• Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Persistence is one thing that Magical Melody does reward - both materially and spiritually. [June 2006, p.22]
  2. So many aspects have improved from the previous "Harvest Moon" games, and Magical Melody exhibits such remarkable production quality, that the time it's taken Natsume has obviously been well spent. [May 2006, p.89]
  3. Repetition presides, but the amount of things you can do keep you coming back. The controls are very simple and they only encourage you to play more because it is so easy to handle.
  4. Even though this game may look like it's got Playskool written all over it, it can be very challenging. Don't underestimate it until you've tried it.
  5. A nice choice for families and all ages, and one that is guaranteed to last a long time.
  6. I thought this game was fantastic. It kept me entertained for many hours, and it is a game that I am sure I will revisit many times.
  7. It's one of the classic RPG series, and a great value for money if you want to spend the months of hard labour it'll take to find every hidden note. Worth the effort. [Nov 2006, p.62]
  8. 82
    The final GameCube version, and it is by far the best. The sheer depth of gameplay will impress even the most seasoned veterans, and the difficulty is there as well.
  9. It's also undoubtedly Harvest Moon's high point, expanding the freedom of play while retaining the bright, simple aesthetics and pantomimed emotion that have defined the series.
  10. I've been utterly hypnotised by Harvest Moon: Magical Melody from the moment I laid my hands on it, even watching my girlfriend play it for hours on end (her time spent playing probably a tenfold increase on mine) and I still don't feel that we've even begun to scratch the surface.
  11. It's definitely the best home-console game in the series, and the extra depth and involvement that it brings to the table will be irresistible to Harvest Moon fans. [July 2006, p.126]
  12. If you have the patience to get into it, Harvest Moon: Magical Melody offers a rewarding and fun experience.
  13. 80
    In many ways, Harvest Moon: Magical Melody is the best in the franchise. Why? Because it offers so many more options and choices than any previous title in it.
  14. 70
    It's certainly the best Harvest Moon game in recent years, and it really comes close to greatness -- if only it had been paced a little better, then everyone would be able to enjoy it.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. TylerW.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    I love this Harvest Moon game. I think all the gamecube Harvest Moons have been spectacular, with Magical Melody being the best. It goes back to the Back to Nature type of characters (a game I also loved) and you can sit down for hours and play without being able to stop. 10 out of 10. Full Review »
  2. JoshS.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    I personally love all Harvest Moon games, and this one didn't disappoint. It's just like all the others out there, but that's exactly the reason why it rocks. The characters are cool, the crop growing is just as fun as always, and the animals are cute and fun to tend to as always. With the wider range of brides or husbands, this makes gaming a lot more fun. This game is definitally one of the best. Go Harvest Moon! Full Review »
  3. JacobS.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    This game offers alot of choices! You can fish,mine or raise livestock.I just rented it and my dad liked so much that the next thing I knew was we owned it. Full Review »