Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets GameCube

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Be Harry Potter in a new adventure with more magic, friends, and danger. In his sophomore year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry stumbles upon a dark chapter in the school's past. In an effort to confront the powers at the heart of the Chamber of Secrets, you'll learn newBe Harry Potter in a new adventure with more magic, friends, and danger. In his sophomore year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry stumbles upon a dark chapter in the school's past. In an effort to confront the powers at the heart of the Chamber of Secrets, you'll learn new spells, undertake new quests, make new friends, and challenge new adversaries. Do you dare take the chance that you might face the evil Lord Voldemort again? Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 89
    It reminds me a lot of Zelda, actually, which is a great thing... A shining example of how licenses should be realized in videogame form.
  2. Nintendo Power
    88
    Drawing strongly from the look and feel of the movie, Chamber of Secrets is a richly designed, wonderfully immersive experience. [Dec 2002, p.211]
  3. One of the best things about Chamber of Secrets is how close the developers stayed to the story purported in the book and movie without resorting to simple fetch quests and lame puzzles in order to integrate all the popular elements from the original plot.
  4. Eurocom have almost done the impossible: They have made a movie/novel based game actually good. The game exudes effort and it really shows.
  5. The rich gameplay and engaging story give the game an appeal that very nearly rises above the rough visuals, and they definitely capture the spirit of the books.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    Obviously Potter-ignorant muggles need not apply, but would-be wizards (or witches) looking for a lil' magic this year should give Secrets a try. [Dec 2002, p.228]
  7. GameNow
    58
    At the very least, speeding on a broomstick at 250 miles per hour will give you a new level of respect for Harry's skills as a Seeker. [Dec 2002, p.75]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    While a lot of the gameplay is uninspired, there are a lot of missions and levels that are not boring. The game has a lot of surprises andWhile a lot of the gameplay is uninspired, there are a lot of missions and levels that are not boring. The game has a lot of surprises and secrets that make it addicting to play. Expand
  2. anonymousanonymous
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    i love this game. it is a nice, kid friendly game with no gore.
  3. BaileyE.
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    Its simply awesome. Im playing it right now, and the similarity between the game and the books/movies is surreal. Ive always wished I could Its simply awesome. Im playing it right now, and the similarity between the game and the books/movies is surreal. Ive always wished I could go and explore Hogwarts, and the rest of Harry's world, and now I can!! = ) Expand
  4. SeanD.
    Dec 28, 2002
    9
    Great game, but it's to short.
  5. CarrollA.
    Apr 20, 2003
    9
    I like Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for the Gamecube. Each level basically sends you on a quest that will lead you to learn a new I like Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for the Gamecube. Each level basically sends you on a quest that will lead you to learn a new skill of magic which in turn will have to be used to complete the level. There are 'save' areas in appropriate places, quick and easy. The game has great graphics and for the most part follows the book. The parts that don't follow the book actually add to the game, because these side quests add a different avenue of exploration not given while reading the book. You get to explore Diagon Alley and Hogwart's, etc... from Harry's point of view and leisure. (A few minor annoying things would be: To talk with someone or to open a chest, the controls make it where you have to stand perfectly in front of them. Another thing, you're constantly losing the 'Bertie Bott's Every Flavor Beans' you've been collecting when someone attacks you. As you try to pick up the Beans, you're attacted again which leads to even more Beans being lost. UGGHHH.. it's frustrating. For the most part, accept it and just fight the 'bad guys'. There are floors in Hogwart's where you can collect 10-15 Beans each time you enter, so a few minutes there will give you a plentiful amount in a short time before saving the game or buying something with the 'Beans'. I say this not as a 'spoiler' but mostly as a way of enjoying the game where you don't get frustrated and quit, especially for the younger people that might get upset seeing their hard work of collecting Beans all gone to waste.) I give this game a 9 and not a 10 because it is easier and shorter than some would like it. It's not for the 'gamer' that wants to have his ego satisfied by beating a 'hard or long' game. It caters more to the younger audience, although this middle-aged guy still enjoyed it. If you're a Harry Potter fan or have a child that is a fan, then the chance to play as Harry Potter will make it 'funable' and make this game a good purchase. If interested, I have another review of Starfox Adventures. It was the first Gamecube game I finished and enjoyed it a great deal. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    Este fue el único juego de HP que jugué y la verdad es que me gustó. A veces era algo repetitivo pero en general era adictivo y cada vez masEste fue el único juego de HP que jugué y la verdad es que me gustó. A veces era algo repetitivo pero en general era adictivo y cada vez mas interesante. Lo malo era cuando te lo pasabas, que estaba un poco vacío. Aun así, no es mal juego. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 4, 2006
    1
    This game is horrible. The dungeons are predictable and repetitive. Spells are pointless; they can only need to be used in the dugeon you This game is horrible. The dungeons are predictable and repetitive. Spells are pointless; they can only need to be used in the dugeon you get. Not enough fighting with spells. Loved the RPG gameboy version. Day go to class at night do a stupid mission...BORING. Only reason I gave this game a 1 is because of graphics and mini-games. Worst game I have for gamecube. The sad thing is I am a Harry Potter fan. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002