User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games on the Gamecube, the three reviews that say it is absolute **** are really just absolute **** This game has one of the best environments and has wonderful graphics (for the time it was made). Every room is filled with detail and there's plenty of secrets and enemies to keep you entertained. All of the bosses and even the regular ghosts have so muchThis is one of the greatest games on the Gamecube, the three reviews that say it is absolute **** are really just absolute **** This game has one of the best environments and has wonderful graphics (for the time it was made). Every room is filled with detail and there's plenty of secrets and enemies to keep you entertained. All of the bosses and even the regular ghosts have so much character and attitude, and every boss has something unique about him and is exactly the type of person you'd expect to be living in a mansion like this (even if they're not technically living!). There are so many secrets and optional 'quests' to keep you looking all the time. The only cons for this game is that it is actually quite short, and it isn't 100% re-playable (although I have come back to it many times) also it is rather easy. Another con that I can think of is that it's 10 years old, and still no sequel! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    If you enjoyed the first luigi's mansion, I think you'll like this even more. Luigi is hilarious, the music is great, the environments are lots of fun, and the gameplay strikes a good balance between not changing it too much while adding a fresh new feel. They did change the game up a bit to be more "mission" oriented which is to help it work better for portable play. Rest assured, youIf you enjoyed the first luigi's mansion, I think you'll like this even more. Luigi is hilarious, the music is great, the environments are lots of fun, and the gameplay strikes a good balance between not changing it too much while adding a fresh new feel. They did change the game up a bit to be more "mission" oriented which is to help it work better for portable play. Rest assured, you can still explore the mansions and there are plenty of hidden secrets to hunt for. The multiplayer is a lot of fun if you play with friends either online or locally (IT HAS DOWNLOAD PLAY!! Yes!!!) I had some trouble going online playing against people worldwide, I'm not really sure why Point lost on that one though. The game doesn't have much replayability, but I wasn't really expecting it from this type of game. I've got other games to play and things to do, I just wanted a nice fun experience which is exactly what I got! Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Well this game is fanastic! The first time I played it was when my Dad brought it home from his game whiz friend,Well I played on thinking well whats the point of this game? But then when I new what the point was it was one of the most fun games ive ever played! And can't wait for the release of Luigi's Mansion 2 for 3DS although I dont even have one..;(
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Though most people have considered this a lame and boring game and the black sheep of any of the mario games, but I would say this is one of the best mario games
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a true classic. I have beat this game at least 7 times and it just seems to never get old. Even with today's consoles this games graphics still look great. The whole concept is just incredible. I highly recommend this game.
  6. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely terrific! Let us all remind ourselves that this was a launch title and the graphics look so good on the Gamecube! The gameplay is great as well and the charm of Luigi's Mansion is simply unforgettable. I have beaten this game 3 times and each time I have had just a great experience playing this game because it is honestly one of the funnest games I have ever played.This game is absolutely terrific! Let us all remind ourselves that this was a launch title and the graphics look so good on the Gamecube! The gameplay is great as well and the charm of Luigi's Mansion is simply unforgettable. I have beaten this game 3 times and each time I have had just a great experience playing this game because it is honestly one of the funnest games I have ever played. The only con to this game was that it was too short! But the experience you have while your playing is truelly unforgettable. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    10
    DRY BOWSER WAS RECENTLY FOUND IN LUIGI"S MANSION!!!! (This tells you how to fight him)

    Dry Bowser was recently discovered in Luigi's Mansion. You have to have 6 coins, 6 dollars, and 6 gold bars and also this can only be done in the Hidden Mansion. There is a low chance of it happening, but if you want a higher percent chance for it to happen, then you have to beat the game 6 times on
    DRY BOWSER WAS RECENTLY FOUND IN LUIGI"S MANSION!!!! (This tells you how to fight him)

    Dry Bowser was recently discovered in Luigi's Mansion. You have to have 6 coins, 6 dollars, and 6 gold bars and also this can only be done in the Hidden Mansion. There is a low chance of it happening, but if you want a higher percent chance for it to happen, then you have to beat the game 6 times on each files. If you get it to work, after you beat Bowser and King Boo it shows a close up on Mario and he is still banging on the glass as if you didn't defeat King Boo. The lights go out and it shows Luigi's Poltergeist 3000 releases King Boo again and he going into the celling. When he does this you will see a picture of Dry Bowser on the celling on the room. Luigi will get sucked into the painting. you battle of the roof again, but the background is blue fire instead of red fire, and it is the same cut scene when you fight bowser, except it is Dry Bowser. King Boo has 1000 HP instead of 500 HP. When the fight is over, you will get 2 extra gold diamonds (The gold diamonds are Dry Bowser's eyes). After you exit the painting, the ending of the game will still happen normally and you get a picture of Dry Bowser and King Boo instead of Bowser and King Boo. Good luck trying to find Dry Bowser.

    I will be posting picture of the boss fight very soon. Probably 10-31-13 or 12-25-13. I haven't chosen a date yet. It is going to be one of those dates. And the place where I am going to release it has not been chosen yet. And if the pictures get enough publicity, then I will post my video of me fighting Dry Bowser. The boss fight is pretty hard (a lot harder than the regular boss fight). It is actually very hidden. From what I know, it can't be found when digging through the game's data. I will be posting more info about the boss fight throughout the year.
    Expand
  8. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorites. It's one of those rare gems that I can play over and over again. It stands out as one of the most unique Nintendo classics with all the charm and addictive fun you can expect. It still boasts great gameplay and visuals that have aged well since its release 14 years ago. If you're reading this you've either played it or are curious, and if you are among theOne of my all time favorites. It's one of those rare gems that I can play over and over again. It stands out as one of the most unique Nintendo classics with all the charm and addictive fun you can expect. It still boasts great gameplay and visuals that have aged well since its release 14 years ago. If you're reading this you've either played it or are curious, and if you are among the latter then stop thinking about it and try this game!! Expand
  9. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    It's a really fun game, really unique, BUT controlls are kind of confusing and somethings are too unclear. It's still an amazing. I highly suggest you get it.
  10. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Great fun! Despite only having six hours of gameplay, unlike other games, you never get bored towards the end. Nintendo have finally used Luigi without Mario hobbling beside him like he always does. Highly Recomended!
  11. May 2, 2014
    9
    this is one of my favorite game cube games, up there with Metroid prime and super Mario sunshine. the object of the game is to save Mario by sucking up ghosts with a vacuum cleaner, that are found in this very spooky and detailed mansion. first of all, the mansion itself is awesome. the gallery ghosts are all very unique and have interesting backstories and personalities. some arethis is one of my favorite game cube games, up there with Metroid prime and super Mario sunshine. the object of the game is to save Mario by sucking up ghosts with a vacuum cleaner, that are found in this very spooky and detailed mansion. first of all, the mansion itself is awesome. the gallery ghosts are all very unique and have interesting backstories and personalities. some are friendly, some are mean, and some are plain evil. the controls, may take some getting used to, but once you learn them, they feel very natural. solving puzzles and exploring has never been this fun in a Mario, I mean Luigi, game. It isn't very scary, but it is definitely spooking and creepy the first time you play through and are some parts that are actually scary. I don't see anything bad about this game at all, and I think its quite underrated. I have played this game nearly 20 times through and would gladly play it again if my disk wasn't broken :(. the only problem with it is that its short, not like how portal 2 is short, but like short as in you really wish it could have been like another 3 or 4 hours longer at least. I can beat this game in under 4 hours now. but like I said, that's the only problem I see in this game. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    The gameplay is fun and engaging, but it is fairly short and has little replayability. The graphics are beautiful. It is an overall great game and it is Luigi's best moment.
  13. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This was a great departure from the normal Mario games. It features the same personality and charm that you get from the normally from the Mario based games, but adds a new element with the whole ghost thing.

    This game is a fresh addition even to this day to the whole Mario series. It's a game that's a lot of fun to play, despite being a major departure in many ways from the rest of the
    This was a great departure from the normal Mario games. It features the same personality and charm that you get from the normally from the Mario based games, but adds a new element with the whole ghost thing.

    This game is a fresh addition even to this day to the whole Mario series. It's a game that's a lot of fun to play, despite being a major departure in many ways from the rest of the series. Anyone who wants to play something that's within the series, but still something different would be advised to give this game a shot.
    Collapse
  14. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Despite having a short playtime, Luigi's Mansion manages to cram in something that few games can achieve, maintaining entertaining gameplay and presenting us a lovable adventure for the timid Luigi.
  15. May 3, 2013
    8
    Luigi's first game and one of the creepiest games I've played (without the horror aspect), Luigi's Mansion, is one of those little gems people often overlook when it comes out. Fortunately people see the game's incredible impact now and frankly so do I. This time the guys at Ninty I guess watched Ghostbusters one too many times because this game just simply screams that movie. Luigi wins aLuigi's first game and one of the creepiest games I've played (without the horror aspect), Luigi's Mansion, is one of those little gems people often overlook when it comes out. Fortunately people see the game's incredible impact now and frankly so do I. This time the guys at Ninty I guess watched Ghostbusters one too many times because this game just simply screams that movie. Luigi wins a mansion from a contest that he never entered and asks Mario to meet him there to see it. Luigi arrives at the location (which is conveniently in the perfect horror setting) and finds the creepy house staring at him in the face. Luigi decides to check the place out, but can't find Mario. Suddenly in the midst of this EXTREMELY dark place, ghosts attack him. Fortunately Luigi is sort of saved by an odd old man named Prof. E. Gadd. They both escape the overwhelming onslaught of spirits and retreat to E. Gadd's nearby lab. Luigi tells him about his predicament and asks him if he had seen his brother. E. Gadd remembers seeing someone in red enter the spooky place (undoubtedly Mario) and agrees to help Luigi find his brother and his missing ghost paintings that had escaped since the mansion appeared (thats right the mansion appeared out of nowhere right next to his house). In this game Luigi uses the only arsenal capable of defending against ghosts. A vacuum cleaner, flashlight, and cool looking Gameboy (dubbed Gameboy Horror) to hold data, a map, and find hidden items. The device to capture ghosts is the infamous Poltergeist 3000, which E. Gadd had apparently been using to catch the spirits all those years before. Luigi can catch ghosts by flashing them into shock, which then leaves them open to be vacuumed. The ghosts all have health though, and special boss ghosts especially have an enormous amount. The key is to explore all 4 sections of the vast mansion, while looking for clues on Mario's whereabouts. Eventually you meet Boos in the game, which begins a huge hunt for them while you progress in the game. Soon you find out that Mario is trapped in a painting by these fiends and you must catch them all to make it to him. The leader of this army of ghouls is none other than King Boo himself. This game is really fun, but what makes it so distinct is the concept. Ghost hunting is a very lightly touched genre in gaming and surprisingly it's a perfect fit for Luigi's cowardly, but reluctantly persevering persona as he desperately fights not only the many ghosts in the mansion, but his own fear to save his older brother. The atmosphere is scary for a Nintendo game. The dark portions of the Mansion bring on a very grumpy tune that I'm sure everyone remembers and it's unsettling, but charming to see Luigi hum it along to keep himself calm. The difficulty is pretty tough, especially during the black out scene. Overall though the game provides lots of entertainment but is kind of short. The sequel would fix this, but the game does not suffer much for its length. Collecting money really makes you a money grubber and gems are hard to get, but reward you in the long run. I would give this game a spin if your interested. It's really an underrated classice. Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Very underrated. It's not long or difficult, but it's very entertaining and charming with deceptive replay value. In attempting to create what amounts to little more than a graphical showcase as a launch title for Gamecube, Nintendo inadvertently made a quirky little title that deserves a place in any Gamecube library and that is one of my fondest adolescent Gamecube memories.
  17. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    If I put one game under the unique-genera, it would be Luigi's Mansion. This game offers a different environment and gives an alternate twist rather than jumping on goombas. The story is short and for a fast-paced gamer can take less than 3&1/2 hours to complete. The design is enlivening and can be very inspiring. The game itself is a charm. Wile some might call this boring, I say it is aIf I put one game under the unique-genera, it would be Luigi's Mansion. This game offers a different environment and gives an alternate twist rather than jumping on goombas. The story is short and for a fast-paced gamer can take less than 3&1/2 hours to complete. The design is enlivening and can be very inspiring. The game itself is a charm. Wile some might call this boring, I say it is a charming, animated adventure. Expand
  18. May 29, 2014
    8
    An underrated GameCube classic. A fresh addition to the Mario franchise even to this day. The Ghostbuster like gameplay is addicting and it has a charm you usually don't find in Mario games. The visuals also look good to this day and the classic theme is one of the most memorable theme's in games. It is short, but those 4-6 hours are never boring. I reccommend this game to anyone with aAn underrated GameCube classic. A fresh addition to the Mario franchise even to this day. The Ghostbuster like gameplay is addicting and it has a charm you usually don't find in Mario games. The visuals also look good to this day and the classic theme is one of the most memorable theme's in games. It is short, but those 4-6 hours are never boring. I reccommend this game to anyone with a GameCube or Wii. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Luigi's mansion is a must have Gamecube title. It's enough to buy a Gamecube just for this game, but if you have a Gamecube or wii (which plays Gamecube games) then you need this game. This game is the perfect blend of spooky and cartoony. It doesn't attempt to be a scary horror, but it doesn't attempt to be a happy game like other Mario (or should i say Luigi) games.
  20. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    Que recuerdos me trae este juego... Recuerdo que de pequeño me daba miedo y todo. El juego en si es bueno, quizás a la larga es algo monótono pero el diseño de la mansión y de los personajes es genial. El juego que el hermano de Mario se merecía.
  21. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Great game, just a little short for its cost. Most of the bosses (minus Boolossus) are at a good difficulty level. This game is very creative and memorable. Best Ghost hunting game, if you like Ghostbusters and video games.... this is great for you. It has a very good environment of it supposed to seem intimidating dasjkfkjdfsdijfsodijfiosdjfiosdjiofssfdsjfkdsjofdsji I've reviewed way tooGreat game, just a little short for its cost. Most of the bosses (minus Boolossus) are at a good difficulty level. This game is very creative and memorable. Best Ghost hunting game, if you like Ghostbusters and video games.... this is great for you. It has a very good environment of it supposed to seem intimidating dasjkfkjdfsdijfsodijfiosdjfiosdjiofssfdsjfkdsjofdsji I've reviewed way too much today k I'm done it's good just a little short, k? Expand
  22. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    One of the GameCube’s earliest titles found Luigi hunting through Haunted houses in search of his lost brother Mario using a vacuum like device to trap any ghosts that should happen to get in the way. The gameplay could be a bit repetitive and one note but was for the most part still fairly fun. Add in a little of the usual Nintendo humour and you had a pretty decent launch title.
  23. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    A totally charming game that really tries to do something different. Generally very easy, with one or two extreme difficulty spikes. Aside from it's charm it does get a tad repetitive and doesn't really have to much variety in its activities. Overall: A pretty decent game that is fun to play, but don't expect anything to grand from it either.
  24. Apr 16, 2012
    6
    Luigi's Mansion is a fun but forgettable game about catching ghosts with a vacuum cleaner. The game has tons of charm but has some faults such as unbalanced difficulty, imprecise controls and an unusual turning circle. It is hilarious to see Luigi getting money for dry humping cabinets, though.... "Nnngg, Nnngg".
  25. Nov 22, 2011
    2
    This was supposed to be the launch title for the NGC. Thats just sad Nintendo. This game is boring and confusing. I cant past the first level because I cant figure out where to go.
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    This was a great departure from the normal Mario games. It features the same personality and charm that you get from the normally from the Mario based games, but adds a new element with the whole ghost thing.

    This game is a fresh addition even to this day to the whole Mario series. It's a game that's a lot of fun to play, despite being a major departure in many ways from the rest of the
    This was a great departure from the normal Mario games. It features the same personality and charm that you get from the normally from the Mario based games, but adds a new element with the whole ghost thing.

    This game is a fresh addition even to this day to the whole Mario series. It's a game that's a lot of fun to play, despite being a major departure in many ways from the rest of the series. Anyone who wants to play something that's within the series, but still something different would be advised to give this game a shot.
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Like getting socks for Christmas, it's good and comfortable, but not what we wanted. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  2. A competent, atmospheric adventure and truly a new direction for the characters, but at this length it simply isn’t worth the £35, let alone the cost of the console.
  3. Potential tension is sorely lacking. However, the challengingly physical and rewarding nature of the actual ghost-catching sequences does go a way to make up for this.