User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 108
  2. Negative: 4 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games on the Gamecube, the three reviews that say it is absolute **** are really just absolute **** This game has one of the best environments and has wonderful graphics (for the time it was made). Every room is filled with detail and there's plenty of secrets and enemies to keep you entertained. All of the bosses and even the regular ghosts have so much character and attitude, and every boss has something unique about him and is exactly the type of person you'd expect to be living in a mansion like this (even if they're not technically living!). There are so many secrets and optional 'quests' to keep you looking all the time. The only cons for this game is that it is actually quite short, and it isn't 100% re-playable (although I have come back to it many times) also it is rather easy. Another con that I can think of is that it's 10 years old, and still no sequel! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If you enjoyed the first luigi's mansion, I think you'll like this even more. Luigi is hilarious, the music is great, the environments are lots of fun, and the gameplay strikes a good balance between not changing it too much while adding a fresh new feel. They did change the game up a bit to be more "mission" oriented which is to help it work better for portable play. Rest assured, you can still explore the mansions and there are plenty of hidden secrets to hunt for. The multiplayer is a lot of fun if you play with friends either online or locally (IT HAS DOWNLOAD PLAY!! Yes!!!) I had some trouble going online playing against people worldwide, I'm not really sure why Point lost on that one though. The game doesn't have much replayability, but I wasn't really expecting it from this type of game. I've got other games to play and things to do, I just wanted a nice fun experience which is exactly what I got! Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Well this game is fanastic! The first time I played it was when my Dad brought it home from his game whiz friend,Well I played on thinking well whats the point of this game? But then when I new what the point was it was one of the most fun games ive ever played! And can't wait for the release of Luigi's Mansion 2 for 3DS although I dont even have one..;(
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Though most people have considered this a lame and boring game and the black sheep of any of the mario games, but I would say this is one of the best mario games
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this games graphics still look great. The whole concept is just incredible. I highly recommend this game.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    DRY BOWSER WAS RECENTLY FOUND IN LUIGI"S MANSION!!!! (This tells you how to fight him)

    Dry Bowser was recently discovered in Luigi's Mansion. You have to have 6 coins, 6 dollars, and 6 gold bars and also this can only be done in the Hidden Mansion. There is a low chance of it happening, but if you want a higher percent chance for it to happen, then you have to beat the game 6 times on
    each files. If you get it to work, after you beat Bowser and King Boo it shows a close up on Mario and he is still banging on the glass as if you didn't defeat King Boo. The lights go out and it shows Luigi's Poltergeist 3000 releases King Boo again and he going into the celling. When he does this you will see a picture of Dry Bowser on the celling on the room. Luigi will get sucked into the painting. you battle of the roof again, but the background is blue fire instead of red fire, and it is the same cut scene when you fight bowser, except it is Dry Bowser. King Boo has 1000 HP instead of 500 HP. When the fight is over, you will get 2 extra gold diamonds (The gold diamonds are Dry Bowser's eyes). After you exit the painting, the ending of the game will still happen normally and you get a picture of Dry Bowser and King Boo instead of Bowser and King Boo. Good luck trying to find Dry Bowser.

    I will be posting picture of the boss fight very soon. Probably 10-31-13 or 12-25-13. I haven't chosen a date yet. It is going to be one of those dates. And the place where I am going to release it has not been chosen yet. And if the pictures get enough publicity, then I will post my video of me fighting Dry Bowser. The boss fight is pretty hard (a lot harder than the regular boss fight). It is actually very hidden. From what I know, it can't be found when digging through the game's data. I will be posting more info about the boss fight throughout the year.
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    It's a really fun game, really unique, BUT controlls are kind of confusing and somethings are too unclear. It's still an amazing. I highly suggest you get it.
  8. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Great fun! Despite only having six hours of gameplay, unlike other games, you never get bored towards the end. Nintendo have finally used Luigi without Mario hobbling beside him like he always does. Highly Recomended!
  9. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    If I put one game under the unique-genera, it would be Luigi's Mansion. This game offers a different environment and gives an alternate twist rather than jumping on goombas. The story is short and for a fast-paced gamer can take less than 3&1/2 hours to complete. The design is enlivening and can be very inspiring. The game itself is a charm. Wile some might call this boring, I say it is a charming, animated adventure. Expand
  10. May 2, 2014
    9
    this is one of my favorite game cube games, up there with Metroid prime and super Mario sunshine. the object of the game is to save Mario by sucking up ghosts with a vacuum cleaner, that are found in this very spooky and detailed mansion. first of all, the mansion itself is awesome. the gallery ghosts are all very unique and have interesting backstories and personalities. some are friendly, some are mean, and some are plain evil. the controls, may take some getting used to, but once you learn them, they feel very natural. solving puzzles and exploring has never been this fun in a Mario, I mean Luigi, game. It isn't very scary, but it is definitely spooking and creepy the first time you play through and are some parts that are actually scary. I don't see anything bad about this game at all, and I think its quite underrated. I have played this game nearly 20 times through and would gladly play it again if my disk wasn't broken :(. the only problem with it is that its short, not like how portal 2 is short, but like short as in you really wish it could have been like another 3 or 4 hours longer at least. I can beat this game in under 4 hours now. but like I said, that's the only problem I see in this game. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Like getting socks for Christmas, it's good and comfortable, but not what we wanted. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  2. A competent, atmospheric adventure and truly a new direction for the characters, but at this length it simply isn’t worth the £35, let alone the cost of the console.
  3. Potential tension is sorely lacking. However, the challengingly physical and rewarding nature of the actual ghost-catching sequences does go a way to make up for this.