F-Zero GX GameCube
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 132

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanP.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    Gamer fo life, F-Zero was first appeared in SNES, not Sega Genesis. Keep your facts straight, and F-Zero will never be in N-Gage either. This game is addicting and insanely difficult. The character models and tracks are great, and it's plain fun. You go 1000-2000 mph. This game is not for wusses like Ben T. who can't beat the first level at story mode. You have to be patient Gamer fo life, F-Zero was first appeared in SNES, not Sega Genesis. Keep your facts straight, and F-Zero will never be in N-Gage either. This game is addicting and insanely difficult. The character models and tracks are great, and it's plain fun. You go 1000-2000 mph. This game is not for wusses like Ben T. who can't beat the first level at story mode. You have to be patient with this game, because game is EXTREMELY hard. Expand
  2. CobraJ.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    What an amazing game. This game destroys F-Zero X by far. The graphics are awesome, and the game really makes you feel like you're racing at 2000 km/h! I recommend this game to anyone.
  3. AzizK.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    Brilliant Speed!! Brilliant Game!!!
  4. AlexF.
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Several years from now, all futuristic racing games will be compared to this one. GX has got to be the most fast-paced game of all time, and it's one of the most challenging games since Super Monkey Ball. Plus, the replay value of this game is extremely high - the challenges of this game will force you to hone your skills and keep practicing until you're the F-Zero champion. The Several years from now, all futuristic racing games will be compared to this one. GX has got to be the most fast-paced game of all time, and it's one of the most challenging games since Super Monkey Ball. Plus, the replay value of this game is extremely high - the challenges of this game will force you to hone your skills and keep practicing until you're the F-Zero champion. The gameplay is deep and complex and there are ton of things to unlock. Preorder this game now! Expand
  5. ThomasP.
    Aug 18, 2003
    10
    F..k me this game is fast!
  6. RogerT.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    Can't wait...this game is gonna be mad sick very good. Go get the moment it comes out
  7. S.Kenessey
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    The most beautiful, intense, and rewarding video game I have ever played. I wish I could give it 11.
  8. LadyS.
    Sep 4, 2003
    10
    The best Nintendo title since Super Smash Bros Melee. And for racing fans, this is one of the best games ever.
  9. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    9
    I loved this game. It was fast and fun. The graphics were very good and there were NO slow downs with all the speed. There were like 30 racers and very customizable crafts. There were plenty of modes to keep you playing for a long time. I played a sim racer after this and it was a bore fest.
  10. Krustytheclown
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    This is the best game ever!!!!!!! the graphics are wicked, the levels are wicked but the bad thing is you only start with 4 cars but who gives! NEVER BAG THIS GAME!!!!!
  11. Bee
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    This game is quite simply amazing. Admitidly it is not a game for people who will not stick at it as it is unforgivingly difficult. But the playability is endless. Trying to shave a second or two off of time attack tracks or even attempting to unlock everything will keep any serious gamer ocupied for a generation. I reccomend you get 1 or 2 of your friends and pick a craft and pick a This game is quite simply amazing. Admitidly it is not a game for people who will not stick at it as it is unforgivingly difficult. But the playability is endless. Trying to shave a second or two off of time attack tracks or even attempting to unlock everything will keep any serious gamer ocupied for a generation. I reccomend you get 1 or 2 of your friends and pick a craft and pick a course (Ayropolis is a good one) and pick Time trial and you will find yourself playing for hours trying to outstrip each other by mere thousands of a second. This is THE best racing game I have played, better than MarioKart.... well we shall just have to see on the 14th of November. Top Marks. Collapse
  12. J.G.
    Oct 24, 2003
    9
    This game is so fast and cool...it's pretty hard at times...but is easy though...still is pretty fast and cool...the graphics are tight along with the fast gameplay...so it's fast and cool...
  13. WongT.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    A great fast racing game better than all the F-Zeros.
  14. BlancoA.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    The playable version of the game at E3 was incredibly cool. I'm a WipEout fanatic, but I think I'm going to have to invest some serious time in this MEGA-fast and beautiful game. Check it out!
  15. MarcP.
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    I have been waiting for a follow up of this game on the gamecube, and I am not surprised with the results - amazing graphics, speed, and game play are almost assured. I really hope that this game is even better than I believe it will be.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable!!!!!!!
  17. BobH.
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    This is going to be the single greatest racing game for a long time and i think the only way a racing game could ever be better is if it were a sequel to this game.
  18. DavidM.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    A difficult game that's easy to pick up but very hard to master. good for the hardcore gamer in all of us.
  19. KobeeH.
    Sep 11, 2003
    10
    F**K!!!The dominant word while playing this extremely well crafted and difficult game from Nintendo and Sega.To get it out of the way...F-Zero is hard. Old school hard. And if you're not up for that, then leave the game on the shelf. S**T. The word you can't resist saying while experiencing the blinding speeds of this game, at a constant, unwavering 60fps. Yes, even in 4player F**K!!!The dominant word while playing this extremely well crafted and difficult game from Nintendo and Sega.To get it out of the way...F-Zero is hard. Old school hard. And if you're not up for that, then leave the game on the shelf. S**T. The word you can't resist saying while experiencing the blinding speeds of this game, at a constant, unwavering 60fps. Yes, even in 4player mode!An amazing feat by the developers. As well, as rendering beautiful, high quality FMV's. Something thought impossible because of the GC disks. Not to mention the ability to create your own crafts. My one word...Congratulations. Nintendo. Sega. Take a bow. You have created a masterpiece. Expand
  20. CloudStrife
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    The game rocks. It is fast and hard! Perfect. it reminds me the star wars racing game which was awesome!! The best part is that you can make your own vehicle!! Hey Ben T. you say it is hard right? AND IS THAT A REASON TO PUT THIS GAME 1???? Man you dont know how to rate really. This sucks!
  21. BrendanO.
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    As a racing game, this one is unbelievable!! You'll be on the edge of your couch (or whatever you sit on) while you play F-zero GX because it's incrediblly FAST! It's really exciting. Some of the racing levels are really awesome looking too. My only problem with the game is how hard the story mode is! I actually made it pretty far but it is seriously one of the hardest As a racing game, this one is unbelievable!! You'll be on the edge of your couch (or whatever you sit on) while you play F-zero GX because it's incrediblly FAST! It's really exciting. Some of the racing levels are really awesome looking too. My only problem with the game is how hard the story mode is! I actually made it pretty far but it is seriously one of the hardest challenges on the Cube. Still a great game though! Expand
  22. Will
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    Best futuristic racing game ever. People who bitch at the difficulty just suck at video games. The difficulty is actually curved in a way that makes sense as long as you know how to play the game. The graphics are extremely impressive given they are delivered at a solid 60fps. There is no other game that I've ever played that delivers on such a great sense of speed like this game does.
  23. Selmor
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    Oh my goodness. The speed. The joy. The adrenaline pumping. This has to be the game of the year so far. Spending hours on the time attack trying to decrease your best time by just a few more thousands of a second, trying to unlock the parts and experimenting with building your very own machine, painting and designing your favourite machine and the incredible sense of achievment gotten Oh my goodness. The speed. The joy. The adrenaline pumping. This has to be the game of the year so far. Spending hours on the time attack trying to decrease your best time by just a few more thousands of a second, trying to unlock the parts and experimenting with building your very own machine, painting and designing your favourite machine and the incredible sense of achievment gotten after accomplishing that special mission you tried for so long. Buy. Expand
  24. NateDogg
    Oct 12, 2003
    10
    This game is the best racing game out there. It beats any other racing game i have ever played. But one thing story mode is like juiced up crazy style. It'z way harder than the grandprix. Still the baddest freakin race game ne wherE!! No other game in this genre can compete with its speed, control, and gameplay!!
  25. BobS.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    AWESOME.
  26. Uter
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    It's one of the best racers ever made.
  27. AnthonyL.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing. With speeds so fast you can barely keep track, blink and you'll end up crashing. The levels are challenging and look beautiful. Story mode is fun and also challenging. Customizing your own f-zero racer is extensive, allowing you to add decals, change colors, buy new parts, and more. This game is not easy, but it is not as hard as some people will tell you. Sure This game is amazing. With speeds so fast you can barely keep track, blink and you'll end up crashing. The levels are challenging and look beautiful. Story mode is fun and also challenging. Customizing your own f-zero racer is extensive, allowing you to add decals, change colors, buy new parts, and more. This game is not easy, but it is not as hard as some people will tell you. Sure you will have to play levels over, sometimes even several times in a row, but the thing about this game is it's so fun you won't care about playing the level again. The game has plenty of unlockables to keep you playing, and the 3 levels of difficulty will allow you to advance when you're ready. Overall a great game, I recommend to anyone who likes racing games, and anyone who doesn't should still at least give it a rent. You might be surprised. Expand
  28. AdamF.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    The difficulty level in story mode is INSANE, and it 'aint a game for people just looking for a casual drive around a track. Still, I love F-zero GX. For all hardcore racing fans out there, this game will challenge you for (literally) years, and the racing (mostly due to incredible speed and awesome music) never truly get old.
  29. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Wipeout? forget about that **** This game right here is perfection when it comes to futuristic racing.
    Fast paced, superb controls, great tracks, awesome music, really great graphics, solid framerate and hard as **** difficulty just make the deal better. One of the best games that the Cube has to offer.
  30. KarlN.
    Sep 21, 2007
    3
    I don't know why people think that this game is good. The characters look stupid. The 80's rock anthems grate on my ears. The ships are hard to drive.
  31. Apr 9, 2012
    5
    F-Zero has a cool graphical style and a megaton of collectibles to unlock. However, these assets ultimately wilt when faced with ball-breaking difficulty and over-sensitive, twitchy controls. I loved the SNES and N64 F-Zero games. They were fantastic! This one is probably best avoided unless you're either hardcore into the franchise or a sado-masochist.
  32. Gamerfolife
    Dec 4, 2003
    4
    This game is way too slow. the futuristic graphics make no sense whatsoever. this game should wisen up and start using licensed vehicles and believable locations, like miami or something. you look like you are driving little toys instead of actual speed machines. mario kart is even more realistic than this. the graphics are terrible because they aren't real enough. the tracks areThis game is way too slow. the futuristic graphics make no sense whatsoever. this game should wisen up and start using licensed vehicles and believable locations, like miami or something. you look like you are driving little toys instead of actual speed machines. mario kart is even more realistic than this. the graphics are terrible because they aren't real enough. the tracks are completely implausible because you go in loops and upside down and stuff, makes no sense. f-zero has always been this bad though, since it first appeared on the sega genesis in 1994. i hear that the n-gage is going to release an f-zero game, hopefully they release something worthwhile on their new amazing handheld pocket god. Expand
  33. BenT.
    Oct 17, 2003
    1
    This game is SO HARD!!!!! Especially the Time Attack. I MEAN IT!!!!!! Try it and you can see.
  34. Thepro
    Oct 1, 2003
    8
    As much as I loved this game, I feel the difficulty was a little to hard.
  35. RobW.
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    Dan, I think Gamer fo life was JOKING. Anyway, as much as I really like this game, the prohibitive difficulty and poor sense of speed drag it down a tad.
  36. JJ
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    I recently got a Wii and bought this game used for $15. It's a fun game, and the tracks aren't that hard themselves, just the different challenges may be near impossible. That said, I wish Nintendo stopped making everything look like it's for 7 year old kids. The game is too difficult and intense for young players, yet the characters and ships look childish. Second, I think I recently got a Wii and bought this game used for $15. It's a fun game, and the tracks aren't that hard themselves, just the different challenges may be near impossible. That said, I wish Nintendo stopped making everything look like it's for 7 year old kids. The game is too difficult and intense for young players, yet the characters and ships look childish. Second, I think they could have made the courses a bit more interesting. Some courses are amazing, but they could do so much more. Third, the music is really bland and generic. It hardly fits the intensity of the game. Overall though, it's a good game and worth the cheap used price it sells for now. Expand
  37. DonA.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    i finished the game in 4 days. have unlocked all maps, and parts, and vehicles. the diffuculty is not that hard. I hope they make it harder next time, and maybe a bit faster. The only thing i miss is the great music they had on the 64.
  38. Jan 8, 2011
    7
    What was meant to bring speed and ultimate graphics to the gamecube was F Zero GX, but with this it failed. The story mode is enhanced over other games, and shows a lot of individuality. The racing is fun at the start, but soon the game runs out of ideas and you begin to realise the true facts of the matter. The grand prix racing is good, however, the profiles are virtually useless, andWhat was meant to bring speed and ultimate graphics to the gamecube was F Zero GX, but with this it failed. The story mode is enhanced over other games, and shows a lot of individuality. The racing is fun at the start, but soon the game runs out of ideas and you begin to realise the true facts of the matter. The grand prix racing is good, however, the profiles are virtually useless, and many of the added features are either not worth having or take up ecsevive blocks of memory. Just get's positive, but dosen't live up to the hype that was surrounding it. Expand
  39. MikkoA.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Best driving game I have ever played and I have played a lot of driving games! It is hard but still the best driving game I have never seen, and the multiplayer game is cool too!
  40. NathanT.
    Nov 6, 2004
    9
    First, excellent game. great if u like racing games. awesome graphics. hard but satisfying. second, to GAMER FO LIFE, u dumbass. how the heck could the game be too slow. the graphics are supposed to be futuristic. and because its futuristic, they arent gunna use cars we use today. they wont be around in 100 years. maybe u should 1) play the game 2)read the owners manual and find out thatFirst, excellent game. great if u like racing games. awesome graphics. hard but satisfying. second, to GAMER FO LIFE, u dumbass. how the heck could the game be too slow. the graphics are supposed to be futuristic. and because its futuristic, they arent gunna use cars we use today. they wont be around in 100 years. maybe u should 1) play the game 2)read the owners manual and find out that the game takes place in the future 3)"i hear the n-gage is going to release an f-zero game hopefully they release something worthwhile on their new amazing handheld pcket god" what kind of person r u?!?!?! n-gage doensnt have good games. and its on a freakin cell phone. go get a real pimpdizzle (yea i know im white) system like gamecube and rate the game according to how its supposed to be, not how u want it to because u cant change it. Expand
  41. RyanM.
    May 27, 2004
    8
    gx is a fun enjoyable racing adventure that will leave you begging for more. But, what will bring the experience down is the high difficulty.
  42. JohnB.
    Dec 23, 2003
    7
    This game is the most well-crafted game I have ever played. Every physics equation, graphic detail, the different factors that make the minute differences in each machine that allow each one to be unique and advantageous in their own way, and everything else in this game is shaped to incredible perfection. However, what broke the mold was that THERE WAS NO LAN PLAY. With the fact that This game is the most well-crafted game I have ever played. Every physics equation, graphic detail, the different factors that make the minute differences in each machine that allow each one to be unique and advantageous in their own way, and everything else in this game is shaped to incredible perfection. However, what broke the mold was that THERE WAS NO LAN PLAY. With the fact that there are 30 unique racers to choose from and that the gamecube can support ALL 30 of those racers at the same time on one race, it would EXTREMELY WISE that nintendo and sega put online gaming. I almost cried when I found out that there was no LAN play. Shame on them from preventing this game from being the most perfect game of the year. F-zero could have easily rivaled games like Zelda and could have easily gotten scores well above 95 if it had LAN play. For such a painful disappointment, I give this game a 7. Expand
  43. Mar 2, 2012
    8
    A must have racing game on the Gamecube. It plays quite fast and is comparable to Wipeout and Extreme G on N64. The controls aren't as critical as Wipeout and it might be a bit on the flaky side. Multiple modes, customization, and wacky characters make this FUN. Its sort of arcade style. The graphics and music, supplied by Sega developers, give it charm. Once you beat it there is someA must have racing game on the Gamecube. It plays quite fast and is comparable to Wipeout and Extreme G on N64. The controls aren't as critical as Wipeout and it might be a bit on the flaky side. Multiple modes, customization, and wacky characters make this FUN. Its sort of arcade style. The graphics and music, supplied by Sega developers, give it charm. Once you beat it there is some replay value but not as much as I hoped; its a bit too hard in the challenge modes. A great game that is not as good as Wip3out, but much more fun than other games out there. Expand
  44. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games, and easily the best racing game i have ever played, the game offers many characters and their vehicles which you can unlock... and a lot of race tracks (that you can also unlock). It could also well be one of the hardest games i have ever played, the story made really made me angry, but i still kept playing it until i finally unlocked all the courses, (still needOne of my favorite games, and easily the best racing game i have ever played, the game offers many characters and their vehicles which you can unlock... and a lot of race tracks (that you can also unlock). It could also well be one of the hardest games i have ever played, the story made really made me angry, but i still kept playing it until i finally unlocked all the courses, (still need to unlock the characters, but probably not going to cause of how hard the story mode is)... Games has overall fast paced gameplay, the most fitting and amazing soundtrack ever put into a game, and excellent vehicle customization... why would anyone give this game anything lower than a 10??? Expand
  45. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    *9.8* Ocean of depth and entertainment.. Every failure creates a drive to win that builds to obsessive levels. An F-Zero update's arrival to the e-sports scene would cause a gaming revolution.
  46. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Hi, my reviews work on a 3 way system, i rate graphics, audio/sound, gameplay. then i have an overall rank for each game i review

    Graphics: F zero GX is a beautiful game. i have seen few games that look better on the GameCube. very colorful, abstract, and detailed (9/10) Audio/Sound: The soundtrack in F zero is great, and fitting to the fast paced action that f Zero has to offer. None
    Hi, my reviews work on a 3 way system, i rate graphics, audio/sound, gameplay. then i have an overall rank for each game i review

    Graphics: F zero GX is a beautiful game. i have seen few games that look better on the GameCube. very colorful, abstract, and detailed (9/10)

    Audio/Sound: The soundtrack in F zero is great, and fitting to the fast paced action that f Zero has to offer. None of the sound effects get annoying and the voice acting is slightly above standard. (7.5/10)

    Gameplay: The racing in this game is Very awesome, the multiplayer is as tasty as pie but the story mode is one of the hardest i have ever seen. Even though i enjoy a challenge, F Zero is overkill on the difficulty perspective. in all this game runs amazingly with VERY challenging gameplay. (8/10)

    Overall: the game runs, looks and sounds great with few problems, the difficulty may add or subtract some of the replay value. however F zero is an awesome game and should be on everyone's GameCube collection. F-Zero GX scores an 8/10
    Expand
  47. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    F-Zero GX is the current latest F-Zero game released on home-console, and it'll be almost ten years since its release.

    If you play the game today, it'll feel like it's been released yesterday. This game definitely got ahead of its time with it's catchy soundtrack and high-quality graphics. What's great: Gameplay elements, awesome graphics, amazing soundtrack, entertaining cut scenes, and
    F-Zero GX is the current latest F-Zero game released on home-console, and it'll be almost ten years since its release.

    If you play the game today, it'll feel like it's been released yesterday. This game definitely got ahead of its time with it's catchy soundtrack and high-quality graphics.

    What's great: Gameplay elements, awesome graphics, amazing soundtrack, entertaining cut scenes, and it's story mode.

    What's not so great: The difficulty of completing the game, but F-Zero is more than just a test of skill...

    Would I recommend this game to a friend?
    "YES!" as the Falcon would say.
    Expand
  48. May 30, 2012
    9
    This is the last hardcore nintendo game, and boy is it a good one. This game oozes style, with uniquely-constructed settings and memorable courses, not to mention the blazing soundtrack keeping pace with the speed. It is a VERY hard game, but it keeps frustration to a minimum.
  49. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    Will I ever beat this game? Ever? That's what makes F-Zero so great. When you die, and I mean WHEN, it makes you go "Let's try again, I'll do it this time!", but of course you die again. And again. And again. **** Here's what you'll get out of this game: Gameplay so hard it puts Battletoads to shame, magnificent visuals, a kickass soundtrack, and the chance to play as the spawn of ChuckWill I ever beat this game? Ever? That's what makes F-Zero so great. When you die, and I mean WHEN, it makes you go "Let's try again, I'll do it this time!", but of course you die again. And again. And again. **** Here's what you'll get out of this game: Gameplay so hard it puts Battletoads to shame, magnificent visuals, a kickass soundtrack, and the chance to play as the spawn of Chuck Norris himself, Captain Falcon. If you only enjoy a game when you're constantly winning, you'll never enjoy this game because you will DIE, with nobody to blame but yourself and your need for speed. That's it, though. The gameplay works so well that you can't fault anyone but yourself. This game has no luck involved. It's just you racing 29 other contestants in a brutal death match of who can be faster. Expand
  50. May 30, 2013
    9
    Probably one of the best racers I have ever played. Those that are panning the game for its style or difficulty are being silly and vacuous trolls (like Gamerfolife or KarlN). This game is very fast as it runs at a constant 60 fps. The tracks flow really well with constant speed and look really nice (plus they're functional). The graphics are great because they are very detailed, with someProbably one of the best racers I have ever played. Those that are panning the game for its style or difficulty are being silly and vacuous trolls (like Gamerfolife or KarlN). This game is very fast as it runs at a constant 60 fps. The tracks flow really well with constant speed and look really nice (plus they're functional). The graphics are great because they are very detailed, with some good animation cut scenes in the story mode. There are many unlockables and modes such as being able to customize your machine, to pilot profiles, to watching replays. The Grand Prix offers five cups with their varied track designs and plenty of replay value, coupled with interviewing the pilots afterwards. Story Mode is more like a Missions Mode with a plot behind it; it is very difficult, but totally worth beating. The game offers 41 pilots with their own machines, all unique from one another and making for a great character list. The music is pulse-pounding and very catchy to hear. My only complaints with F-Zero GX is that it is quite difficult, especially in the Story Mode where the AI cheats in some chapters (its still beatable, though), and that some of the voice acting and lip-syncing was a little off at times. Otherwise, it is a complete game with few flaws and I enjoyed every minute of it. Expand
  51. Feb 18, 2015
    1
    The parts of this game I was able to play were pretty. Sadly it was much too difficult for my abilities, and I didn't manage to get far enough into the game to have a good impression of it.

    Unless you're really good at racing games, F-Zero GX is going to be more frustrating than fun.
  52. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    There was a point in my life where I thought Need for Speed was fast. Then I played F-Zero GX.

    This right here is how you make a good racing game. Crazy speed, insane techno music, awesome graphics, and ridiculous track designs all help to make this game what it is. And you know what? This game is HARD AS HELL. If you are able to beat the story mode, you deserve a plaque or something.
    There was a point in my life where I thought Need for Speed was fast. Then I played F-Zero GX.

    This right here is how you make a good racing game. Crazy speed, insane techno music, awesome graphics, and ridiculous track designs all help to make this game what it is. And you know what? This game is HARD AS HELL. If you are able to beat the story mode, you deserve a plaque or something.

    In my humblest of opinions, this is the best racing game to date. I just hope they make a new one some day. This franchise better not die.
    Expand
  53. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    An incredibly fast paced futuristic racing game, an amazing (electronic/rock) soundtrack, a HUGE character roster, ability to customize and create your own vehicle, very original race tracks with loopings and gravity defying mechanics, an ending movie with each and every one of the characters you finish Grand Prix with and a challenge mode which is incredibly hard and truly challenges youAn incredibly fast paced futuristic racing game, an amazing (electronic/rock) soundtrack, a HUGE character roster, ability to customize and create your own vehicle, very original race tracks with loopings and gravity defying mechanics, an ending movie with each and every one of the characters you finish Grand Prix with and a challenge mode which is incredibly hard and truly challenges you to come back for more...

    Depending on your love for fast paced racing games this will be the game for you.
    It has a very arcade-y like feel to it, but this benefits the game even more, you just keep coming back to the game, learning how to maneuver every racetrack they throw at you, definitely worth your time as a race fan.

    One of the best the Gamecube has to offer!
    Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Best racing game ever, story is INSANELY hard, so don't do that. Just play some grand prix's, get some money, buy some characters, attempt to do the emerald cup, and have fun!
  55. May 31, 2015
    10
    F-Zero GX is easily one of the best racing games ever made, if not THE best racing game. Everything about this game is so highly polished that it's almost impossible not to have fun with it.

    The visuals are some of the best on the GameCube if not the best on it; the game looks better than a lot of Wii titles and even looks better than some of the very early titles on the PS3 and Xbox
    F-Zero GX is easily one of the best racing games ever made, if not THE best racing game. Everything about this game is so highly polished that it's almost impossible not to have fun with it.

    The visuals are some of the best on the GameCube if not the best on it; the game looks better than a lot of Wii titles and even looks better than some of the very early titles on the PS3 and Xbox 360. The details on the machines give an incredibly realistic look to them and the CG cutscenes in the story mode look stunning for the GameCube. The tracks themselves are beautiful to look at, especially Fire Field & Aeropolis.

    Speaking of tracks, F-Zero GX's tracks are beautifully designed. All of them are extremely fun and a challenge to race on. The music is also very good, however it isn't as great as F-Zero X's. That doesn't mean that it has no good songs, because it does (Lightning, Aeropolis, Fire Field and almost all of the Pilot Themes).

    F-Zero GX is notorious for being ridiculously difficult, and it certainly is difficult. The Master difficulty in the Grand Prix is extremely challenging and getting 1st place in all the tracks is a daunting task (Phantom Road i'm looking at you). And of course, there is the Story mode. The Story gets hard in Easy mode in Chapter 6 and the game is near impossible in Very Hard in chapter 1 (yeah.....). However, the difficulty is there to challenge the player into sharpening and perfecting their skills and once you beat the Story Mode and unlock the hidden racers, you feel accomplished.

    F-Zero GX is an underrated masterpiece and is one the best titles Nintendo has ever published/made. While i still prefer F-Zero X just a slight edge, F-Zero GX is a title that should not be overlooked by racing fans. You want the craziest, hardest and one of the most beautiful racing games ever made, F-Zero GX is the one you are looking for.
    Expand
  56. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    one of the best racing games ever invented. The soundtrack is remarkable especially how it seems to flow so well with the tracks themselves, it gives a truly dynamic experience throughout the whole game creating the general feeling of a virtual futuristic rollercoaster. The gameplay itself is addicting. In a nutshell you race one lap without boost and than after the 2nd lap you can startone of the best racing games ever invented. The soundtrack is remarkable especially how it seems to flow so well with the tracks themselves, it gives a truly dynamic experience throughout the whole game creating the general feeling of a virtual futuristic rollercoaster. The gameplay itself is addicting. In a nutshell you race one lap without boost and than after the 2nd lap you can start kicking it in high gear and I mean HIGH GEAR! This game is SO freaking fast. I spent hours on this game and it never got boring. Expand
  57. May 28, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 8.0 Sound: 7.0 Gameplay: 7.0 Fun/Story: 7.5

    A good racing game, with smooth 60fps but the visuals of some tracks didn´t convinced me. Sound isn´t good too, gameplay is difficult, ... Sometimes i played it, but never liked it very much. Perhaps the reason ir more about the style and type of racing game (i prefer simulators).
  58. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    My favourite racer of all time. Improves on F-Zero X due to it's massively improved visuals and more single-player game modes. Plenty of tracks, racers and great music as ever and the speed you feel is insane, it's really in a class of it's own. The sometimes impossible difficulty level (even on easy this thing was REALLY hard) holds it back from absolute masterpiece-dom however. I reallyMy favourite racer of all time. Improves on F-Zero X due to it's massively improved visuals and more single-player game modes. Plenty of tracks, racers and great music as ever and the speed you feel is insane, it's really in a class of it's own. The sometimes impossible difficulty level (even on easy this thing was REALLY hard) holds it back from absolute masterpiece-dom however. I really hope they make one of these for the Wii-U, it would blow my mind. Expand
  59. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    This is pretty much Nintendo's finest hour on the GameCube. None of that sluggish gimmicks found in Mario Kart Double Dash can be found here. This game is fast and challenging, presenting a deep gameplay that might take a while to master, but it's completely responsive. At the time it came out there was so much stuff right with this like online leaderboard, amazing graphics and arcadeThis is pretty much Nintendo's finest hour on the GameCube. None of that sluggish gimmicks found in Mario Kart Double Dash can be found here. This game is fast and challenging, presenting a deep gameplay that might take a while to master, but it's completely responsive. At the time it came out there was so much stuff right with this like online leaderboard, amazing graphics and arcade counterpart AX connection compatible. This is truly a grand title and it's a shame Nintendo now focus more on crap like Wii Sports than teaming up with Sega again and making a worthy successor to this. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. The challenge of this game will bring out the best or the worst in a gamer, a true test of ability and skill. All of this is given to us with a great story, memorable characters, vivid settings, all wrapped up in a presentation that's second to none.
  2. So-so bonuses notwithstanding, there's just nothing else like this on the GameCube.
  3. 90
    This version should be rightly deemed as the definitive racing game of this generation, and one of the best ever made. [JPN Import]