• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Dec 3, 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    Great and fun! Its like shooting down everything in your path! Though this has cons bad camera angles I can barely attack someone in front of me and the voice actors are annoying like eating rotten rats from the junkyard! so I give it a 7
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    One of the best games in existence with a large variety of playable robots with each type offering a different way to play makes this game create a standard no other game has reached since.

    Simply put the "professional" reviewers who gave this game a low score should be ashamed of themselves.
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Great combat, millions of combination for your teams and some real variety in gameplay this game pretty much consumed my gamecube. Sure there were other games such as zelda and such but I beat this game 10 times to unlock the hidden characters. The storyline was garbage but the gameplay made up for it so well that it really didn't matter. Not only did it have some fun co-op but it have 4Great combat, millions of combination for your teams and some real variety in gameplay this game pretty much consumed my gamecube. Sure there were other games such as zelda and such but I beat this game 10 times to unlock the hidden characters. The storyline was garbage but the gameplay made up for it so well that it really didn't matter. Not only did it have some fun co-op but it have 4 player split screen versus which amused my friends and I for hours on end. If you ever find this in the used bin, pick it up, you won't regret it. Collapse
  4. RyanM.
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    one of the best games ive played for gamecube.
  5. KevinS.
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    The story mode sucks, but the gaming is awesome!!!!!!
  6. Adam
    Mar 18, 2004
    3
    I admit it was entertaining the first few battles. Then it got dull. It was the same thing over again, the story mode was horrible, most of the gotcha bots were useless, and the camera and controls are horrible. I'm sorry, stay away. This game's best area is multiplayer, and I can name 30 GC games off the top of my head that have better multiplayer.
  7. CliveOliverFrance
    Jan 19, 2004
    10
    all y'all busters out there crackingon this game need end yourpitiful life. thisgame is fast fun and oh so entertining. the only wayto imrove on this game would beto makeit go online
  8. JE
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    Gotcha Force is incredible- and it looks like it's going to be incredibly underrated. Ok, I read these reviews and I think it's basically a case of self-important game critics who didn't even try playing for more than an hour- and certainly not with 4 players, or even 2. Imagine the perfect version of Virtual On with none of the camera or control hassles, awesome, over the Gotcha Force is incredible- and it looks like it's going to be incredibly underrated. Ok, I read these reviews and I think it's basically a case of self-important game critics who didn't even try playing for more than an hour- and certainly not with 4 players, or even 2. Imagine the perfect version of Virtual On with none of the camera or control hassles, awesome, over the top special effects like Powerstone, and more than 200 different robots you can unlock. Add in that not only cna you trade your bots with your friends, you can also find and trade parts, assemble your own from the groudn up and trade 'em around some more. This game's been out in Japan for a while and people are still finding new Gotcha Borgs to get into the ring. The AI is excellent. Your AI teammates know how to cover you and when to line up ready to do killer 2 person power attacks on yoru enemies. Overall, this is an incredibly slick and fun game- just a tiny step below the fun you have playing Super Smash Bros with your friends. Don't believe the hype- this is one of the best GameCube games I've played all year! Expand
  9. Mar 2, 2011
    0
    Great combat, millions of combination for your teams and some real variety in gameplay this game pretty much consumed my gamecube. Sure there were other games such as zelda and such but I beat this game 10 times to unlock the hidden characters. The storyline was garbage but the gameplay made up for it so well that it really didn't matter. Not only did it have some fun co-op but it have 4Great combat, millions of combination for your teams and some real variety in gameplay this game pretty much consumed my gamecube. Sure there were other games such as zelda and such but I beat this game 10 times to unlock the hidden characters. The storyline was garbage but the gameplay made up for it so well that it really didn't matter. Not only did it have some fun co-op but it have 4 player split screen versus which amused my friends and I for hours on end. If you ever find this in the used bin, pick it up, you won't regret it. Collapse
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Gotcha Force has all the requisite cute and vibrant stylings of another Japanese phenomenon, but it's let down by a pallid game dynamic. [Jan 2004, p.99]
  2. Has to be the most underrated, overlooked game of the year. Ever since Power Stone died with the Dreamcast, there hasn't really been an entertaining 3D four-person melee fighting game. Gotcha Force takes the Power Stone-type genre to the next level.
  3. Fans of "Power Stone" or "Smash Brothers" should especially be interested in the frantic battle action Gotcha Force has to offer.