtered in the opening dream scene, but hey, I did learn the controls fairly quickly). The game had a completely engrossing storyline, great magic system, and yes, the sanity system could get slightly problematic and freaky, but that did nothing but add to the game. I played Silent Hill 3 with my friend, with surround sound, in the dark...and *that* game didn't scare me as much as this one did in the same setting. And yes, I have also played Fatal Frame (part II), and as scary as it was, it did not make my heart skip beats as much as Eternal Darkness. A great Wii sequel would be awesome, and I would buy it in a heartbeat! Expand
  22. Sui
    Jun 27, 2002
    10
    Awesome.
  23. M.
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    Hey stupid #1 is a bad rating 10 is good.
  24. Mr.T.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    That's a spicy tamale!!!
  25. DaveB.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This game scared the bejesus out of me! It's fun as hell and the storyline is awesome and exciting. The gameplay is kinda like Resident Evil, it's excellent!
  26. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best horror games of all time. It has an insanity bar, just like a health bar, and I highly suggest trying out losing your mind. I cant wait for a remastered version.
  27. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any other horror game past or present has even come close to this one. A classic.
  28. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This is an artform, video games are art? The vast majority aren't, but this... this is art.
    +The storytelling is done so compellingly, the story itself and the themes it covers are very lovecraftian, it essentially is like a lovecraft story in all but name.
    +You experience the past, through the eyes of others throughout history. You come will see a evil so terrible and far stretching
    This is an artform, video games are art? The vast majority aren't, but this... this is art.
    +The storytelling is done so compellingly, the story itself and the themes it covers are very lovecraftian, it essentially is like a lovecraft story in all but name.
    +You experience the past, through the eyes of others throughout history. You come will see a evil so terrible and far stretching that you will have the context to truly understand how scary the ancient object is that you've found.
    +It's essentially survival horror in a dark gothic setting... yet its control scheme is SOooo good. Its very easy to use yet gives a very good level of control.
    +Sanity, this is so well implemented gameplay element, its ridiculous that no other game out there has copied it yet!! It makes the sanity system in Amnesia look pathetic, think Call of Cthulhu where seeing frightening scenes & linger around them to long decreases your sanity but the system goes above and beyond what you think. You're sanity level affects the game in subtle ways, strange things will start happening (not right away) but you'll notice weird things that it actually messes with not just your character, but you the player. What I mean is you will start to doubt your own sanity... I am not you.
    It's that good.
    +Fear, yes its scary without having to use jump scares. Its the hallmark of a good horror game & you should have already guessed by now that this game knows how to play with your imagination and use it against you. There might be 1 or 2 jump scares but it's almost out of place in this masterful tale of horror.
    +I could go on about puzzles and the voice acting, it's all so well done... the one thing I want more for this game than any other is for someone to port this baby to the PC. This game deserves to be remembered and played long after gamecube's a distant memory.
    Expand
  29. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. The psychological horror elements are top notch. Gameplay, plot and character development are amazing. This is a deep, well polished game that everyone should enjoy
  30. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    With a detailed story and psychological horror elements that keep the player on edge, this is one of the best Gamecube titles out there. Eternal Darkness is arguably the greatest horror game I have ever played, and that is no exaggeration.

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
#3 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Developers of 3D games should study the camerawork in "Eternal Darkness." It's quite simply a stunning technical achievement.
  2. Play Magazine
    100
    All of this delightful action and horror comes wrapped in a bone-chilling soundtrack with enough chanting and "what the hell was that?" sound effects to sen dyou running for the light switch. [Aug 2002, p.62]
  3. 100
    From cover to cover this game was full of originality.